BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shadowland (Immortals Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 1602 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(770)

4 Star

(401)

3 Star

(283)

2 Star

(84)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

amazing but needed more..

this book was long awaited for as a fan of the immortal series. i fell in love with the first two books of the seies and this book hooked me in from the first page. i couldnt stop reading which, in my eyes, is such a good thing. this series has really helped me grow in ...
this book was long awaited for as a fan of the immortal series. i fell in love with the first two books of the seies and this book hooked me in from the first page. i couldnt stop reading which, in my eyes, is such a good thing. this series has really helped me grow in my imagination and is different than all the vampire books that have crowded my bookshelves these past six months. but not to different. the author really capture me with her edge of magic and the power damen and ever retain. but, in my eyes, ever could have been made a little stronger in this book compared the the books that came before this one. i really would have liked to see her grow a little more and come into her own immortal person. also like most (spoiler!!!!) i would have loved to see them find an anedote for their problem but in the end, that is one of the reasons i will buy the next book. i really hope the next one ties up the loose ends that were left. i recommend this book to those who like all of the good vampire books out there and i think they will enjoy the twists that the author provides. my only word of advice is to wait until the next one (dark flame) hits store this summer if you have trouble waiting for suspense from the end of this book that you will most definitly experience.

posted by samSB on November 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

No Longer Interested in The Immortals series

Alyson Noel has officially lost me as a reader with her release of the latest story in the Immortals series. Noel has successfully destroyed any likable qualities of her main character, Ever. Where Ever was once a naive, misguided, guilt-ridden teenage girl who, espec...
Alyson Noel has officially lost me as a reader with her release of the latest story in the Immortals series. Noel has successfully destroyed any likable qualities of her main character, Ever. Where Ever was once a naive, misguided, guilt-ridden teenage girl who, especially after Blue Moon, you feel sorry for, she has now crossed over to utter idiocy...incapable of learning from her past mistakes, pathetic in her lack of any inkling of intuition or common sense, frustratingly full of herself and displaying such arrogance in her "powers" that one cannot help but feel she's gotten exactly what she deserves and all pity rests with those unfortunate enough to be connected to her and thus suffer her consequences. I really wanted to like this author and her series...first thoroughly enjoying Evermore, then feeling unsure after reading the melodrama of Blue Moon, but still willing the author to redeem herself with Shadowland. Sadly, it wasn't even close. It's almost amazing to me that an adult wrote this series...so focused on appealing to the shallow, commercialized, morality lacking, dumbed down current generation of pre-teens and teens. Bottom line, this series is truly not meant to go beyond the 12-15 year old segment of the Young Adult market.

posted by EmSTL on November 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    BOOK STORYLINE SUCKS!

    for anyone out there especially if u have a nook and want to buy this as ebook, please PLEASE PLEASE refrain from doing so!. no return and refund for ebooks!! the story of this book sucks!. this is the most stupid book ever and that character "EVER" is the most stupid character ever written!. i mean seriously, Alyson, how many times can one be stupid enough to make the same mistake over and over again, just so the book could have a twist and get a publish for series 2 & 3?! all the while making us regret ever buying the book in the first place. you could have thought of a better way of making the story run thru without it being or because of the main character's indecisiveness, ignorance and like i always say, - STUPIDITY.. id give it to the author Book 1 of this series was good enough for u to be intrigue and buy book 2. (i on the other hand my bad of buying book 3 thou i havent started with book 2 yet).. but believe me after book 1 - its downhill from there!.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    Addictive in the most disappointing of ways...

    After reading the first book I was not in the least bit interested in continuing to read a series which lacked an admirable, if not bearable female lead. However, my younger sister managed to get my mother to buy the second book and again I was dissatisfied with Ever. Not only did the book take way too long to get to the point and plot, but Ever continued to show that not only was she pathetic but that she clearly has no real understanding of her powers or any common sense for that matter. Now after reading the third book I am thoroughly upset. The story line drags until the last few chapters at which point it becomes rushed. Not only is Ever a weak main character but, for lack of a better insult, she is stupid. If the quality of a book is not up to par, the least an author can do is create a character that is captivating and somewhat intelligent. Honestly, for a girl that can read a book in a touch, with power's of such magnitude, you'd think there would be an actual display of such knowledge at some point in the series. Furthermore, the whole "I'm going to leave you because that is what's best for you" and "I'm so selfish for wanting you to be with me" boyfriend trait is getting played out. Honestly, there wasn't enough Ever/Jude in book action or chemistry for Damen to really feel threatened despite the fact that Jude continues to reappear throughout Ever's lives. If Noel is trying to pull off the whole love triangle thing she needs to do a better job. Having said that I hope that you take this heavy criticism into consideration before purchasing this book, or any in the series.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Shadowland

    I really did not like this book. I mean one of the things i liked about it was the romance and now there is no romance so it is just boring

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrible!!!!!

    What can I say this book is one of the worst I have read in a while. Nothing really happens in this book i'm on page 192 and nothing and I mean nothing has happened seriously don't waste your time luckly i didn't buy the piece of crap I borrowed it from my friend. The books I suggest on the bottom are only if you liked this book, because they are books that I found terrible as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    why?

    this series is such a waste of paper.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    I came across the audio for Shadowland, so I thought I would giv

    I came across the audio for Shadowland, so I thought I would give it another try. However, I didn't find it any better the second time around. I thought the narrator did a good job; I just didn't find the story engaging or entertaining. The narrator was actually a good choice for this book. She had a young-sounding voice, playing up Ever's immaturity.

    Original review September 8, 2011 -
    I had read the first two books in this series and thought they were pretty good…this one I could hardly even finish. I had to force myself to get through to the end to make sure I wasn't missing anything, and nope…I wasn't. Shadowland continued the story from the first two books, but the story did not really go anywhere. It was pretty much the same thing all over again, just being drug out for far too long. I was very disappointed since the series had started out so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Nononononono

    WARNING THIS BOOK IS BAD after reading evermor (not very good) i decided to give the auther a second chance. Ever is stupid and makes such stuppid choices the plot is predictable and people are right to compare it to twilight. Only read this book if its the only one left un the world (actualy write your own book) i found myself wanting to highfive Ever in the face with a brick because of some of the things she does
    This book doesnt deserve the one star im giving it! Ps waste of money if you want to read it that bad go to the livbrairy sorry any thing is spelled wrong... tgypeing fastd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    I cant read it

    I cant read and i purchased it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Purchased and can't read it!

    I purchased this novel with a gidt card i recieved, along with another novel from the series. I was able to read one...but not this one...i'm quite iritated with my nook at the moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The series died here

    I read the first two books in this series and thought they were pretty good.this one was a struggle just to finish. I just skimmed through to the end to make sure I wasn't missing anything, and nope.I wasn't. It was pretty much the same thing over again, just being drug out for far too long. I was very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Torture!!

    Ok so I saw the first one and like 3 of my friemds recommended it to me to I read it and I thought it was lretty good. But then I kept reading and I started hating it. The characters seem soooo unrealistic to me. And I feel the popular crown is totally overdone!! So you can read it if you enjoy torture, but its harsh. To avoid torture, just read Evermore and then STOP, drop the series, and forget about it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    not too impressed

    My 16 year old sister added this series to my Nook as her part of my birthday present from my husband. The first book was great, it had the potential to be the next teenage heartthrob however every book in the series lack a climax or a resolution. every book they venture for the same thing, and in every book it is pulled out of their grasp moments before it happens. I read all of them mostly because they were already on my Nook when I got it but also I had the illusion that it might actually happen this time. Then to top it all off the book just ends, if it weren't for the preview of the next book I would have assumed the last few chapters of the book hadn't downloaded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Lost its appeal

    Ever is the dumbest character ever. She aggrivates me with her poor choices and decision making. First two books were ok, however this book was the last straw for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Sorry to say this but...

    I hated this book! I kind of liked the first book of the series. After that I dug my way through blue moon. I got the rest of the series for christmas. Damen is not a good leading man and it seems to me that Ever is always working to save his untouchable butt. Much too wishy washy I mean seriously,lighten up! My advice to Alyson Noel: Add a few jokes here and there. On the next series don't make the leading man such a jerk and make sure the couple is working together to solve their problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Choose a different series

    I am an avid reader and school librarian. I try to read books that my students might like to read so that when I recommend a book I can give them details that you can only get from reading and you truely do not know what a book is like unless you read it. I rarely do not finish a book because I do not like it. I stopped reading this book about halfway through because I just couldn't take it any longer. I absolutely loved the first book and the second book was pretty good. Like most people, I just couldn't get into this book because it is just the same story with Ever making the same poor and stupid decisions. I do not hold out much hope for the rest of the series and do not intend to waste my money and time on anymore of Alyson Noel's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    I don't think so...

    Everore I loved!! I read it in three days! But Blue Moon was OK, then Shadowland came out...I was disappointed. I think the series should have ended at the end of Blue Moon. I wouldn't buy this, or the next books coming up in the series. Two should have ended up together by now!! Every time they keep getting held back! GRR..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AWFUL

    This book was AWFUL and unimaginative, I have never met a character so irritating, the author needs to improve her writing. I could not even finish the book I was so irritated by it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    By now it has gone on for too long....

    The author is treading the story making it longer and longer. She should at least finish one problem completely and start a new adventure for them. This book could have been combined with Blue Moon to make one book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    No, no, NO!

    I'm sorry but this book was just awful. Everthing just seemed so unbelievalbe and whiney!! I couldn't finish it. Finding out what happened in the end just didn't seem worth it anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4