Customer Reviews for

Shadowfever (Fever Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3796 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2865)

4 Star

(521)

3 Star

(210)

2 Star

(97)

1 Star

(103)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Even better than I imagined

Before I started this book, there was a big part of me that believed there was no way I could be satisfied when I was done. There were simply too many questions to be answered, too many loose ends to ever tie up in a way that both made sense and appeased my need for a ...
Before I started this book, there was a big part of me that believed there was no way I could be satisfied when I was done. There were simply too many questions to be answered, too many loose ends to ever tie up in a way that both made sense and appeased my need for a happily ever after. I was wrong.

There is so much packed into these pages that when I think back to the question, "Who is the beast?" it seems like a lifetime ago. It's no wonder you don't get much information from the summary regarding what this book is about (it mostly recaps the series as a whole.) I find that even trying to talk about it in generalities reveals fantastic developments in the plot. So if you haven't read "Shadowfever" yet, I urge you to stop reading here, with my reassurance that it's a fantastic book that left me wholly satisfied and warm inside.

****PLOT/STORYLINE POINTS AHEAD****

The first chapter of this book shredded me. When Mac thought she had killed Barrons, I cried for her. I ached. Then I watched her put herself together; to take the hard lessons he taught her and live so that his death was not in vain. This is not the Mac of "Darkfever." She is powerful, but hollow. She finally gets her showdown with the Lord Master with decidedly anticlimactic results.

Mac seemed to learn so much about herself and her feelings with Barrons' death. It was disappointing to see so much of it go out of the window when they were finally reunited. She was ready to end the world for him, yet suddenly, overhearing a phone call makes her regress utterly? It was one of the few parts of the book that left me frustrated. It was hard to see the roles reverse between Barrons and Mac... to see him so vulnerable... And when she finally looked inside his mind and learned what he was feeling while she was Pri-ya... Sigh.

Without spoiling much more, I can tell you some of the questions that are finally answered: What is Mac? Who killed Alina and why? Who is the Unseelie King? Who is the King's consort? Who is the Dreamy-Eyed Guy? Who is Cruce? Who was the dying boy in Barrons' memory? What is under the garage? And perhaps the best question of all... who is the real villain in the story? The answer to that last one blew me away.

Karen Marie Moning has created a tale of twists and turns that kept me guessing until the very end. NO ONE should read this book without reading the other books in the series first. And after reading this fifth installment, I'm sure many fans will go back to the previous books and read the stories from a new perspective, knowing truths we never dreamed of when it all began. There are enough threads that I can easily see more books in this Fever world, but I promise there is no cliffhanger here. Just a fantastic ending to a creative and enthralling story.

I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could.

posted by JenMartin1 on January 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

I loved all of her books, until now...

I am disappointed in the final outcome of Mac's journey. I wondered if it was because we had to wait so long for Shadowfever that, naturally, I had made up a world of my own based on her clues in her other books? No. That wasn't it. KMM failed to deliver a mind blowi...
I am disappointed in the final outcome of Mac's journey. I wondered if it was because we had to wait so long for Shadowfever that, naturally, I had made up a world of my own based on her clues in her other books? No. That wasn't it. KMM failed to deliver a mind blowing end that she had eluded to over time. I felt that she had a great story in the first four books of the Fever Series and even pulled in some of her Highlander Series unsolved mysteries. I was so excited that we would be getting more of the MacKeltar's and Adam Black but was left high and dry. The brief moment with Adam was pointless, why bother at all? And she seemed to belittle the Druids and their power by the dialog from Ryodan. She never answered the basic question: How did Circenn lose the Hallows to begin with? So many unanswered questions. She didn't wrap up the lose ends at all. As a few have pointed out before, there was too much useless dialog and Mac going off on a tangent that had nothing to do with the story. A lot of "fluff".

I didn't feel Mac's grief one single bit. Where was the dedication to Barrons? Yeah, she screamed and cried then took up with Darroc. COME ON! It was as if Mac had lost all that she had learned over the last 4 books. Didn't buy it at all.

I was so excited to finally find out WHAT Barron and his men were and when I got the answer I had to reread because surely I missed something BIG.. but, no, nothing. What a let down. I won't ruin any of the ending by posting spoilers but what Mac turns out to be is lame, imho. It could have been so much more. This was Karen's story to be told..not how I would have liked it to go though.

I will always love the Highlander's and look forward to Christian's story but am not planning on rereading the Fever series again.

posted by 6238898 on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3846 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 193
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    I loved all of her books, until now...

    I am disappointed in the final outcome of Mac's journey. I wondered if it was because we had to wait so long for Shadowfever that, naturally, I had made up a world of my own based on her clues in her other books? No. That wasn't it. KMM failed to deliver a mind blowing end that she had eluded to over time. I felt that she had a great story in the first four books of the Fever Series and even pulled in some of her Highlander Series unsolved mysteries. I was so excited that we would be getting more of the MacKeltar's and Adam Black but was left high and dry. The brief moment with Adam was pointless, why bother at all? And she seemed to belittle the Druids and their power by the dialog from Ryodan. She never answered the basic question: How did Circenn lose the Hallows to begin with? So many unanswered questions. She didn't wrap up the lose ends at all. As a few have pointed out before, there was too much useless dialog and Mac going off on a tangent that had nothing to do with the story. A lot of "fluff".

    I didn't feel Mac's grief one single bit. Where was the dedication to Barrons? Yeah, she screamed and cried then took up with Darroc. COME ON! It was as if Mac had lost all that she had learned over the last 4 books. Didn't buy it at all.

    I was so excited to finally find out WHAT Barron and his men were and when I got the answer I had to reread because surely I missed something BIG.. but, no, nothing. What a let down. I won't ruin any of the ending by posting spoilers but what Mac turns out to be is lame, imho. It could have been so much more. This was Karen's story to be told..not how I would have liked it to go though.

    I will always love the Highlander's and look forward to Christian's story but am not planning on rereading the Fever series again.

    34 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Even better than I imagined

    Before I started this book, there was a big part of me that believed there was no way I could be satisfied when I was done. There were simply too many questions to be answered, too many loose ends to ever tie up in a way that both made sense and appeased my need for a happily ever after. I was wrong.

    There is so much packed into these pages that when I think back to the question, "Who is the beast?" it seems like a lifetime ago. It's no wonder you don't get much information from the summary regarding what this book is about (it mostly recaps the series as a whole.) I find that even trying to talk about it in generalities reveals fantastic developments in the plot. So if you haven't read "Shadowfever" yet, I urge you to stop reading here, with my reassurance that it's a fantastic book that left me wholly satisfied and warm inside.

    ****PLOT/STORYLINE POINTS AHEAD****

    The first chapter of this book shredded me. When Mac thought she had killed Barrons, I cried for her. I ached. Then I watched her put herself together; to take the hard lessons he taught her and live so that his death was not in vain. This is not the Mac of "Darkfever." She is powerful, but hollow. She finally gets her showdown with the Lord Master with decidedly anticlimactic results.

    Mac seemed to learn so much about herself and her feelings with Barrons' death. It was disappointing to see so much of it go out of the window when they were finally reunited. She was ready to end the world for him, yet suddenly, overhearing a phone call makes her regress utterly? It was one of the few parts of the book that left me frustrated. It was hard to see the roles reverse between Barrons and Mac... to see him so vulnerable... And when she finally looked inside his mind and learned what he was feeling while she was Pri-ya... Sigh.

    Without spoiling much more, I can tell you some of the questions that are finally answered: What is Mac? Who killed Alina and why? Who is the Unseelie King? Who is the King's consort? Who is the Dreamy-Eyed Guy? Who is Cruce? Who was the dying boy in Barrons' memory? What is under the garage? And perhaps the best question of all... who is the real villain in the story? The answer to that last one blew me away.

    Karen Marie Moning has created a tale of twists and turns that kept me guessing until the very end. NO ONE should read this book without reading the other books in the series first. And after reading this fifth installment, I'm sure many fans will go back to the previous books and read the stories from a new perspective, knowing truths we never dreamed of when it all began. There are enough threads that I can easily see more books in this Fever world, but I promise there is no cliffhanger here. Just a fantastic ending to a creative and enthralling story.

    I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could.

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Wow! Wow! Wow!

    Just finished Shadowfever! KMM has outdone herself! I came away from reading Shadowfever with a warm fuzzy happy feeling... it was wrapped up so well... but I am still so excited about the possibilities about future books set in the Fever world. I'm not ready to leave it.

    Words can't begin to describe how fantastic this book was. You can tell KMM poured her heart into it. It was a whirlwind, fantastical, heartbreaking, heartwarming, unbelievable, and all around amazing.

    The ending was the bomb! KMM delivered on her promise of Mac getting her HEA! I have always loved KMM but this book puts her in her own stratosphere. No author can even begin to compare. Now I need to go re-read everything again and bask in the glow of a fabulous book!

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Hmmmm.

    I kind of still feel lost. ha ha Um, I'm a little disappointed in all honesty and feel quite mislead. Basically, don't try to figure out the mystery in the precious books leading up to Shadowfever, because her "clues" lead you absolutely nowhere. Yeah... I was so excited for this book, and I feel like I didn't get any important answers about certain characters and it felt off. I was disappointed to see what Barrons becomes after seeing him in such a powerful light. Sorry- I'm just disappointed. I had higher hopes and greater expectations and more epic main characters. I kind of felt she lead me thought wise in one direction but then in the end changed it around completely.

    17 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Wow! SciFi,Paranormal,Fantasy,Romance,Mystery,Suspense- It's here!

    After reading another series that started out as a good read and then slowly spiraled into more sex scenes than story (and the story was good when it occured), I started looking for something else. I got this as a Friday freebie. I have not been able to put it and the subsequent books down.
    There are several subplots going on that put tension on the heroine and raise the level of suspense to keep you engaged in the story. I like to read a chapter or two before I turn in for the night and found myself reading longer than that numerous times. The author does an excellent job of keeping you on the "edge of your chair" and wanting to keep reading - too eagerly!
    There is sexual content and tension between the characters, but not to the point that I would feel that is trashy by any means.
    I enjoy the format of first person as it involves you more in the story. The story and content is contemporary and the heroine seems very real to me and what I would imagine as someone representing her age. I highly recommend this series!

    Karen, you have produced an excellent and enjoyable series and I applaud you! I can't wait for the 5th book to come out! Continued success and best wishes- Boiler up!

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this series!

    I have enjoyed this series so much! I have had so much fun discussing all the possiblities that could happen in Shadowfever with all my friends at work that have read them. We are all reading the Highlander series from Karen now and really wish I had read those books first since thay give you some clues to what is going on in the Fever series. Enjoy!!

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Moning is my new favorite!

    It just goes to show that the right "Free Friday" book can be a kick start of a very good thing. After reading the first in this series, I eagerly and impatiently waited for the final book in the series after burning through the rest (not for free), and every other book I could find by Ms. Moning. Romance lovers, fantasy lovers, you will not be disappointed!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Satisfying Conclusion

    The final book in the Fever Series was well worth the wait, and I'm so glad I saved it for the weekend. The previous four books read like prequels compared to this novel. Mind-blowing with its constant turns and revelations, it started out like some sort of torture. But I was soon able to sit back and trust the author not to kill me, as each revelation was more satisfying than the last. This series is so much more complex than the Highlander series. Gone are the predictable romance plots, but the romance is still satisfying as part of the larger whole. The promise that it's a story of light is more than lived up to. There's just enough hope for new storylines in the future while being a true ending to this story. I feel almost completely sated.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    I am disappointed and feel let down.

    She didn't answer any questions! I'm a little mad. I feel like this was 500+ pages of nonsense that didn't really matter. Just talk and talk until we fill up the book and leave them hanging. I literally have an entire list of questions that I really needed answers on. We still know almost nothing. There was no epic ending, it was just... not really great. I've lost a little trust in Karen to deliver a good story. I think she built and built and then nothing happened. Seriously, though, with the unanswered questions. People have invested 5 years into this and if I would've known this was the ending, I never would have touched the book. Did she lose some notes during the writing process and forget there are about a million questions she needs to answer? Because I swear, you hardly learn what Barrons is. He ends up nameless and still shrouded in mystery. Mac I found almost annoying. I have the Shadowsong CD too, (purchased before the book came out) which came with the deleted scene, I believe that should've been the scene in the book. The deleted scene made me feel slightly, ONLY slightly better about some things. Still, unanswered questions after five years of being run around with literally no hope of figuring anything out? It's almost cruel. I would say about 95% of her clues didn't lead you in the right direction at all. If you haven't started the fever series, I would recommend you spare yourself. In the end it will only disappoint and leave you frustrated. Her Highlander series, however is very good. THAT I would recommend. ;)

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Perfect!!

    It seems like I've been waiting FOREVER for this book to come out! I wasn't disappointed!! It was exactly what I expected and then some. The twists and turns, Mac not knowing who or what she is. All I can say is WOW. I started reading at 5am and didn't stop until I was finished this evening. I'm looking forward to starting the Highlander series

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Amazing

    I quickly perused some of the other reviews to see if all readers of Shadowfever were in consensus. Needless to say I was surprised to find the there were some people who weren't thrilled with this book!??!
    I have been waiting for this book since I read the last words in Dreamfever and anxiously awaited it's arrival from my pre-order. I am thrilled with the outcome and have to say it was worth the wait. Most questions were answered and although not all loose ends were tied up....that in no way deters from the fulfillment in reading this book and it lends itself to anticipation of those loose ends being taken care of in future books.
    Like in college there are prerequisites to certain courses and you need to take those before you can take the ones you really want to take......the first 4 books need to be read before you can read this book.
    If you are no stranger to the fever series and you are going to read this book.....make sure you have devoted a serious chunk of time to sit down and read this cover to cover because it sucks you in and does not let you go until the last word.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Disappointing conclusion

    I decided not to review this series until I completed the final book. It's a disappointing end. Period. I never particularly like Mac, but she grew on me enough for me to tolerate her and her constant selfishness, cheap pop references and love/hate relationship with Barrons. I trudged through this series for Barrons. He is the grounding rock, the stable presence a plot line that just doesn't make a lot of sense. Given that Barron's mysteriousness was one of the sole reasons I spent money on these books, let me just save you the grief and your money. We get no closure. The biggest question of the series is literally ended about 3/4ths through this book when, in a single afterthought, Mac decides not to question his identity. Seriously?! I want a refund.


    I feel like the author never did really figure out how to get herself out of some plot holes. Each one is cheaply patched in this book, and we're supposed to buy into it. I don't. I hate being led in one direction only to be dumped ungracefully in another. Whatever epic climax the author wanted to have.it just isn't there. I really wish it was.


    Overall, I will concede that this series is entertaining in portions. But this is one reader who will surely not read another thing by Karen Marie Moning. She writes 'stay to the light.' She left her readers in darkness.

    13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    If you like Twilight, you'll love the Fever Series...this is more adult which is greatly appreciated. After waiting an excruciating 3 months, the 5th book is released...and now its bittersweet because the ending satisfied but still leaves you wanting more Mac, more Jericho, more FEVER!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    UnK'VruckingBelievable!!!

    All I have to say is... UnK'VruckingBelievable!!! Ok, so maybe I have a little more to express.
    I am petitioning Webster Dictionary to add that as a new word as a description for Karen Marie Moning's Fever series.

    The Fever series is a phenominal fantasy world with incredible and complex characters that only Karen could dream up and express in the manner she did. The finale "Shadowfever" has been long awaited by Karen's Moning Maniacs and sooooooooo worth the five year wait. Of course, for those of you who are just now hearing about this series, once you start with Darkfever, you won't be able to stop. Just save yourself the trouble and buy all the books at once.

    There is truly reading experience BEFORE "Fever" and AFTER "Fever". Karen has altered my reading expectations and ruined me for all others.

    P.S. This series IS NOT a romance. If you are a hard core romance reader and not really into fantasy, paranormal or other possibilities than your potential human reality, this series IS NOT for you.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Save yourself $ get the book from your library if you must

    I have followed this writer from the beginning, & this last installment in the series is a disappointment . Did she just loose her enthusiasm? I found this to be a difficult read, with endless rambling about mostly nothing. She has lost me as an avid fan. Too bad. Wait for your local library to get it.
    Disappointed in San Diego

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    Fini .... not quite. Have wallet at the ready for next series ...

    I have loved Karen Moning's books. Have recommended them to others because I felt she was such an excellent author. One of the reasons I enjoyed her writing so much was because she always
    "finished" the story, each book could stand on its own but flowed into a new one. Yes, The Fever Series is just that, a series. However, an author can still stay true to their storyline and complete the sub plots. This is certainly not the case in The Fever Series.

    As the story moves forward through the series, Ms. Moning becomes more and more pretentious with her writing. Shadowfever is a painful & slow journey through the psycho philosophical. Tedious, ad nauseum. Four books have led the reader up to a point, then low & behold the rug is pulled out. Questions are not answered and/ or, worst, totally ignored as part of the original storyline. Ms Moning drifts away from the story's' integrity by introducing conclusions that are quite frankly out of left field - just to tie up a loose end. There are also Twilight rip-offs that really got to me. "Karen, you are better than that". The story doesn't truly have an ending (tickler to the upcoming new series, perhaps? LOL BUT Of Course! This is Ms. Monings' new style).

    I am not only disappointed by Shadowfever AND the entire series but in Ms. Moning herself. This series screams of "Sell Out". There is nothing wrong with making money but when you do it at the cost of your integrity you should be ashamed. This series had fabulous potential. In my opinion, far beyond that of the Twilight Series. Unfortunately, because of the success of Twilight, a "Hollywood" was pulled here and that formula overshadowed Ms. Monings' work. If this is the result of advice from a publisher, get a new publisher.

    One last comment, the fact that people had written reviews prior to the release of this book is shameful & a bit sick.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Wish I hadn't bothered!

    The book has about 200 (or more) pages of useless dialog by the lead character. When faced with a pivotal moment or action in the book, the author hits the "pause button" and has the character Mac start these useless musings of past moments in her life that was EXTREMELY frustrating! It got to the point where when that happened, I just flipped through those tedious and boring pages until the present action or moment picked back up. Also, the charater Mac became whiny and downright slutty. When Mac thought she'd lost Jericho, she should have been alot more grateful when she realized he was alive but all she did was whine, whine, whine and whine somemore about his treatment of her. After all of the up/down, trials and tribulations between Mac and Jericho in the first 4 installments, it would have been a much better read if their romantic relationship was solified at the beginning of the book. Wish I hadn't bothered.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Can't get enough...Good thing it doesn't end here!

    Some people say this book is boring and dull, but nothing is ever dull or boring with Jericho Barrons. Can't get enough of him. I do thing the book had a lot of confusion and mixed up thoughts going on, but that wasn't necessarily a bad thing, it mirrored what the world is like. Overall, a good book, and I do hope to see more of Mac and Barrons in Moning's upcoming series. Hopefully, we will also get to see Dani grow up and get her own story(with Ry-O?) That'll be something. Overall, it was a good book and I liked the way it ended. It's the Beginning of a new End!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    sad its over!

    not normally my type of read but I loved it! I just this minute finished the book and I already miss makayla and jericho! I am hoping the end is just an illusion and there is another book coming........ I can hope can't I?

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    What a wrapup to the storyline. I was not looking forward to the fact that this would be the last book in the series. But Moning came through with an excellent book. I can see why the books was split into parts, it kept the pieces of the story in line. I am looking forward to the trilogy based on the Fever series.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3846 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 193