Customer Reviews for

Shadowland (Immortals Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 1606 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(772)

4 Star

(402)

3 Star

(283)

2 Star

(85)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

amazing but needed more..

this book was long awaited for as a fan of the immortal series. i fell in love with the first two books of the seies and this book hooked me in from the first page. i couldnt stop reading which, in my eyes, is such a good thing. this series has really helped me grow in ...
this book was long awaited for as a fan of the immortal series. i fell in love with the first two books of the seies and this book hooked me in from the first page. i couldnt stop reading which, in my eyes, is such a good thing. this series has really helped me grow in my imagination and is different than all the vampire books that have crowded my bookshelves these past six months. but not to different. the author really capture me with her edge of magic and the power damen and ever retain. but, in my eyes, ever could have been made a little stronger in this book compared the the books that came before this one. i really would have liked to see her grow a little more and come into her own immortal person. also like most (spoiler!!!!) i would have loved to see them find an anedote for their problem but in the end, that is one of the reasons i will buy the next book. i really hope the next one ties up the loose ends that were left. i recommend this book to those who like all of the good vampire books out there and i think they will enjoy the twists that the author provides. my only word of advice is to wait until the next one (dark flame) hits store this summer if you have trouble waiting for suspense from the end of this book that you will most definitly experience.

posted by samSB on November 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

No Longer Interested in The Immortals series

Alyson Noel has officially lost me as a reader with her release of the latest story in the Immortals series. Noel has successfully destroyed any likable qualities of her main character, Ever. Where Ever was once a naive, misguided, guilt-ridden teenage girl who, espec...
Alyson Noel has officially lost me as a reader with her release of the latest story in the Immortals series. Noel has successfully destroyed any likable qualities of her main character, Ever. Where Ever was once a naive, misguided, guilt-ridden teenage girl who, especially after Blue Moon, you feel sorry for, she has now crossed over to utter idiocy...incapable of learning from her past mistakes, pathetic in her lack of any inkling of intuition or common sense, frustratingly full of herself and displaying such arrogance in her "powers" that one cannot help but feel she's gotten exactly what she deserves and all pity rests with those unfortunate enough to be connected to her and thus suffer her consequences. I really wanted to like this author and her series...first thoroughly enjoying Evermore, then feeling unsure after reading the melodrama of Blue Moon, but still willing the author to redeem herself with Shadowland. Sadly, it wasn't even close. It's almost amazing to me that an adult wrote this series...so focused on appealing to the shallow, commercialized, morality lacking, dumbed down current generation of pre-teens and teens. Bottom line, this series is truly not meant to go beyond the 12-15 year old segment of the Young Adult market.

posted by EmSTL on November 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    ...wow...

    Holy crap. That's all I have to say. Alyson Noel does not know how to make Ever a smart character! I loved the first book, Evermore, Blue Moon wasn't too bad, but Shadowlands was depressing! Ever cannot make a right decision and listen to the people she truly loves...it is frustrating. I just hope Dark Flame, her next book, will be better.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Shadowland was an okay book

    Loved the other books in the series, but was a little disappointed in Shadowland. Ever seemed to be rushing around to solve a problem only to create more, and she seems not to listen to advice especially from Damen.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sadly Disappointed

    Evermore was a book I literally couldn't put down. I evewn called into work to finish the book in less than a few hours. Blue Moon was a good book in the respect that it left you hanging and we all know that anything that leaves us in limbo also compells us to highly anticipate the next installment. However, at some point Ever became a little annoying. She used to be the heroine and now she plays the victim all too well. Of course I still can't wait for the fourth book, but I seriously hope it takes a different turn for Ever like she kicks some butt again or something that shows she isn't the wuss I have pegged her to be in Shadowland. Still love Alyson Noel and all her wonderful books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Annoying

    I was a little upset with this book. Blue Moon left me feeling a little frustrated, but I figured Ever would make up for it in Shadowland....She doesn't. Does she ever make good choices? There could have at least been some happy moments, but it was just one bad thing after another. I will finish the series because I want to know what happens, I just hope Ever gets to have some happy time and makes better decisions.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing Installment

    I have to say I was disappointed with this thrid book in Alyson Noel's Immortals series. It didn't live up to the excellence of the first two installments in the series. Alyson Noel seemed to be repeating things she'd already written and it makes you wonder if she ran out of things to write. This book wasn't horrible; it was just mediocre when I was expecting something great.

    First of all, the top two reasons I love this series are the romance and the fact that I really like the heroine and narrator, Ever. This time around, however, Ever came off as a selfish girl who couldn't do anything but whine. Her lack of good judgement and her repeating to make bad choices did not endear her to me or make me sympathetic as it did in the past. After awhile it starts to get old and I felt like screaming at her to make better choices. Her foolishness is ruining all the characters' chances of happiness.

    The romance, you ask? Well it was a little hard for Ever and her immortal hottie, Damen, to have much romance because of the fact that due to Ever's stupid choices in Blue Moon, they are cursed to never be able to touch. The pain this causes these star-crossed lovers is painful, and even more painful to the reader, who starts to get bored.

    There was a new character- and love interest -in Jude, the laid-back surfer dude with magical abilities. This of course, created a love triangle, but it wasn't as interesting as you might think. The story line was definitely lacking and the plot didn't even become clear until two-thirds of the way in. Once it was introduced, things picked up. There was a nail-biting climax and interesting parts about magic and spells.

    Shadowland was decent but not great. I would read it if you don't want to give up on the series. I hope Alyson Noel climbs out of her rut in the fourth book and bounces back with an exciting installment this series deserves.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow.....

    I loved Evermore and Bluemoon but Shadowland was a sad way to continue the story. Ever from my point of view has become selfish and only cares about what is going on in her world. She is never willing to give something of her own to others. She seemed to have changed in this book,which confused me. I only hope that Dark Flame is better and not such a distaster.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    going down hill

    The problem is Ever. In the first book you feel for her and her confusion, but in the second book you realize her stupidity. The finally in the third story shadowland, she is out right a disappointment. She lacks common sense and her character has become extremely annoying. I almost wish she wasn't the female lead in the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Suprised

    When i read Evermore i fell in love with it and couldnt wait too read the other one. But when i read Blue Moon i was very dissapointed.So when i started ot read this book i thought it was going to leave me with a better view of the series. But unfortuantely it was almost as dissspoinitng as the second book. The way the story line and characters are developing is really a bummer and is making me think that i shoulcnt reead the next ones.I still am thought just to see if the series is worth it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    What????

    Ever keeps on making stupid mistakes from not listening to her trusted friends (she listens to her enemy instead, hello?!?!?!?! where is the sense in that???). She thinks she knows everything and instead she makes everything worst. I don't feel any pity for her whatsoever. When I was reading the book I really wanted to choke the life out of her. She is stupid and selfish. Damen isn't better either. I guess they do make a perfect match. Both of them ain't making any sense. I really hope the next book will be a lot better than this. The series had a great possibility, until this book came out. Come on, you can do better. I can hardly finish this book but since I already read the previous 2 then I had to finish this one too. Please don't make the characters act so stupid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's ok

    Shaowland was not good not bad but just ok. The thing I do like about this series as a whole is that they are quick reads. Nothing too much happens in this book though. I do like the character of Jude & can't wait to find out more stuff about him in the next book. I felt she used the word gape way too much it seemed like the only expression that Ever had. Which eventually came my pet peeve in the book. I'm really hoping the next book Dark Flame I think it's called is better. The last 2 books have just been ok. I want this series to make me want to read it not just read it because I've already gotten 3 books into the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    AM I THE ONLY ONE WHO FEELS THIS WAY (PLEASE REPLY)

    Is it just me or are all of her books depressing? Her books make me sad and feel alone while other books make me feel like the characters are my family and friends and I'm having an adventure with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    Amazing...but a little disappointing

    Alyson Noel continues with the 3rd book in the immortals series and being a fan, i was very excited for this book to be the best one yet. There are twists and turns as always in Noel's writing but the synopsis of the book doesn't even come into play until two thirds of the book are over and by the end of the book, Ever is still a weak character. I think all readers are waiting for Ever to be a stronger character and that combined with the other loose strings that STILL haven't been tied makes for an interesting read, but i can't help but feel a little disappointed. Amazing nevertheless and a good read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is starting to dull ...

    The series started off with a bang for me but this third installment started to get annoying. Ever is incredibly annoying now because she keeps screwing things up. BUT the one good thing is that there's a new character, Jude who seems to add a certain thrill to the book. A new love in Ever's life and he seems more suited for her and "good". It again ends with a cliffhanger and I hope that the next book really lets Ever grow up just a little bit and stop being so selfish.

    Don't get me wrong, it's a good series. Just the third installment got a little ... grr.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Some what painful to read

    This book annoyed me. I caught myself rolling my eyes countless of times and putting the book down several times out of pure irritation. One cause being: what did Noel do with Damen??? He was obnoxious and acted like a 40 yr old man and not like the sexy 17 or 18 yr old(can't remember how old he was "supposed" to be) we seen in the prior two books. It had me wishing that Ever would leave him. This is the 1st book in the series, in my opinion, that seemed to be reminiscient of Twilight...a poor rendition at that. Damen is all self-sacrificing when it comes to Ever...going to extremes and taking all of the blame, for everything, upon himself. Oh and now we have a Jacob...oops I mean Jude. Despite the parallels, Jude was what turned this book around for me. Jude is good looking (understated), mysterious, and strangely famiiliar. If it wasn't for him, I would not have finished the book. There are other parts of the book, that I won't detail, that didn't make sense. I was worried about the direction Noel seemed to be going, but I liked the ending. I like the dilemmas she created...very interested in what will happen next.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Ever is such a drama queen

    Love everyone else (gotta admit, i think roman's kinda awesome) but ever omigod stop being so freaking annoying!! The books i love but i hate ever!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Recommened good read

    I have recently started reading this series, and I have to admit I "drank the kool-aid". I just finished the third entry of this series, and I am beginning to become annoyed with the lead character "Ever". Please tell me not all teenagers are beligerent, deceitful,and paranoid. I am starting to not like her, she constantly makes self serving decisions, never thinking about the impact her decisions are making on others.
    I just wish she would think before she acts and stops alienating the people that she should trust. On a positive note, I Love the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Dragging

    I dont really know how to feel about this series... i will end up reading them all, but its simply because i cant start a series without finishing it. These books really drag along and i feel like its the same story over and over... ddamen loves her, she lives him.. but then she does something completely stupid to f everything up... and the antidote? How many books will it take to get this stuff, i mean its getting old and kinda annoying. 3 out of 5 stars bc i enjoyed the book... though i think i like the idea and potential these books have more than the books themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Speechless, in a good way? I'm yet to find out

    the plot is getting WAY too thick to handle! i just downloaded dark flame to my nook and read the overviwew and knew this series was gonna be a page turning never forgetting series or the series i wasted my summer on. Personally i think she belongs with Jude, Not hating on Damen but maybe he really DID belong with Drina and Ever was always in the picture??? Who knows, but definatly won't be getting sleep tonight on finishing dark flame. Overall A good book but absolutely read evermore and blue moon first!!! <3 Jude Forever<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    So far, so good

    I started the series recently. I like the story and find some characters really interesting. I even love/hate Ever, the main character. I don't know if I was that clueless aka dumb when I was younger but she drives me crazy sometimes since she can't seem to see the obvious. But, on the other hand, I love love stories so I'm hooked until the end. Are Damen and Ever going to end up together? Or is Ever going to keep messing up real bad while making me want to crush her chakra and send her to oblivion? We' ll see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    Nothing+to+say

    Ok+so+i+enjoyed+evermorr+blue+moon+i+got+through+loving+the+ending+buti+have+nothin+to+say+about+this+I+cant+say+I+hate+or+intensly+loved+it+so+read+at+ur+hearts+will

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15