Customer Reviews for

Shadowfever (Fever Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3798 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2866)

4 Star

(522)

3 Star

(210)

2 Star

(97)

1 Star

(103)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Even better than I imagined

Before I started this book, there was a big part of me that believed there was no way I could be satisfied when I was done. There were simply too many questions to be answered, too many loose ends to ever tie up in a way that both made sense and appeased my need for a ...
Before I started this book, there was a big part of me that believed there was no way I could be satisfied when I was done. There were simply too many questions to be answered, too many loose ends to ever tie up in a way that both made sense and appeased my need for a happily ever after. I was wrong.

There is so much packed into these pages that when I think back to the question, "Who is the beast?" it seems like a lifetime ago. It's no wonder you don't get much information from the summary regarding what this book is about (it mostly recaps the series as a whole.) I find that even trying to talk about it in generalities reveals fantastic developments in the plot. So if you haven't read "Shadowfever" yet, I urge you to stop reading here, with my reassurance that it's a fantastic book that left me wholly satisfied and warm inside.

****PLOT/STORYLINE POINTS AHEAD****

The first chapter of this book shredded me. When Mac thought she had killed Barrons, I cried for her. I ached. Then I watched her put herself together; to take the hard lessons he taught her and live so that his death was not in vain. This is not the Mac of "Darkfever." She is powerful, but hollow. She finally gets her showdown with the Lord Master with decidedly anticlimactic results.

Mac seemed to learn so much about herself and her feelings with Barrons' death. It was disappointing to see so much of it go out of the window when they were finally reunited. She was ready to end the world for him, yet suddenly, overhearing a phone call makes her regress utterly? It was one of the few parts of the book that left me frustrated. It was hard to see the roles reverse between Barrons and Mac... to see him so vulnerable... And when she finally looked inside his mind and learned what he was feeling while she was Pri-ya... Sigh.

Without spoiling much more, I can tell you some of the questions that are finally answered: What is Mac? Who killed Alina and why? Who is the Unseelie King? Who is the King's consort? Who is the Dreamy-Eyed Guy? Who is Cruce? Who was the dying boy in Barrons' memory? What is under the garage? And perhaps the best question of all... who is the real villain in the story? The answer to that last one blew me away.

Karen Marie Moning has created a tale of twists and turns that kept me guessing until the very end. NO ONE should read this book without reading the other books in the series first. And after reading this fifth installment, I'm sure many fans will go back to the previous books and read the stories from a new perspective, knowing truths we never dreamed of when it all began. There are enough threads that I can easily see more books in this Fever world, but I promise there is no cliffhanger here. Just a fantastic ending to a creative and enthralling story.

I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could.

posted by JenMartin1 on January 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

I loved all of her books, until now...

I am disappointed in the final outcome of Mac's journey. I wondered if it was because we had to wait so long for Shadowfever that, naturally, I had made up a world of my own based on her clues in her other books? No. That wasn't it. KMM failed to deliver a mind blowi...
I am disappointed in the final outcome of Mac's journey. I wondered if it was because we had to wait so long for Shadowfever that, naturally, I had made up a world of my own based on her clues in her other books? No. That wasn't it. KMM failed to deliver a mind blowing end that she had eluded to over time. I felt that she had a great story in the first four books of the Fever Series and even pulled in some of her Highlander Series unsolved mysteries. I was so excited that we would be getting more of the MacKeltar's and Adam Black but was left high and dry. The brief moment with Adam was pointless, why bother at all? And she seemed to belittle the Druids and their power by the dialog from Ryodan. She never answered the basic question: How did Circenn lose the Hallows to begin with? So many unanswered questions. She didn't wrap up the lose ends at all. As a few have pointed out before, there was too much useless dialog and Mac going off on a tangent that had nothing to do with the story. A lot of "fluff".

I didn't feel Mac's grief one single bit. Where was the dedication to Barrons? Yeah, she screamed and cried then took up with Darroc. COME ON! It was as if Mac had lost all that she had learned over the last 4 books. Didn't buy it at all.

I was so excited to finally find out WHAT Barron and his men were and when I got the answer I had to reread because surely I missed something BIG.. but, no, nothing. What a let down. I won't ruin any of the ending by posting spoilers but what Mac turns out to be is lame, imho. It could have been so much more. This was Karen's story to be told..not how I would have liked it to go though.

I will always love the Highlander's and look forward to Christian's story but am not planning on rereading the Fever series again.

posted by 6238898 on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    ok read, bit of a let down

    i loved the other books in this series and couldn't wait for this one to come out. while i did enjoy finally knowing what happened i have to say that the tone of the book changed, almosst to the point that it didn't even sound like karen marie moning wrote it. not to spoil it for anyone...i gave it 4 stars mostly because i found out barrons was still alive. at times i found that i just couldn't follow along and i would have to start a section over agin because it lost me.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Pretty darn good...

    Liked it a lot. Somewhat repetitive on some things (like the constant mention of being Pri-ya and being raped) but it was packed with excitement and had me on the edge of my seat throughout. Would have liked to have learned about **SPOILER** who the mother of Barrons son was and whether he was married to her and loved her etc... Maybe we'll learn more about that in the next one. Love that she left it open for another one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    not what I expected

    Well i could not wait till this book came out. After the long wait for the final book, I have to say I was disappointed. It was longer than it had to be and it was just not what I expected. Moning also left it as if she was going to continue the series!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    rather disappointed

    After waiting so long for this book I was disappointed. It seemed as if KMM just couldn't make up her mind which way she wanted the story to go, and it was somewhat disjointedent and went a little overboard on the sex. Overall the series was good, just thought the last book would be better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    its okay

    I have been waiting forever! to find out what the hell barrons is and all i found out is he cannot die and he turns into a beast. I was happy that barrons and ms. lane lol got together. I was puzzled by some parts of the book like why the unseelie king had the power to stop all the madness and did not and I still don't know who was dani boyfriend (sigh) i guess.It was a very creative series though

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    areader

    I was thrilled to find this series! I could not wait to get to the end! However....the last of the series left me a little disapointed. I still don't know how and with who Barron had that child and there are alot of questions left unanswered. I felt the last book did not tie every thing up. I agree with some..it was too wordy concerning Mac's thought process. Like others I found myself skimming through it.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    Hmmm

    I loved the fist four books. They are not what I would normally read, BN gave me the first as a free ebook and I was hooked!! Great characters. I, too, could not wait for the final book. Unfortunately, it was a tough read with far too much description given to things that, ultimately, meant nothing to the story. A very mundane ending that was disappointing to me. Maybe she got to the 'end' of the series and didn't want to end it (and that's why we are getting more--a plus). I get that 'mundane' is what is valued most but...but...not enough.

    I'll wait and read it again, maybe there are layers I missed the first time.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    very slow going

    loved the other books much more this was a let down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Loved the series but

    I read all these in a row - lucky me I didn't have to wait. Not my normal read but the story dragged me in. I didn't enjoy this book as much as the other four. I'm not a prude but TMI sometimes. The first four were better. But I'm glad I read all of them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    so far

    i think Mac is a bit too cocky in this book, kind of annoying. i'm still hoping she tones it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Not exactly what I was hoping for.....

    Okay. Like so many other of you waited eagerly for this one and got to say although I really liked this book, there were some issues that kept me from loving it. We find out some disturbing things about JB, and not loving it. A murderer and the women that love them, I guess. Made me like him a whole lot less. Other than that the story itself took some surprising turns, leaving lots of unanswered questions, and a whole new world to explore in the future. So I will read future books for sure just a little disappointed this one got too dark with a character I thought would turn out to have some admirable qualities.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    I should have read the first 4...haha

    I was so lost. The writing was good, characters ok, and I know I know...how can I even say anything if I didn't read the other ones first, but I think every book should stand on its own!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this...

    This series just keeps getting better! I'm not a great reviewer but suffice it to say that Moning amps up everything in this book. Mac is "back in black", Dani is kicking and Barrons is well.. Barrons. You won't be disappointed. I can't wait to buy the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I think this series is great. It pulled me in and kept me going

    I think this series is great. It pulled me in and kept me going. I couldn't put the books down. There was just so much building up and then I thought it just fizzled out in the end.

    --Spoilers ahead--

    I loved the 2 main characters, Mac and Jerrico, and the tension between them. I thought the story line behind Jerrico was excellent and I'm actually ok with not knowing what he is. I thought the explanation of why it needs to be that way was fair. I kind of like keeping the mystery there. The plot behind his son was interesting - although it was wrapped up too neatly for me. This guy knows almost everything and was betting on 1 solution to his problem... seemed highly unlikely to me.

    I would have liked Mac to stay mortal.... Keep her vulnerable. I thought it was too easy for her to turn into something that was "long-lived" and easy to kill. Keeping her mortal would have raised a lot of interesting issues in her relationship with Jerrico and future struggles. I thought she got off to easily.

    I thought Mac didn't face enough of a challenge and struggle at the end. I would have like to explore the plot with Jerrico's son more, maybe the confrontation with the book, king and Cruse could have been more challenging.... It just ended to easily for me. I thought the author wanted to write something dark - not like your typical romance novel. That's why I enjoyed reading all the books in this series. It was just missing something for me. Although I didn't like the ending, I can't was to see what comes next - especially fof Dani.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    Didn't quite take me where I wanted to go?!

    The first book in this series got me hooked and I really did like the series, I just wanted more. The series took so long and didn't climax until the very end. I was hoping for a climax and something extra at the end and didn't get it. I do recommend but don't have to high of hopes for a great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series!!!!!!!!!!

    Love the series. the first four books were great! I hate to say good bye to Jericho! The end was a pretty big let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11