BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shadowlight (Kyndred Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Shadowlight is a terrific read

    I've read all of Viehl's Darkyn books and this is the beginning of a related series - #1 in the new Kyndred Series. I really enjoyed this book. I was lucky enough to receive an e-ARC copy and am so grateful that I did.
    I was somewhat confused by the story at the beginning but it is possible that the reason was formatting. The story jumped around from 2008 to 1998 then back to 2008 for the back story and headline type news bits to the "real" story and I didn't follow it at first, but after a chapter or 2 I realized what was going on and it was fine after that. I have a feeling in the final copy these "news stories" sections will have a different font or something that will make the transitions more clear.
    Even with that said, I thoroughly enjoyed the novel. There were a few brief appearances from Lucan & Samantha (Dark Need). These are 2 of my favorite Darkyn characters and I loved the crossover tying the 2 series together.
    This story focuses on Jessa who is living her life basically hiding from her past and not really living. She has a type of psychic power that makes her a target of very power people. She has many emotional battles to fight including deciding who she can trust and love. Matthias takes her away from a planned kidnapping but at the time we don't have enough information to know for sure if he is helping her or just another person looking to use her powers for his own plans. I really enjoyed how Matthias' back story was slowly exposed to us throughout the book.
    Matthias' helpers Rowan & Drew are likeable characters and their stories will be interesting reads in future books. We've already learned Rowan's story will be told in book 2 of the Kyndred Series.
    The ending is "happy" and leaves great unresolved threads to carry into the next book of the series. Only some of the bad guys are eliminated by the end of this story, and there is much yet to discover about where the Kyndred come from and how they relate to the Darkyn.
    I highly recommend this book and will happily continue with the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful New Series Begins

    In Shadowlight, the first novel of the Kyndred series, Lynn Viehl gives an edge-of-the-seat tale with trouble at every turn and people who learn that everything they thought true just isn't. Oh, and along with this, she gives characters that are three-dimensional to the extreme so you can simultaneously see the story from more than one angle, and understand and sympathize with all the heroes, even when some of them think others are the villains. Lynn doesn't deny you a true villain though. The Kyndred have forces arrayed against them that offer both immediate danger and hint at a greater scenario that will become clear as the series develops.

    Shadowlight focuses on a group of people gifted with special strengths. They were mentioned in the Darkyn series, were somewhat crucial to it, but this is not just a continuation of Lynn's take on the vampire legends. Where those books focused on an ancient war between Darkyn and their enemies at the same time as exploring the strife within the Darkyn population, Shadowlight starts out in a place of isolation. The Kyndred are not some secret society that both supports and fights among itself. The Kyndred are an experiment gone wrong and scattered to the winds only to recreate faulty memories bit by bit.

    And that's not the only difference. There is no ancient evil here. If this book is characteristic of the new series, the dangers are much more immediate and driven by modern aims rather than only inherited hatred. Here you have kidnappings, corporate espionage, and the FBI rather than grudges held over the centuries. It's a fresh start in a known world for Darkyn fans, with some familiar faces making appearances. For newcomers, though, Lynn weaves in the necessary details so that this series can act as a standalone as long as readers come in with an open mind. Things in Lynn's world, though they cross over with the traditional, are unique enough that suspension of disbelief is crucial, and giving her that leeway pays back threefold. New readers are likely to discover a world, a series, and an author to delight them for years to come.

    Powerful, absorbing, and compelling.

    I'm a long-time reader of Lynn Viehl's novels, and each one seems to push the envelope just a little more with an end product that is exceptional. Though Shadowlight is listed as a dark fantasy, it reads with the rush of an action thriller, a touch of romance, and of course, paranormal, with a dash of science fiction. I can't wait to see what she does next with this world and this new cast of characters.

    P.S. FTC disclosure: I was given the E-Arc by Lynn Viehl to use as a review copy. My hardcopy has already been preordered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Deimos

    Wairs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Definitely a keeper!

    A wee bit confusing when getting to know all of the players in the story, but well worth the time. Well written! The book had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. Loved the characters and how they all blended together. I am really looking forward to reading the rest of this series. Kudos to the author on her great writing skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    luVv diZ boOk

    yoo im readinqq diz book now so guddd i recommend diz book if u luv paranormal romances

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shadowlight: A Novel of the Kyndred (Paperback) by Lynn Viehl ~ A Review

    I must say upfront that before reading Shadowlight e-ARC, I had not read any of Lynn Viehl's books. So when the opportunity came to read an advanced reading copy...well, I had to take it. I am glad I did.

    The early part of Shadowlight was hard going, a bit jumpy from one scene to the next and I could not 'feel' Min. Then, suddenly, it happened. My mind started putting bits and pieces together and I was hooked. The characters evolved and grew. There was romance and some steamy scenes but not too soon in the book. (too soon and I lose interest, too late and I lose interest ~ always a tippy balance.)

    As for the plot twists, well done. I followed enough on the plot line that I felt comfortable but not so much that I jumped over paragraphs in order to read some fresh part of the plot. Every time I thought I knew what was happening ..whoosh..a turn I did not see came up. Again, well done. And Lynn, I really liked the fireplace brick.

    Let me introduce some characters you are not going to forget for a while:

    * Jessa is one strong woman, smart, fierce and yet still vulnerable. I kept hoping she would not be so stubborn later in the book but then her being stubborn is a part of why I liked her.
    * Gaven is a very tasty guy and romantic in that quiet, strong way. For me, I wanted him to speak with her and tell her the truth upfront but what fun would that be?
    * Rowan. Rowan is one of the best supporting characters I have read in a book in quite sometime. Quite a fierce woman but in a street way that Jessa is not

    My thoughts:

    * I think Shadowlight might be better if you read a Darkyn series book first. This will allow you to get familiar with Lynn's voice and feel only she has.
    * It might be jumpy in the beginning, but keep going...Jessa and Gaven will grab you.
    * An enjoyable read which makes you want to read it again ...to find those clues you missed the first time.
    * Now I have to buy the Darkyn series...oh darn!....more books to read...*smile*

    Debra Saturday ~ blueheroncreek.wordpress.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lynn Viehl provides her fans with an even more complex realm in her latest enjoyable urban romantic fantasy

    Jessa Bellamy is a highly regarded job recruiting consultant. Her success is due to her special skill of being able to touch someone and journey into the SHADOWLAND where she learns the dark side of a candidate that they hide from an interviewer. She hides her ability, but also knows there are other Takyn like her.

    GenHance CEO Jonah Genaro has learned of Jessa and tries to kidnap her. He wants to use her as he has others in an experiment to create a race of supermen via gene manipulation; no one has survived his tests. Mattias rescues Jessa; insisting he just wants to keep her safe, but he has secrets that he conceals from her while Jonah wants her back and some unknown adversary prefers both dead.

    Expanding the world of the Darkyn with a SHADOWLIGHT into the Kyndred, Lynn Viehl provides her fans with an even more complex realm in her latest enjoyable urban romantic fantasy. The story line is fast-paced and filled with plenty of suspense as Jonah plots to harvest Jessa's DNA while Mattias plans to protect her though he also has other secret plans for her. With a strong lead couple and a terrific in a macabre sense villain, SHADOWLIGHT unveils a dramatic thrilling twist.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't Put It Down!

    Seamlessly transitioning into the next arch of her Darkyn universe, Lynn Viehl starts off her Novels of the Kyndred series with a sharp, sexy entry that focuses on the genetically altered children of the Kyn known as the Kyndred.

    Unbeknownst to the Kyn- templar knights cum vampires, introduced in her first seven book series- twenty odd years ago, a shadow group began experimenting with mixing the blood of the Kyn with humans to create a super human race who is neither human nor vampire. Orphans nobody wanted, the children are eventually adopted out and few of the products of the blending are aware of what they truly are because their powers are only fully activated after they die.

    Shadowlight centers around Jessa Bellamy and mysterious man we later discover is a prototype of the Kyndred- a creature far older than the Darkyn themselves. Gaven Matthias has made it his business to collect and protect the Kyndred ever since he awoke from a deep freeze he labored under for thousands of years. When Jonah Genaro, ceo of GenHance, a leading biotech company, targets Jessa, Matthias snatches her before his arch nemesis can capture her first.

    Jessa has no clue who she is anymore, let alone what she is. She only knows that ever since a tragic accident, she has a special gift that frightens her- one that enables her to read the dark shadows of a human soul. When a gorgeous stranger rescues her from an apparent attack, she doesn't know who to trust.

    Having only herself to trust for so long, she's wary of the strange man claiming to be her rescuer. Determined to escape him and the odd attraction she feels toward him, she focuses on getting away from the underground fortress she's imprisoned in, while topside her world is turned upside down by the man who would stop at nothing to get his hands on her- and her gift.

    When she finally realizes that Matthias is who he says he is, and that her very life is threatened by GenHance, the two team up- along with the motley crew Matthias has collected to aid him- to protect other Kyndred out there. But first they must stop a misogynist monster- and a former employee of GenHance- who blames Jessa for his recent troubles.

    Meanwhile Jonah Genaro quietly works behind the scenes to advance his own designs- one that started two thousand years ago at the end of the Roman Empire and I suspect will not end till the Kyndred come into their own.

    Viehl takes the best elements of her Darkyn novels, pares them down, and spins her world into a whole new direction. Smart and darkly sensual, Shadowlight begins Viehls's new series with action, suspense and a dash of mystery and moves the Kyndred closer to the paranormal romance genre than the Urban Fantasy that marked the Darkyn series. (A smart move, because her sexy tortured heroes cry out for a happily-ever-after every time!)

    Her way of hooking a reader with tantalizing peeks into the ancient world and tying them to modern menaces is what sets her novels apart and makes them stand out from the rest of the pack. I simply couldn't put Shadowlight down once I started!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lovin' them Kyndred

    I loved Shadowlight. It is a continuation, or a prequel of sorts, of her Darkyn saga. Here, Ms Viehl had the task of telling a story with enough detail to satisfy those that have not read the Darkyn series. To achieve this, she brought in characters from previous novels, and slipped in the origins of the Darkyn and their connection to the Kyndred. And for her diehard fans, she brought in a new aspect to the theory that the Brethren (the Darkyn's worst enemies) created the Kyn. By telling of the first Kyndred, a Roman Commander from the first century, this theory was dispelled. Now there is a new villain for both to fight. IMO, by hooking up pairs of Kyndred, the resulting new generation will give the Darkyn hope for their continued existence. And for any Darkyn fan or newbie, the lovin' will thrill any Romance junkie's heart. Can't wait for Rowan's story. This girl should have her dreams come true after all she has been through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Shadowlight e-ARC review

    Shadowlight is the first in a new series featuring the Kyndred, genetically-modified humans with special powers who first made their appearance in Viehl's series on the vampire-like Darkyn. But initially in that series their existence and special nature is hidden and unknown although as the Darkyn series progresses more hints and pointers to their existence, origin and nature are revealed. Now, in Shadowlight, the Kyndred take centre-stage.

    It begins with the untimely death of a young woman, Minerva Starret, on the first day of her new job. After her death, the story resumes ten years later with another young woman Jessa Bellamy who runs a consultancy firm which carries out background checks on prospective job candidates for other companies. Jessa's business success is in no small part due to an unusual talent: when she touches someone she goes into shadowlight and "experiences" wrongful or guilty secrets they may have. She attempts to keep her talent secret but despite her efforts, other parties become aware of her existence and special ability and she soon becomes a target as other groups seek to capture her for their own purposes. She is abducted by one of these groups led by a man named Gaven Matthias.

    The story unfolds as Jessa tries to escape, and elude the various groups pursuing her, and as she contends with a growing attraction to Matthias and must decide if she can trust him and his group.

    Interwoven with Jessa and Matthias' story, the narration of a 2000 year-old mystery concerning the uncertain end of a Roman general on an ancient battlefield is recounted through archaeological findings of ancient manuscripts or inscriptions. The (fictitious) historical tie-in was another thread I enjoyed in the story.

    Viehl's gift for strong and compelling story-telling is manifest in Shadowlight.
    I found the Kyndred characters more accessible and sympathetic than the Darkyn because of their down-to-earth nature and bare-bones existence which contrasts with the Darkyn's slightly too fantastic, wealthy and flamboyant lifestyle.
    The Kyndred's struggle for survival and security and their efforts to help others of their own kind with less in the way of resources than the Darkyn make them more admirable characters. Matthias, in particular, is very attractive with his stoic control and strength, his patience and sense of honour.

    Shadowlight is definitely a keeper and one I'll enjoy re-reading many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Deeper - Wider - Fuller: the Darkyn continue to fascinate

    Deeper into the world of the Darkyn. Wider views of their various talents and relationships. Fuller development of their beginnings and the threats to their survival. That is where Lynn is taking her loyal fans in Shadowlight - A Novel of the Kyndred, to be released October 6, 2009.

    Although preceded by seven best-selling novels of the Darkyn, Lynn's latest supernatural romance/thriller is plenty strong enough to stand alone, with new characters and plot twists marking the existence of a more complex world of Darkyn than the one I already knew. The fast-paced plot picks up speed and heat as Min and Matthias battle first each other and then the most deadly enemy the Darkyn have ever yet known.

    Rowan, their friend, sparkles so brightly in her scenes that she nearly steals their show. It is a good thing that Lynn has already written a book just for her, and I got to read the ten page preview today. Pre-order, here I go again - Dreamveil is scheduled for publication in June, 2010.

    Meanwhile, I have Shadowlight to ponder, and to read at least once more, before then. Another five star from Lynn Viehl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WhOooOohOOOOoOOoOO!!!!

    I sooOOoOOoOOoO can not wait either.
    Darkyn series are the BOMB.
    Bring it on Ms Viehl- we are ready for another book of yours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    CAN'T WAIT

    ok i know its weird to write a review about a book that you have not read and its not even out yet but i truly love Viehl's Darkyn series(thabks to my wonderful friend Sam;who got me hooked on then and who's probably reading this now and laughing at me)But I'm sure this series will be as amazing as the Darkyn series. It'll be filled with action and tons of romance which makes this books enjoyable for women and men! I hope everyone likes it as much as i know i will.(I can totally tell that we're going to talk about think at school Sam lol and I know you're probably still laughing at me lol)
    well, hope everyone likes the book. I CAN'T WAIT!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2