BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shadow of Freedom

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I wish you would put all of the Honor Harrington books in englis

I wish you would put all of the Honor Harrington books in english in the Nook books. As many of the books as I own I would still buy all of them in the Nook Books. Please...

posted by Marilyn40 on March 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I am tired of publisher's doing their best to gorge you out of e

I am tired of publisher's doing their best to gorge you out of every dime they can. There's no reason to hold up release for the e-book other then padding sales for the hardback.

posted by 10878771 on May 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    I am tired of publisher's doing their best to gorge you out of e

    I am tired of publisher's doing their best to gorge you out of every dime they can. There's no reason to hold up release for the e-book other then padding sales for the hardback.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    .I can see why some people are a bit put out by the fact that th

    .I can see why some people are a bit put out by the fact that this book is doesn't contain the 'gun-ho' action, nail-biting fights and young commander/captain/commodore Harrington. That's what most of the series was made up of up until Echoes of Honor, Harrington being a daring commander willing to risk everything she commanded in battles that were skewed in the enemies the favor to do her duty. But once Honor became an Admiral, we lost that. I was bit sad at first to see the end of such action, but then I realized it showed how much Honor grew as a person. She was no longer an ignorant commander who hated politics and thought all politicians were stupid, she'd grown. Not only has she become commander of the largest fleet in Honorverse history, but she's gotten married, had children, is personal friends not only with the Queen of Manticore, but friends with Thomas Theisman, Lester Tourville and even Eloise Pritchart of the Republic of Haven.
    Once you realize this progression from such humble beginnings, you have to realize Honor's reached the peak of her character; she's achieved everything there is to achieve. You cannot deny that's what most of us wanted. Honor was supposed to die quite a few books ago, but David Weber actually kept her alive just because her fan base had grown so large. So if she'd die, we'd all be complaining that she shouldn't of died, if she'd stay stuck at Commodore, we'd all be complaining she was being treated unfairly by a government which no longer hates her. Don't let the people who gave this book a bad review stop you from reading it. As another reviewer said, this book series went from just a single war to a galactic conflict, you can't just focus on one character anymore, it would be too narrow of a view.
    And yes, Honor is not in the book. Covers Always Lie(Troupe, go look it up.) While I try not to bash the artists, I never liked the US covers for Honorverse books. Go look up the new French covers which are much more interesting and truthful because the artist usually reads the books before making his art. This book still had some nice action in it. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. I bought the eARC, and I enjoyed it so much I bought the hardback signed version because hey, I thought David Weber deserved more of my money than he already had. It’s a great book, and I can't wait for the next few books that are coming out as Honorverse novels.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wish you would put all of the Honor Harrington books in englis

    I wish you would put all of the Honor Harrington books in english in the Nook books. As many of the books as I own I would still buy all of them in the Nook Books. Please...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    It's amazing to me that that people who've been involved with th

    It's amazing to me that that people who've been involved with the Honor Harrington series so long would be upset with this latest issue., or any of the preceding books were Honor Harrington is no longer the main character and we no longer have her in charge of individual ship or fleet actions. The story is now GALACTIC. Harrington is in a position now where she would command fleets. These would be actions of huge proportions. In our world once you attain the rank of Vice Admiral or Lieutenant General you become a political animal.

    Mr Weber has brought to the fore many of the lower ranked individuals who have peppered the previous works. In addition several of the characters who we came to know have died in recent actions. The series has become galactic in scope. In order to maintain the small unit, ie: squadron or task force operations and actions we've come to love so well, Weber has brought forward several characters from previous books.

    We now have the Peep's as an ally of the Manticorian Empire. The Graysons haven't been heard from in some time. I look forward to a book featuring them in some way or another. The Silesian Confederacy is heavily invested, along with the Andermani Empire being an interested partner. Add in the major conflict with the Solarian League that's escalating, and I'd surely hope (actually pray) that David Weber could have another 5-10 books under his belt. at a minimum. If Honor Harrington isn't a major player in recent novels, get over it. Neither is the Queen and so far as combat commanders go Honor is up there in the regions that Eisenhower was in WW2 which was merely global. He surely wasn't running around with a rifle in one hand and a hand grenade in the other.

    Enjoy each new book for the entertainment it provides in the ever growing story of the galactic
    spanning conflict Weber has created and crafted so well to this point.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    This is the first review I've written, so please bear with me. A

    This is the first review I've written, so please bear with me. All in all this book was well written and I love the series. However Weber has, in his last few Harrington books, copied entire chapters from previous novels. While I realize that writing a book, much less two (the Safehold series is also a good read), I still feel this tactic is beneath him. I believe it is a way to just take up space with little effort. He didn't use this tactic as much as he has in previous books, but still I would prefer he stop altogether. As I said before, this is a good book and I will continue to follow the series. But we know what happened in previous books, don't rewrite the exact same scene (practically verbatim) from a slightly different perspective. Weber is still one of my favorite current writers and I look forward to his next book. I was hoping to see the Five Mandarins in this book ( I like to watch them squirm), but I also liked the focus on events in the Quadrant.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    expands the list of major players

    I like the whole series and this is a great continuation of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Weber Scores again

    Weber grows from just blowing up space ships to more political intrigue in the war for Manticore's future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Although I am a great fan of  Weber, and this series in particul

    Although I am a great fan of  Weber, and this series in particular, this is one of the worst books that Weber wrote
    ( the worst was  "Out of the Dark" in my opinion). Harrington novels are known and well liked  for being
     "Hornblower in space," yet there is hardly any action in this book. The main story line doesn't progress either.
    There is no Harrington in the book, as such the book cover is misleading. This is a book in Honor-verse with
    minor characters and not much of plot development. I do not recommend it.
    I will not buy anymore Weber hardcover books from now on.  Weber is becoming an expert of writing thicker
    and thicker books without much substance in them.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly recommended, great addition to the series.

    Another great volume from David Weber in the "Honorverse" series. Waiting impatiently for the next installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    This book was about as disappointing as Torch of Freedom. The pl

    This book was about as disappointing as Torch of Freedom. The plot barely advanced, there was very little character development, and the action was ho-hum. The verbatim pasting from previous books is irritating, but not as irritating as the main characters from this splinter series acting upset over the blowing up of the space stations in Manticoran space but not even mentioning those previously close to them being-or possibly being-dead, but still crying over a few ships that blew up and were avenged already. The really bad part of this book was several previously developed characters acting out of character to the point of thinking and acting like the Legislaturist and the Solarium League Commanders. The end of the book and the decision that was reached by one of the characters was horrible, and the excuse that Honor would understand and had done similar actions was deplorable. The whole book made me want to have the Havenites restart the war and blow Manticore to pieces. If the rest of the officers of the Manticoran Empire behave the same way, I hope they lose.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    While I have not yet read this book, I would like to comment on

    While I have not yet read this book, I would like to comment on one of the reviews. This entire series has many plots, twists and schemes involving many casts of members that show up in one book and then skip a book to only show up in a later novel. That is why, sometimes, entire chapters will be included in ANY authors novels when there is a series of books covering (I believe it is about 20 books now) the entire series. This is not being lazy...only trying to tie in past incidents to bring a late coming reader up to speed on what is happening in the current novel. Not everyone follows a series from the very begining and will start somewhere in the middle to see if they like the story and author's writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    Yes, Weber does include chunks of previous Honor Harrington book

    Yes, Weber does include chunks of previous Honor Harrington books in his latest publications. I don't think it's laziness or "puffing" a book though. This is a huge and complex story and later books must, somehow, be interesting to readers who are new to the series. This requires a larger degree of "backing and filing" to insure that the new readers are up to speed enough to enjoy the book they are reading. So far Baen is succeeding at this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2