Customer Reviews for

Shadowfell

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I have fallen in love with this book! Its all the character build and lush story telling I love, that only Juliet Marilliar can create. This book felt diffetent from all her others though and only at the end did I realize why... its not this one book for a characters ta...
I have fallen in love with this book! Its all the character build and lush story telling I love, that only Juliet Marilliar can create. This book felt diffetent from all her others though and only at the end did I realize why... its not this one book for a characters tale and the sequal moving onto another characters journey... I just can't wait for the sequals to be released.... amazing

posted by 10720189 on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Readers begin by meeting a young girl named Neryn as she and her

Readers begin by meeting a young girl named Neryn as she and her father try to find some kind of shelter from the elements with only a small amount of money in their pockets. Neryn’s father soon spies a boat in the harbor that is basically a floating gambling den. Becau...
Readers begin by meeting a young girl named Neryn as she and her father try to find some kind of shelter from the elements with only a small amount of money in their pockets. Neryn’s father soon spies a boat in the harbor that is basically a floating gambling den. Because he and his daughter need money in order to survive, and he is an avid gambler, he decides that this is the way to a small fortune. So away he goes to find money that will see them on their way. Of course, what actually does happen is startling. Dad loses and he, more or less, sells his daughter in a card game and she ends up being taken away by a man named Flint.

Soon the King’s Enforcers come into town and kill just about everyone in it…along with Neryn’s father. Now Neryn has not only been sold but she’s also an orphan - all alone in the world except for Flint. Although her new owner says he wants to help her, Neryn is out of trust and full of fear, choosing to run away.

Neryn soon shows that she is no ordinary young girl. In fact, she has a magical gift that was handed down to her from her grandmother, and the King’s Enforcers are looking for her so that she can help the King keep his power. How can she do that?

Apparently her gift is that she can see and talk to the ‘little’ people in the land and Neryn is on her way to Shadowfell - a place that is home to a band of rebels who are training to overthrow the King and bring the land back to the people. On her journey, Neryn runs up against some very unusual people, not to mention fearing everything from the harsh, cold weather to the fact that perhaps everyone was wrong and Shadowfell doesn’t even exist.

From the ‘Good Folk’ who help her out when she gets into some pretty sticky situations; to Flint, who is actually an extremely kind individual, this is a fascinating adventure. Being the first in this series, readers can look forward to even more secrecy, romance and mind-boggling survival!

Quill Says: A unique and enchanting read.

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Readers begin by meeting a young girl named Neryn as she and her

    Readers begin by meeting a young girl named Neryn as she and her father try to find some kind of shelter from the elements with only a small amount of money in their pockets. Neryn’s father soon spies a boat in the harbor that is basically a floating gambling den. Because he and his daughter need money in order to survive, and he is an avid gambler, he decides that this is the way to a small fortune. So away he goes to find money that will see them on their way. Of course, what actually does happen is startling. Dad loses and he, more or less, sells his daughter in a card game and she ends up being taken away by a man named Flint.

    Soon the King’s Enforcers come into town and kill just about everyone in it…along with Neryn’s father. Now Neryn has not only been sold but she’s also an orphan - all alone in the world except for Flint. Although her new owner says he wants to help her, Neryn is out of trust and full of fear, choosing to run away.

    Neryn soon shows that she is no ordinary young girl. In fact, she has a magical gift that was handed down to her from her grandmother, and the King’s Enforcers are looking for her so that she can help the King keep his power. How can she do that?

    Apparently her gift is that she can see and talk to the ‘little’ people in the land and Neryn is on her way to Shadowfell - a place that is home to a band of rebels who are training to overthrow the King and bring the land back to the people. On her journey, Neryn runs up against some very unusual people, not to mention fearing everything from the harsh, cold weather to the fact that perhaps everyone was wrong and Shadowfell doesn’t even exist.

    From the ‘Good Folk’ who help her out when she gets into some pretty sticky situations; to Flint, who is actually an extremely kind individual, this is a fascinating adventure. Being the first in this series, readers can look forward to even more secrecy, romance and mind-boggling survival!

    Quill Says: A unique and enchanting read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of the things I love about epic fantasies is how unique the

    One of the things I love about epic fantasies is how unique the characters can be, and Shadowfell did not disappoint. While Neryn is a bit on the tame side, she meets many interesting personalities along her journey, especially among the Good Folk who aid her on her journey. I especially love Sage and Red Cap, two of Neryn's early supporters among the Good Folk. I have a feeling that I'll find more characters to love among the human comrades that Neryn makes, especially Flint. Of all the humans, he is the most complex, and it still seems as though he's hiding much from us. I hope to see more of his character developed in future installments along with that of Neryn.
    While there are no outstanding flaws in Neryn's character, there aren't any strengths either. On the whole, Neryn is a flat character who is extremely naïve and sheltered girl despite having been on the run from the Enforcers since she was twelve. She knows how much the people are suffering. She's seen how people are willing to turn in their own to protect themselves. Still, she has no strong desire to use her skills to return the pain back to the king's supporters. Her naivety also manifests in her hesitancy over whether or not to trust Flint and over the decision to accept the aid of the Good Folk when she needs help to survive. It does seem as though she's becoming more confident towards the end of the story, however, so there's hope for her growth in future installments.
    The pacing is rather slow as well. It takes Neryn pretty much the entire novel to find her destination, and there is a lot of waiting in between. Combined with a flat heroine, the plot would have disappointed had it not been for the striking world building that brings the story to life. Many YA fantasies I've read tend to underdevelop the world in an attempt to focus more on character relationships and action. In Shadowfell, I never felt as if I lacked an understanding of how the world worked, excluding the first chapter while I was still getting acquainted with the world. Alban is rich in history and culture that distinguishes from other worlds oppressed by an evil tyrant. Progressing into the plot with a solid understanding of the world allowed me to better appreciate the importance of Neryn's canny skills.
    Shadowfell is a solid first installment in a series. It sets up the world and introduces the characters who'll be playing major roles in the battles to come. The future for the series looks promising. I'll be reading Raven Flight to see where Neryn's journey takes her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Its ok

    Not the absolute best, but was fairly decent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Makings of greatness, but waiting for next book to be sure

    Love that the author is venturing to a new storyline and this is shaping up to potentially be a great series. Really hoping the next book puts some conviction in the lead character and waiting to see who Flint really is in his heart of hearts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you are a fan of fantasy, magical beings and a story with dep

    If you are a fan of fantasy, magical beings and a story with depth, Shadowfell would be for you. This was a book recommended to me by a good friend, and I knew by reading the summary that it was one I had to read. Don’t be fooled by my rating. This is well worth the read. I love when I discover a deeper meaning behind a characters journey than just the act of moving the story forward.
    Neryn’s father succumbed to his gambling and alcohol compulsion. He, like so many others in Alban had lost their way due to the malevolent King Keldec. Canny skills were forbidden to the ordinary folk. Keldec sent out enforcers to wipe away anyone that possessed these magical abilities, and cruelly used the ones he kept in his grasp. And, he wanted Neryn.
    Neryn was gifted, and this gift had been a secret between her and her father, but when he drank, she was afraid he would lose his mind and speak the unspeakable.
    A tragic scene set the story further in motion. Neryn escaped enforcers with the help of a hooded man, who eventually is threaded back into the story with mystery and a greater purpose. Neryn accepted a challenge to stand up for justice, and the battle she agreed to fight was for Alban’s freedom. That meant a new king and a new rule.
    On her journey to Shadowfell, Neryn not only had a series of tests to pass, but she was on a personal journey as well. Along her path, she was reminded of the wise words her grandmother spoke to her, an education of sorts that helped guide her on her path to being something more than she ever could have imagined.
    Neryn had help along the way from The Good Folk, and Flint, the hooded man.
    This enjoyable story kept me intrigued and allowed me to escape into a whole new world full of tragedy, self-discovery, and compassion for the people in Alban. There was a specific scene where Neryn met a couple with a special circumstance that broke my heart, but played a vital role in showing the reader more about who the protagonist Neryn really was. That was one of my favorite scenes throughout this story and it was deeply touching.
    I love when a protagonist is a fighter and faces obstacles head-on for the greater good regardless of the struggles to get there. That was how Neryn was. She was strong and didn’t allow herself to give up because it wasn’t just for her; it was for the people she’s loved and lost, and the ones who reside in Alban. Flint was a mysterious character. Through most of the story I was just waiting for him to betray Neryn. The more we learned along the way, I truly understood why he acted the way he did. I really liked him and the connection he and Neryn developed.

    I would have liked to see a drawing or a map of Alban. There were many landmarks mentioned throughout and it would have been nice to see where they were. The imagery was great and easy to imagine. The story ended with a perfect opening into the next book. I can't wait to find out what is going to happen with Neryn, Flint, and the Good Folk.
    Give this enchanting story a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1