Customer Reviews for

The Shadow of the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 880 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(634)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

104 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

They just do not get any better than this one.

I have over 4,000 books in my personal library. I have been an voracious reader for almost 60 years and I am not sure I have ever read a book that has as many good things going for it as The Shadow of the Wind. Not only are the characters interesting but there are so ma...
I have over 4,000 books in my personal library. I have been an voracious reader for almost 60 years and I am not sure I have ever read a book that has as many good things going for it as The Shadow of the Wind. Not only are the characters interesting but there are so many really good ones. When the movie is made of this novel, the actors are going to be standing in line for any part they can get. A love story, an historical mystery, a story about a boy growing up and his relationship with his father, a great supporting cast all woven together by a superb storyteller.

I want someone to take me to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books. I want to wander the shelves and find my Shadow of the Wind. If you like to read you are going to love this book, I did. An A+

posted by William_BN on March 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Big Hopes, fell a Little Short

The librarian where I work highly recommended this one. It started out great with me highlighting several passages of intriguing depth, however, the story began to grow mundane and predictable as the main character's life "shadowed" the fictitious author's life. The e...
The librarian where I work highly recommended this one. It started out great with me highlighting several passages of intriguing depth, however, the story began to grow mundane and predictable as the main character's life "shadowed" the fictitious author's life. The earlier quality of writing was not seen again for the remainder of the book, and I feel that there were several missed opportunities to truly make the reader more invested in the characters.

posted by 3211903 on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 882 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    They just do not get any better than this one.

    I have over 4,000 books in my personal library. I have been an voracious reader for almost 60 years and I am not sure I have ever read a book that has as many good things going for it as The Shadow of the Wind. Not only are the characters interesting but there are so many really good ones. When the movie is made of this novel, the actors are going to be standing in line for any part they can get. A love story, an historical mystery, a story about a boy growing up and his relationship with his father, a great supporting cast all woven together by a superb storyteller.

    I want someone to take me to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books. I want to wander the shelves and find my Shadow of the Wind. If you like to read you are going to love this book, I did. An A+

    104 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply amazing!

    The writing style, the characters, a plot that continually keeps you guessing...I am scouring book lists to find another book that even comes close to this one. And I am picky! I would find it hard to find a book that flows so smoothly.

    35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    In Vain, I shall attempt to describe.

    Though I may be young, I'm no idiot. A lot of novels that come out these days reek of our modern day, which isn't always what we are wanting.<BR/><BR/>The way this book is written takes you to another world... you yourself feel consumed by the story and it's events. In the beginning of the story, young Daniel is brought to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books- a resting place of sorts for books who only weather the times due to it's walls. His father tells him that every book in that cemetery has been somebody's best friend. Daniel is to choose a book of his choice, and to be it's protector, to ensure it remains alive has it has in the Cemetery of Forgotten books. He chooses "The Shadow of the Wind" by Julian Carax.<BR/><BR/>In a way... you increasingly feel as if you are this books protector, something in my mind that could only be done through the words of a masterpiece. And as the story progresses, one cannot help but to feel as if they've come to know Barcelona, and it's saintly, or otherwise, people.<BR/><BR/>If you are wanting a good book to read, I assure you by picking up this book will bring you no form of regret nor sense of lost time. It's truly a book that by means unknown to you entices you until your spellbound, which in all honestly is accomplished by the first page.<BR/><BR/>Pick up a copy... you will not mourn the loss of the few dollars, rather wonder how less then fifteen dollars reaped such an excellent read.

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Intriguing Mystery

    This is one of the best books I have ever read in terms of plot, character development and the quality of the writing. Carlos Ruiz Zafon has written an absorbing and compelling story that I could not put down. The translator did a masterful job. Simply a great book.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    A bit difficult to follow at times

    I agree that the story did pull you in. But I read aloud in my head (a contradiction in terms, I know) and found it difficult to pronounce many of the names and places in the book. Too, at times, it seemed he went off on a path so far at times, that I had to go back a few pages to try to remember what he was writing about in the first place. All and all though, it was a very good book and a recommended read. I will say though that I was able to figure out some of the surprises, including the relationship between two of the main characters. I can see why Stephen King liked this book, as he's famous for going off on tagents for pages and pages and losing the reader at times.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Historically Memorable

    From cover to cover this book engrosses it's audience with beautifully written literature. I casually came across this book through this site and I devoured the first half of the book within the first night. I thoroughly and utterly recommend this book since it is unparallel to any other book you will ever encounter.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Glad I Broke Down and Read It

    I think any reader can relate: "...few things leave a deeper mark on a reader than the first book that finds its way into his heart. Those first images, the echo of words we think we have left behind, accompany us throughout our lives and sculpt a place in our memory to which, soon or later-no matter how many books we read, how many worlds we discover, or how much we learn or forget - we wil return." Any avid reader can read those words and instantly name the book that for him/her fits that description. Now imagine that after that transformative experience you cannot find another copy of that book or other work by the author. Not only are you disappointed that you can't read more of his/her work, but you realize you can't introduce your new find to others. That is the situation Daniel is in after discovering The Shadow in the Wind by Julian Carax in the Cemetary of Forgotten Books. But, Daniel is undeterred. He is determined to learn the history of Carax. Daniel uncovers a tragic life undone by a web of secrets that eerily parallel his own life. As Daniel peels back each layer of Carax's life, the more in danger his life becomes. &lt;br/&gt;&lt;br/&gt;I have seen very mixed reviews. I thought it was an excellent book. I loved the thought that books carry a bit of the soul of the author and that words are important. I thought it had a good suspense throughout the book, wonderful characters, and a great stoyline.

    My only complaint (very minor) was how random freindship with Fermin. I loved the character of Fermin, but how many business owners are really going to hire a homeless guy off the street that no one knows anything about?

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Big Hopes, fell a Little Short

    The librarian where I work highly recommended this one. It started out great with me highlighting several passages of intriguing depth, however, the story began to grow mundane and predictable as the main character's life "shadowed" the fictitious author's life. The earlier quality of writing was not seen again for the remainder of the book, and I feel that there were several missed opportunities to truly make the reader more invested in the characters.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was absoulutly amazing, a great read for more mature readers, such as the very mature young adults- adults, due to some questionable scenes, but overall I loved the writing style, characters, conflicts, love intrests and the story underneath all the rest about a boy growing into a man through painful experiences that make him stronger.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Shadow of the Wind tells a story you will want to immerse yourself in again and again.

    I've always loved reading, I can't go about life without having a book at hand. I also find myself to be picky about some books, so I came to the conclusion that I would never have a favorite. I was wrong. From the first sentence to the very last, this book had me under it's spell. I would refuse to sleep at night so I could further indulge my need to find out what would happen next. I have never read such a beautiful story in my life. Carlos Ruiz Zafon is an amazing author, and Lucia Graves did an equally amazing job with the translation. I got into The Shadow of the Wind thinking it would be very serious, but to my surprise, I could not have imagined how hilarious the dialogue or story would get at certain points when I first opened it. This book has a little of everything so anyone can enjoy it. I cannot recommend this novel enough, and all I know is that I will continue to read Mr. Zafon's stories until I die, and hope that someday I find a place like the Cemetery of Forgotten Books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written - Engrossing Characters and Story

    A true work of literature but in a good way. The main character, Daniel, is lovable and believable ~ the story is interesting and intriguing. I have enjoyed several of B&N recommendations (see below). I enjoy many types of books but few are as memorable as this.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing

    This book was very different! Beautifully written, but very slow to start. I thought that it would be mostly about the cemetery of forgotten books mentioned in the synopsis, but it was about a boy investigating the mysterious disappearance of an obscure author. It is also about TRAGIC love and how it can destroy someone's life completely due to ignorance. What I did not like about the book was the villain- a VILE police officer and the ending was too rushed after such a sloooow storyline.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stunning!

    This book quickly became my favorite book. I started it one evening and just couldn't put it down. It has been a long time since a book had gripped me, nay, made me so obsessive that I had to continue reading it. Zafon's description of the cemetary for books is definately a place I'd love to visit before I die. Enchanting and thrilling all at once.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Outstanding

    Carlos Ruiz Zafon is an amazing author. His writing style is captivating and beautiful. He holds you throughout an off beat tale with fantastic character development and vivid imagery. No matter where the story took you, you are willing to buy into it because Zafon is so cohesive. Be prepared to cancel your plans, as once you start this book, you will not be able to put it down, you are simply too invested in the characters not to find out their fate. I recommend this book to all of my friends. After reading it I could not wait for his next book, Angel's Game, to be translated into English as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    One of the best books I've ever read!

    This book was selected for my book club by a gal who said it was in her 10 top reads ever...well I have to agree completely-it's got everything in it-suspense, mystery, great characters, and it all takes place in one of most amazing cities in the world-Barcelona! I highly suggest this book to anyone who loves to read-it will quickly become one of your favorites!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BRAVO CARLOS!!

    I second all of the 5 star reviews! Another book I'd like to recommend that I absolutely fell in love with is E X P L O S I O N I N P A R I S, by LINDA MASEMORE PIRRUNG......EXPLOSION IN PARIS.....Riveting! Heart pounding, gut-wrenching, heart-warming, luminous writing, emotional insight, conflicts and struggles of a woman forced to choose, courage...and a timeless love story! Should be on every woman's book club list!! Check out the reviews! They hooked ME!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    Captivating Summer Read

    The mission of reading The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon was handed to me as a summer assignment for school. Being an athlete as well as a high school senior this task seemed to be more of a chore than anything. The beginning of the book did not heighten my interest as it started off slow, but the book eventually blossomed into an amazing story, captivating my attention. Zafon offers the reader a tremendous story of mystery, love, and symbolism that keeps the mind thinking while filling it with contentment. I found my hands to be tied to this book as it seemed to follow me wherever I went. Overall this was a very good read and a great way to spend your free time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    This book is a great read. It has all of the key ingredients that make a book very satisfying for me to read. It has a mystery that I couldn't figure out. It had several romantic stories. It was set against the backdrop of history.

    All of the above ingredients makes this a book that you can not put down. It's an excellent read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Combines the love of reading with an intricate plot

    I read this for my book club and we all enjoyed the the plot twists and the characters. Carlos Ruiz Zafon keeps you intrigued throughout the story. The descriptions of Barcelona reminded me of a trip that I made there. For anyone that loves books this is a must read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Unforgettable!

    This book was very well written and original in its content. I couldn't put it down. I can't wait to read the author's next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 882 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45