Customer Reviews for

Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I read this book in one day--it was that well written. I found m

    I read this book in one day--it was that well written. I found myself drawn into the story of Rachel and Scott from page one. What I found most astounding was how well Putman researches her books. She not only takes the reader on a journey into this little known world of the Monument Men of WWII but does so in a way that you find yourself flipping pages so fast you hardly realize you are learning as well as escaping into a lovely romance. Putman truly does justice to the Greatest Generation with this glimpse into the time of their service.

    This is a book for those that love historical, romance, mystery, and anyone interested in escaping to another time and place...I can't wait for more by this fabulous author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ara Putman has wonderfully put the story with the Monuments Men

    ara Putman has wonderfully put the story with the Monuments Men to paper, I had never heard of them before, how awesome that we had these men. The story weaves a tale of War, we get shot at many times. We find a plethora of irreplaceable masterpieces, and now I have an idea of what these men preserved.
    Rachel Justice a determined young woman. Her Mother is out of options to help her TB, and is literally dying. They need money! She is a gifted photographer, and heads to Italy as a newspaper photographer. She is hoping to find her father there, whom she doesn't even know his name. She does have a few clues.
    Also we have Private Scott Lindstrom, a Monument Man, determined to make sure the treasures are there and kept safe. What both don't suspect is a bit of romance?? You will also be surprised at some of the other happenings during war time! Make sure you wear your helmet, you are going to be staying in a country that is being attacked.
    What a great glimpse into history!!

    I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Shadowed by Grace paints a timeless romance in the midst of dest

    Shadowed by Grace paints a timeless romance in the midst of destruction with colors so vivid you feel like you're living the story along with the characters. Cara Putman balanced rich historical facts with fiction beautifully. I received a history lesson without feeling like I got one. This story shows the sacrifice so many made, and reminds us that even during hardship, God's grace is always working for the good of His children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2014

    I would recommend this book for anybody who love to read somethi

    I would recommend this book for anybody who love to read something about the saving of art in the region of Italy, and the loss of so much of it. Before the movie the Monuments Men, I don't think people realized how much the Allie countries were trying to keep the art in all the countries that the Nazi's were trying to take. Behind all of it, you have a women working on getting the story out of how bad the conditions are for the refugees and trying to find her father, whom she never knew, and falling in love with her guide. I feel Putman explained some much of what was going on at the time that it felt like I was there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Excellent book for art history lovers.

    I have learned a lot about the "monumental" job the Monuments Men did in World War II in rescuing art treasures. The book is very detailed and for me was a bit boring. If you are a art history major or have a keen appreciation for the arts, by all means read it. For others, it might be more information than you want to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read for historical fiction fans! Set in Italy, towards t

    A good read for historical fiction fans!
    Set in Italy, towards the end of WWII, as the Germans were being chased out by the Allies, leaving a huge wake of destruction. Interesting setting for a novel, including the formation of a the Monuments Men division of the Army, whose job was to find and restore historic art and architecture. It also gives a good look at the hazards of being a photojournalist at the time, especially a woman travelling with the troops.
    The story builds slowly, but towards the end it gets more interesting as the plot and characters develop more. Sometimes the story seems a little bumpy, like the broken roads they have to navigate, but in the end it pulls together for a satisfying read. Would have been more interesting if there were actual photos from the time or maps in the index to reference. Readers could benefit more from all of the author's research that way.

    Recommend for historical fiction fans, especially WWII buffs, who don't mind a bit of romance in the mix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    I read this after reading the Monuments Men. I liked the "h

    I read this after reading the Monuments Men. I liked the "human touch" of this historical fiction.
    Very well written - highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    riding the coat tails of Monument Men

    Enjoyable read, nice story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    I like historical novels because often they give a sense of &quo

    I like historical novels because often they give a sense of "being there" on the ground. The Good German, for example, give great descriptions of post-war Berlin.
    Often the story is of secondary interest to me. Skeletons at the Feast, however, provides a good story with interesting characters, and a sense of the place, time, and events.
    This book is very short on details of place and time. Instead it offers up an improbable treakley story of romance and searching. I do not believe the main character for a second.
    The prose is barely readable. I think I'll just read monuments men.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ARTFUL WRITING TO THIS MONUMENTAL READ The morning after I finis

    ARTFUL WRITING TO THIS MONUMENTAL READ
    The morning after I finished reading Shadowed by Grace, the daily newspaper had a front page article about the movie Monument Men, and I immediately flew to my computer and wrote an excited note to Cara Putman that went something like this: 




    Hello Cara, Just last evening I completed reading your wonderful book Shadowed by Grace. This morning I picked up today's edition of the Ft Worth Star Telegram and my eye immediately fell to the lower left column on the first page. There was a picture of Robert Edsel above the words “Dallas man drove movie on WWII art rescue”...and went on to talk about the movie made about Monument Men, based on his book about the group’s heroic efforts. Of course, my attention was caught immediately because I had just read his name in your personal notes at the back of the book.  Just wanted to let you know....your story made quite an impression on me...imagine finding this article this morning!! Best of God's Blessings, Barb Shelton 




    Not only did reading this article put real faces to the imaginary names in Cara’s story, it enlightened me to the thorough research she immersed herself within to write this fascinating story. Now, I could see Lieutenant Scott Lindstrom as George Clooney (instead of Gregory Peck) and had already imaged Anne Hathaway as Captain Rachel Justice.




    Cara Putman’s story is indeed based on cultural affairs….and I do not mean that word loosely regarding Rachel and Scott!  Each, the epitome of respectable ethics in an ungracious period of history. Some of the characters in the story rank as unscrupulous and conniving, while other’s exhibit bravery and faith in God to grace them with safety and daily provisions of which there was little.  It was dangerous to lose direction while traveling by jeep, especially if the driver had already lost his way spiritually
    .
    This is a love story surrounded by treacherous conditions of war.  Ms. Putman’s exclusive subject on saving historical art masterpieces was literally unknown to me and I reverentially appreciate learning how this world has been able to continue the study and enjoyment of historic art because of a few military men  assigned their duty as Monument Men..  God is our eternal guardian and brings about good from the worst of circumstances through his children and angels

    If you have noticed the absence of story details in this review, that is on purpose.  You can read those in other fine reviews of Shadowed by Grace and on the back cover of the book. The uniqueness of this story is complimented by the unusual civilian career as an art museum curator held by Scott Lindstrom; and the fact that a woman photographer, Rachel Justice, assigned to the war zone during that time in history was not a common happening. Will the mystery of finding the father in Italy Rachel never knew be “wrapped up?”  Will Scott be allowed to understand why Rachel is so afraid of falling in love?  Why is Rachel’s ill mother so unwilling to offer Rachel the answers to her birth?  This story is about war, peace, love, culture, fear, bravery, searching, redemption, and God’s grace fulfilled.  Oh, by the way, Cara Putman graciously replied to my note, and my respectful regard for her as an author and friend is sincerely touched.  Her writing fulfilled my expectations because it taught me something important about history I did not know. I eagerly anticipate reading her next book.  You need to read this story! 




    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from LitFuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love stories set in WWII, but I love it most when authors put

    I love stories set in WWII, but I love it most when authors put a twist on a familiar setting by finding something I really didn't know about and bringing it to life for me through amazing characters. That is exactly what Cara has done in "Shadowed by Grace". First we have a female photojournalist, Rachel, who gets herself sent to the frontlines in Italy in an effort to not only try to capture the Pulitzer moment but even more importantly to find the father she has never met. She is partnered with Scott who is part of the Monuments Men that are there to locate, protect and preserve the rich art in Europe that is getting pilfered, destroyed and pillaged. The questions become... can Scott do his job effectively when someone seems to be sabotaging his efforts? Can Rachel find her father with the one lead she has brought with her when her mother won't tell her anything? Can Rachel and Scott find the ultimate reason God has brought them together in the middle of such evil and destruction?
    Toward the beginning there was quite a bit of referencing to the unsureness that both Rachel and Scott had as far as romantic notions go... but once the book got going it seemed like that worked itself out and Rachel and Scott became a wonderful couple that I loved learning more about.
    My favorite parts of the story were in seeing what the Monuments Men were really about - amazing pieces of history wrapped up in wonderful storylines, scenic countrysides of Italy and moving characters. Very enjoyable and I would love to see a follow up with these characters and more Monuments Men facts and scenarios!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank you to Cara Putnam and Litfuse Publicity group for a copy

    Thank you to Cara Putnam and Litfuse Publicity group for a copy of Shadowed by Grace. This story focuses on the Monuments Men. These men worked to save and preserve art and historical buildings during World War II. You can also win a copy of this fabulous novel.
    Synopsis:
    Rachel has great hopes as she leaves for Italy to join the press core in the war. The one regret is having to leave her mother who is struggling with tuberculosis. The work that Rachel will do might be enough to provide treatment for her mother. Will her mother be able to last? The only other hope is for Rachel to find her father in Italy. She has a sketchpad and her mother’s journal to help her in her search. Once she arrives everything is not easy. Rachel is assigned to the Monuments Men unit. She assists Lieutenant Scott Lindstrom as he catalogues art. Will he help her find the answers Rachel so desperately needs?
    My Thoughts:
    This is my first novel by Cara Putnam. I will be revisiting more of Cara’s work in the future. If you enjoy Brock and Bodie Thoene and their stories you will enjoy Shadowed by Grace. I loved the subject of the Monuments men. The movie that is also based on this topic is being released this weekend as well.
    The genre is Romantic Suspense and while the focus is on Scott and Rachel’s relationship there is more to the story. The author stays true to the history of the 1940s and the World War II. The only note is that I felt that the author waited a long time to move the plot along. by Jencey/ Writer's Corner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1