Customer Reviews for

Shadow of the Hegemon (Ender's Shadow Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Read this book NOW

Card has the uncanny ability to gives you four hundred plus pages pure suspense. From the first chapter on I was instantly glued to this book. This characters are so easy to undrstand and you end up caring for them and cheering for the good guy its hard to stop reading....
Card has the uncanny ability to gives you four hundred plus pages pure suspense. From the first chapter on I was instantly glued to this book. This characters are so easy to undrstand and you end up caring for them and cheering for the good guy its hard to stop reading. Card includes wonderful details of the characters and the the details add such realism to the experience. The book is never predictable always changing directons and always leaving you excited to read whats to come up next.I loved this book and love the series an highly recommend it to any one who like science fiction and military novels. I had a hard time finding anything wrong with this and the only thing i could come up with is that some of the language is strong especially for how old the characters are. Children between the ages of seven and fourteen use harsh language seen in more mature books and movies. Otherwise thise book is flawless and will give you a good time. I would recomend reading the prequels to this book to fully understand all the little moments in the book but it could still be enjoyed with reading the previous books.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bean, or Julian Delphiki is on Earth after the war. Achilles ha

Bean, or Julian Delphiki is on Earth after the war. Achilles has taken a seat of power and is trying to kidnap and kill members from Ender's squadron. Bean has gone into hiding and is trying to find a way to rescue his friend Petra. What I liked about this book is it c...
Bean, or Julian Delphiki is on Earth after the war. Achilles has taken a seat of power and is trying to kidnap and kill members from Ender's squadron. Bean has gone into hiding and is trying to find a way to rescue his friend Petra. What I liked about this book is it contains action like the others but from a different angle. However, it tends to be a bit slow paced at times. Overall I think it's a great book and I highly recommend it.

posted by Danielxm on January 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Wonderful, a must read for every Ender fan

    This and the next two books in the Shadow parallel novels are among the best works Orson Scott Card ever wrote. Great adventure novels plus brilliant characters and a situation where a handful of smart teens have the fate of the world in their hands= irresistable series! These books also show different sides of every kid from Battle School as well as those who stayed behind. The explanation of how Peter became Hegemon proves that Card did his research- it's almost scary how possible some of the situations shown were. It'd be interesting to see wat would happen if Card wrote this book today... Anyway, read it if you haven't already! It's so worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great

    The Bean series is wonderful. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    Read this book NOW

    Card has the uncanny ability to gives you four hundred plus pages pure suspense. From the first chapter on I was instantly glued to this book. This characters are so easy to undrstand and you end up caring for them and cheering for the good guy its hard to stop reading. Card includes wonderful details of the characters and the the details add such realism to the experience. The book is never predictable always changing directons and always leaving you excited to read whats to come up next.I loved this book and love the series an highly recommend it to any one who like science fiction and military novels. I had a hard time finding anything wrong with this and the only thing i could come up with is that some of the language is strong especially for how old the characters are. Children between the ages of seven and fourteen use harsh language seen in more mature books and movies. Otherwise thise book is flawless and will give you a good time. I would recomend reading the prequels to this book to fully understand all the little moments in the book but it could still be enjoyed with reading the previous books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    awesome

    wht more could i say just couldnt put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    More?

    I enjoyed the book very much but I feel like i have been cut off. I think Orson Scott Card should continue with beans story one way or another. To me this story Just seems incompleted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    Excellent, as usual

    Loved it. I'm amazed at how much the author knows about world events and cultures. These books are definitely not for people who don't want their minds jogged. I think this is one of the best books of the whole series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

    this is a fantastic book i love books and i didnt really love reading these kinds of books until i read this one. tha author of the book is without a doubt one of the best there are just by the way he wrote one book and continued to write them but by a different character point of view,.. i will continue to read all of the ENDER'S GAME series ive already read,..ENDER'S GAME,..SHAWDOW OF HEGEMON,..AND ENDER'S SHADOW,.. I WOULD LOVE TO SEE A BOOK JUST ABOUT ACHILLIES THAT WOULD BE FANTASTIC TY FOR THE EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!! FROM RASHAWN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    The Best Author Ever!

    The book was great because it had so much action and big events that changed the world, people, and the way they thought.The last half of his books are the gratest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    A must read

    For fans of Sci-fi this may be slightly disappointing from the space and alien oriented Ender's Game, but Card's depiction of the world in a few centuries is strikingly truthful to the present. His view is, especially in recent events, quite a possible, however unlikely as it may be, future world stuggle. His knowledge of Asian culture is very extensive (having years of experience myself in Asia) which i feel was a very important piece of this novel. Shadow of the Hegemon is indeed a must read, even those not very enthusiastic about Sci-fi, can appreciate the depiction of future (if not very like the present) politics of the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    Absent Ender, Battleschool grads are the weapons for world conquest

    The Formics are defeated and graduates of the IF Battleschool become the tools used by Achilles as he manipulates nations in his quest to dominate the Earth. Ender's Shadow gave insight into Bean, this book gets deeper into his life and persona while fleshing out the characters of Petra Arkanian, Sister Carlotta, Peter Wiggin and numerous others. While it is less sci-fi than most would hope for, it generates interest in politics and world history as it extrapolates a potential future. Card's talent for making his characters human and (generally) likable shines through. Shadow of the Hegemon is a great, fast read,holding the reader captive, particularly those familiar with the family of associated novels that precede it. As with the others, it leaves the reader asking, 'What's next, and do I have to wait long?'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    Card Continues To Dominate Sci-Fi

    Orson Scott Card has yet to fail in creating a believable story plot that pulls you right in. Characters previously set in the backgrounds of Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow are now further developed, giving the Ender-veteran a new outlook on the characters' personalities and points of view. The story starts fast and never slows down, yet still giving the reader enough detail to enable them to visualize every escape, every assassination, every confrontation and emotion as they read this masterpiece. This author has taken a single story and created an entire history of a universe that may yet come to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2000

    One of the best in the Sci-Fi names today!

    <B><I>This time the battlefield is set firmly on terra firma, Earth!</I></B> Ender and his sister, Valentine are not around. The intelligent children from Battle School were trying to blend back into life on Earth when they were kidnapped, except for Bean. He, his family, and his neighbors were bombed! Bean went into hiding with Sister Carlotta. Ender's brother, Peter Wiggin, was their only hope. <BR><BR> Peter may only have been a teen, but his intelligence at politics and pulling strings were as great as any of the Battle School Grads were at commanding! He held two names on the nets. Both were well known and had much influence. He was 'Locke', known as a peacemaker, and he was 'Demosthene'. He would help retrieve the brilliant children. But Petra was the most important and she was held prisoner by Achilles! Peter intended to rule the world...and soon. He would become the Hegemon. But first, he and Bean must become alliances to defeat Achilles, before he manages to destroy all the nations! <BR><BR> ***** <I>Orson Scott Card's deep thinking strategies on national and global politics, as well as, on national and global military tactics are proven once again to the Sci-Fi reading public! </I><BR><BR> The story mainly follows Bean, with Petra and Peter as secondary characters. But my vanity makes me like Petra the most. After all, change the <I>P</I> in her name to <I>D</I> and you have <I>MY</I> name! But more than that, I enjoyed watching her (as a 14 year old) using logic against grown men who trained in psychiatry. Petra has a way of seeing things more clearly than most. Here is a story that will hit the best seller lists almost immediately! <B><I>It is not only excellent, it is awesome! </I></B>*****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Free ipad

    Kiss your hand and post this on three different books thrn look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    BIE THIS ITS SO GOOD IT MAKES YOU

    WANA CRY TEARS OF joy!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Good book

    This book is very exciting. At first I thought it would be boring since the buggers are gone, but it was awesome. It was very satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    In love.

    Started with Ender's Game in highschool. Since then each book in both the Ender Quintet as well as the Shadow Series has been on my wishlist to read until I was able to tackle them all. A fantastic group of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Wtf

    Is this thing working

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Mvm

    Great book but thfirst onsee

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    awesome

    Cool book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I love this series

    Read the Ender's Game series first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6