Customer Reviews for

Shadowflame

Average Rating 3.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended-New Star of the Genre!

By far the best new paranormal writer I've read. This book and the first in the series "Queen of Shadow" are both fantastic. The world Sylvan has created becomes more and more layered in this entry and you won't regret choosing it. The best thing about this series, and ...
By far the best new paranormal writer I've read. This book and the first in the series "Queen of Shadow" are both fantastic. The world Sylvan has created becomes more and more layered in this entry and you won't regret choosing it. The best thing about this series, and what sets it apart form many in the vampire/romance genre, is that the characters, even the minor ones, have a backstory. These personal histories effect their behavior in totally believable ways that are untidy, and unsettling for the other characters and it totally works, leaving you wanting to know more. I can't wait for the next entry.
In this book, Miranda Grey, ersatz rock singer, has recently become both vampire and Queen of the Southern United States vamps, bonded to the techie, warrior king David Solomon. Sovereigns of particular regions derive their power to rule through amulets that choose them based on strengh and talent. It's a thankless job that always ends in assassination, with pairs holding the throne for a maximum of 300 years, and often very short periods of time. Miranda has already faced assassination attempts, and here faces an enemy that has a personal vendetta. She also faces David's past in the form of an old lover that he still has deep feelings for, and to say more would give away the plot. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.

posted by Nealey on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not for me.

Warning: reading this review will spoil the plot. David being unfaithful to Miranda with his exBOYfriend and admitting that he will always love HIM somehow made a lie out of all the "Beloveds". I will never read this author's books again even though the first showed suc...
Warning: reading this review will spoil the plot. David being unfaithful to Miranda with his exBOYfriend and admitting that he will always love HIM somehow made a lie out of all the "Beloveds". I will never read this author's books again even though the first showed such promise.

posted by abbysmom52 on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not for me.

    Warning: reading this review will spoil the plot. David being unfaithful to Miranda with his exBOYfriend and admitting that he will always love HIM somehow made a lie out of all the "Beloveds". I will never read this author's books again even though the first showed such promise.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    but..but...WHY?

    If I only knew then (7/26 when I purchased this book) what I know now I wouldn't have wasted my $8. Its like an entirely different book. There are no consistencies, all the characters (especially Mira & David) are like completely different people. There's infidelity, and several story plot lines none of which stay true to the world building in Queen of Shadows. I stopped reading about 60% thru b/c it only becomes more unreal! Needless to say, I won't be pre-ordering anything else from this author. This was a total let down.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    I had not planned to comment on this one, but......

    There are spoilers ------ Ms. Sylvan is a good writer. Let me say that upfront. I really enjoyed QoS. She may be one weird chick in real life, man hating, vegan, wiccan, and marrying herself; but she is a good writer. It is very unfortunate, however; that she chose to write a book that is so far from UF, considering that is the genre she chose to write this series as, and the one that brought her to the dance. Now I'm thinking that the first book may have been an aberration, a way to build a base so she could vent her hate for men in this book. Yes, an author should be free to write what they wish. But when you develop a fan base in a particular genre, you owe it to your readers to give them an enjoyable read, and one actually - based - in that given genre. Ms. Sylvan pulled in an unpleasant subplot out of left field, and it left huge masses of her core fans unhappy. Was it in character for the leads or did it forward the plot? No, it was just a way for the author to publicly vent her anger against men. It could have easily been left out, and the book would have been much better for it. You don't make the leads soul mates deeply in love, then say it's only for the time being until the next new or ex-lover comes along. I want romance like the first book was. I want characters who have not been given a lobotomy from one book to the next, and to have romance in my romance, not adultery. There is enough of that in real life. Now, instead of trying to pacify the masses, or at best keep her mouth shut until it blows over; she has chosen to run her mouth publicly and deride her fans. ACE needs to rein her in or cut her loose. She is definitely hurting their image as quality publishers (and publishers of quality). Writing a subplot which you know will alienate your readers, and then insulting your fan base on top of that does not sell books. Threatening publicly to make a main (male) character more unlikable "Now I want to have him f*** every guy in sight and become a cross dresser just to piss 'em off." does not sell books, it only makes the author look petty and childish. When I first read Shadowflame and was so displeased with it, I thought that I'd wait and see the reviews before I committed to buying the next book. Now, with the author's actions and mean-spirited public comments about her fans, I have decided to cut her completely from my reading list. There are too many fine PNR/UF authors out there to spend my money on rather than line the pockets of someone who insults my intelligence in a book, then insults me as a fan in real life.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Disappointing!!!!!

    Before I start with my ranting and ravings I must first say that I LOVED Queen of Shadows, and I can't believe that Shadowflame was written by the same author. This book was a very disappointing and depressing reading. In book 1 we have this alpha guy who pined for his girl for months. Then suddenly, in book 2, he decides to play for both teams, cheats on his soul-mate with his friend, and all his wife says is "ugh"! This was such a waste of my time and money. Ms. Sylvan shouldn't have forgotten that her readers are Urban Fantasy & ROMANCE fans who love to read stories about strong kick-ass heroines and in which soul-mates don't cheat on each other. I read romance as a form of escapism. I love to spend my money on books with happy ending and promises of eternal love between soul-mates. If I want to read about a scum-bag cheating husband I would spend my money in a book that is not being marketed as UF/Romance (I really want my money back!) Where was the character growth that is supposed to happen from book 1 to book 2? Needless to say that I will not be purchasing book 3, that is if there is ever another one. And by the way, what was the book's editor thinking? Aren't they also supposed to have some responsibility with their romance based readers?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Vampire with a soul mate commits adultery?

    A comment made by the author on her twitter says it all - And I quote this from her twitter... "Now I want to have him f*** every guy in sight and become a cross dresser just to piss 'em off." That unprofessional attitude ought to garner her a lot of new readers...not........ I can't add much to what has already been said about this book except to say that it has it all...but not what it should have. If you want read a PNR about a vampire cheating on his soul mate wife of 3 months, who then spends the rest of the book ruminating on how much he misses and loves the other man he committed adultery with, then this is your book. Oh, and lets not forget the desperate wife's offer to share her husband with the lover at the end of the book...sheesh........

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    What happened?

    Didn't anyone edit this book? Didn't anyone in her publishing house even read it, so they could tell her it was not UF and that it would never fly with readers? What were they thinking when they published a book that wasn't UF, but one that was perpetuating the authors personal agenda written with a pen dipped in the poison of her own unhappiness? Surely by know her publishers know that Sylvan has crashed and burned; and that for all intents and purposes, this series is over. She's lost her UF readership. The first book, Queen of Shadows, will remain in my mind as a one hit wonder, long after the author is never read again and forgotten. This is Urban Fantasy, not Urban Reality. After such a beautiful romance in Queen of Shadows, we get a totally unnecessary, distasteful adultery in this one (what's UF about that?); and come out of it with the knowledge that David loves and wants to be with his lover, not his wife (his 'Soul Mate'). That's not romance, and it wasn't UF. It was just depressing reading. I don't read these to remind me of my own cheating ex-husband or the dark underbelly of love. If an author is going to give us 'Soul Mates' in a book, I want and expect true love. More than that, I want a continuation and growth of characters from one book to the next, not a hatchet job on the characters to change them to fit the authors personal agenda. And I want Urban Fantasy in my Urban Fantasy, not whatever the heck this book was supposed to be. This book was a total mess. If there is a book 3 (if her publishers don't kill her contract after this fiasco), I will very carefully read the reviews before I invest my time and money on another crap book like this was. And this series showed such great promise in the first book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cannot recommend this book

    3 months and David is cheating already....really!!! and Miranda should expect him to cheat....really!!! What was author thinking!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is the sound of my last penny dropping

    Dear Ms Sylvan,
    WTH!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    No magic in the second book...

    **** Spoilers **** When Queen of Shadows came out, it was an interesting addition to the UF world. Miranda was a kicka** heroine, and David was always there to watch her back. Seeing their relationship grow to love was breathtaking and beautiful. It had an interesting take on and look into the Vampire world. Cut to book 2, Shadowflame. Nothing new about the Vampire world or anything that made it a UF novel. After 3 months of marriage, David is unfaithful to Miranda. Worse yet, he moons over his lover till the end of the book, and preferred him to his wife. Even worse than that, there was no UF or action to the story. David was whiny and Miranda turned insecure and needy. 180 degrees from the characters in the first book. Instead of a action filled UF novel, the reader was placed in the middle of a bad Soap Opera. The book made no sense, and it was depressing. No action, and no fun to read. The fact that they were supposed to be Vampires was an afterthought. If this had been Women's Lit, this nonsense might have been expected; but as the reader was led to understand that they were supposed to be reading Urban Fantasy, it was a tremendous let-down. This was in no way, shape, or form Urban Fantasy. It wasn't even a decent pretense of being UF. If the 3rd book goes back to UF, I may give it a shot. If it's more depressing 'Young and the Restless' crap like this book, no thanks. The author needs to read some good UF authors to learn what makes up (good) Urban Fantasy, or abandon this genre entirely to write more depressing Women's Lit like this book ended up being. Is this really the same person who wrote the first book?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Never again

    I just do not get it. the first book was awesome. and soul mate.....please give me a break. This book was to me all about david reconnecting with his ex male lover. The obvious love of his life.. and miranda just says "well darn i love you anyway" how do you wait centuries for a soulmate, then turn around and have sex with an exboyfriend "that you will always love" i think miranda needs to go and find her a real man in the next book and just drop david because that story just seem very stupid at this point.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    I have to agree with most of the reviews....i wish i hadnt read the first book if i knew what was going to happen in this one. When David keeps calling Miranda beloved by the end it just seems like a total lie since he cant even be in the same room with his exboyfriend without wanting him or telling him he loves him....kind of makes all the soul mate think a big fat lie...i am not going to purchase anymore of this authors books...if i wanted to read about gay love i would have purchased a gay book....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    should have listened to earlier reviewers

    and i too am shocked by the authors rude comments about her readers disappointment.
    the first book is good...but stop there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1