Customer Reviews for

Shadow of the Giant (Ender's Shadow Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Card's Usual Perfection

    Of course Card dealt us another flawless conjugation of politics, strategy and skulduggery that is beautifully orchaestrated and written. The story of Julian Delphiki is moving and deeply tragic, and simultaneously entrancing. For any devotees of the Ender series and the Shadow series, read this enormous achievement of literature.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    From a reader

    Shadow of the Giant by Orson Scott Card was a really good book. I enjoyed the characters and the plot of the book. My favorite character had to be Bean. His unrelenting determination and will to find his missing children was very inspiring. i have read all the other Ender books and i have enjoyed every last one of them. This one has to be my favorite out of them all because it is ht e last of this particular series. The only thing i didn't like was the way he did the series. How he cut the stories in half and the split off into do different series. Not really two different ones, more like two different parts of the story split into different sets of books. Overall it had to be one of my favorite series's. I would recommend any of the books for use in school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    Shadow of the Giant By Orson Scott Card

    How would you feel if the life of your wife and children depended on you? Personally, I would feel horrified and sad. The main character of this book, Bean, feels just that as he goes through the last moments of his life. He is very tall, smart, caring, but he has a disease in which his body expands to an abnormal height. Sadly, this means that he will die at an early age, because of the pressure on the heart to pump blood through many arteries. This story takes place in many countries. For example, it takes place in Rwanda, India, Brazil, China, and many other countries. Also, this story takes place in the future, after the "Bugger Wars." The Bugger Wars, was when Bean and his fellow friends destroyed a planet of Hive Queens, thus, making the buggers extinct. The outcome of this war makes Bean and his friends very popular. Therefore, when war broke out between all the major nations, they all tried to acquire at least one of these "military geniuses." Meanwhile, Peter, brother of Ender, becomes hegemon. He tries to unite nations under himself, calling his organization, the FPE or the Free People of Earth. This book is about the epic war that takes place as the military geniuses fight against each other. Bean, and his wife Petra (another military genius), are on a quest to find his babies, which were secretly implanted in random mothers throughout the world.
    If you want to find out what happened to them, read this book! But I only recommend this book to older people, because this book is a little mature. But I still liked this book because its story line is really creative, and it's a page turner. I like how the author explains what in the main character's mind. If you like sci-fi books, this would be the best for you!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Siegetank01

    Hey its your pal...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    5 stars

    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Free ipad

    Post this on three seperate books then look under your pillow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Shadow of the Giant is a great finale to the series of books ste

    Shadow of the Giant is a great finale to the series of books stemming from Ender's Shadow. It is filled with realistic human behavior, clever tactics, and provoking circumstances, leaving Card’s readers wondering what they themselves would do in his character’s situations. The book answers many of the questions left behind from the Ender’s Game series, such as “How did Jane become so powerful?” and “Why was Peter really rejected from Battle School?
    Orson Scott Card has masterfully written this book, providing even more depth to the story of Julian, AKA Bean. Personally, the only thing I would have changed is to have just a little bit more at the end of the book, to gain just one more glimpse at the life of Bean. Other than that, I greatly enjoyed this book, and will be on my read over and over list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Ethan

    Go to res 3 please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    ETHAN TO EMILEE

    IF YOUR READING THIS GO TO GIANT RES 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Shrimp

    Sheeshh.....sorry. bye then. *cries while walk out*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    !!!!!!

    I loved the series so far can't wait to get to this one because i have heard excellent things! ;) :DDDDDD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Hermes

    Thats it....when you give them the onfo then we go to lithe res 11 and wait for them to get there then we attack them again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Encludes

    So encludes is his name? Sorry ^^'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    High Recommended

    Sad and beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    By far one of the best books I have read Prepare a box of tissues

    The entire series of Bean are my favorite, <BR/>orson scott never fails to captivate me, he is by far one of the best authors,<BR/><BR/>Orson did an amazing job developing beans character<BR/><BR/>Little Bean , Little Bean "Julian" Delphiki<BR/>is my favorite Fictional character of all time<BR/><BR/>Honestly I can go on and one about this series, just thinking of the emotions I felt reading the book I get goosebumbs its unforgettable it have everything a reader would enjoy, as always Orson never fails <BR/><BR/>I cant wait for Shadow of Flight.<BR/><BR/>My little Julian ¿Bean¿ Delphiki, <BR/>You must know I never forget You <BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>Quote: In the darkness, where do shadows go?¿<BR/><BR/>"one of the best endings about the little boy who grew into a literal Giant that led armies and was worshipped by many"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    OH My GOOODNESS

    this was one of the best books i ever read! I was so sad when i realized the series was over. I cried because i felt the love and connection between Bean and Petra was so real and it made me want someone to love me like that myself. it was as beautiful scifi book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    An Excellent Conclusion

    The emtions of this book are rivaled only by the original book of this series, Ender's Game. For those of us who have read the entire series this ties up a lot of loose ends, and even though I know in the back of my head this is all fake, I couldn't help but place myself in Bean's position. The decisions he was forced to make, the life he led, all amazing. Having first read Ender's Game four years ago and just finishing reading Shadow of the Giant again I feel I can safely say this conclusion is everything it needed to be. Lots of action, but nothing so over the top as to make the reader stop and say 'Wait a minute, that wouldn't happen.' All in all this book and the entire series makes for an excellent read. These books are on the reading list at Annapolis, West Point and Colorado Springs for a reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    Possibly the best of the Shadow Series

    This was possibly the best of the Shadow series. Finishing the book, I finally realized the story was really all about Peter. I just finished the audio book for Ender's game (read it 5 times) and the transformation of Peter is the most intriguing given how Peter is portrayed throughout the 1st book. An amazing character arc to be sure! Of course, Bean is intriguing and the competion among the battle school grad ties everything together. I wish this was the last book, but I hear there's another on the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Possibly the Most Fantastical Book I Have Ever Had the Pleasure of Reading.

    Seriously, Mr. Card has out done himself yet again. I first picked up one of his books (Ender's Game) for a summer reading assignment, and fell in love with his writing style. Needless to say, I went out and bought the entire series! What I really enjoyed in this book, as well as in the other books in the Shadow Series, is how Mr. Card switches off between the important characters. In this book, there is more development for Peter and Petra (pehaps my two favorite characters in the series) which is absolutely amazing! I would definately reccomend this book and the other books in the Ender Saga to all readers. You'll definately love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6