BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shadowrise (Shadowmarch Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Personal Opinion

    I have to take a long look at how I think about Tad's work each time it comes out. I'm generally biased as biased can be - that's because I'm Tad's business manager/partner/co-conspirator (means shared breath) and, erm, wife. So you can count on me to be enthusiastic about Tad's work.

    But it's a really fine novel. The writing has a crystal clarity. The adventure is suspenseful and gripping. The characters, especially ones like that evil bird Skurn and (whilst we're on the subject of evil) Matty Tinwright's mother, just kill me.

    And I'm amazed and fascinated by the survival of the princess, Briony, in the most vicious and deadly of circumstances. It's watching the evolution of a queen. Did you know she's based in part on the young Elizabeth 1?

    Last word: read the first 2 of the Shadowmarch novels if you need to, but think about reading the synopses here and just going for it, if you haven't read Tad before. Tell me it *that* doesn't work for you! @mrstad

    Thank you, B&N, for letting me enthuse all over this page.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Never underestimate Tad Williams!

    I'm a previous huge fan of Tad from his Otherland series which is beyond amazing, but I always stayed away from his strictly fantasy novels. So finally I picked up Shadowmarch which is the first volume of this series (probably because I liked the cover art) and gave it a shot. It took me a little while to get into it because of all the different characters but before I knew it I couldn't put the book down and couldn't stop thinking about all the characters long after I stopped reading. I especially love Briony who's incredibly strong, intelligent, and completely frustrated with the limitations and bias that women have to deal with. It's something that I deeply relate to even in present day 2010. I'm always deeply moved when a man can write a women the way Tad did, because I usually have very little faith that men have any interest in strong intelligent women who are not throwing their sexuality in everyone faces. Anyway, Briony is only 1 of the great characters and the whole story line is fascinating and absolutely amazing. I am greatly anticipating this next book and I must say if you haven't read Tad's Otherland series pick them up NOW!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tad Williams has created a great storyline that adds much to his enthralling epic fantasy

    Southmarch Castle is eyed by two opposing groups while its rightful ruler King Olin Eddon is taken hostage by the ruler of Hierosol. Hendon Tolly has become de facto ruler of Shadowmarch, but he failed to trap Olin's twin children Barrick and Briony The Autarch of Ixix kidnaps King Olin and they travel to Shadowmarch Castle for his own diabolical purposes.

    Barrick is entranced by the fairy (Qar) Yasammez and goes behind The Shadow Line where the Qar live in perpetual twilight. He has a mission to perform for her but he has many obstacles to overcome and enemies to deal with as he travels across the fairylands. Briony travels to Syan where she is treated as a royal. She hopes to obtain enough support to return home with an army in order to dispose Tolly. Prince Enas is enchanted with Briony and she starts to have feelings for him which makes it impossible to use him and his army in to further her schemes.

    The Qar surround Southmarch Castle until Yassammel orders the attack. Under the castle lies the city of Funderling Town populated by humanoid beings that are cousins to draws who live with and fight for the Qar. Briony is accused of treason, but escapes while the Autarch of Ixix reveals his plans for King Olin which if they come to fruitation will allow him to be a god but he must he triumphs over the Qar, the Funderlings and an unexpected army friendly to Shadowmarch. Several warring forces converge all claiming a kingdom as theirs.

    The third Shadowmarch saga (see Shadowplay and Shadowmarch) continues where SHADOWPLAY leaves off so it behooves newcomers to peruse those tales first even with a strong synopsis to remind readers what previously happened. Tad Williams has created a great storyline that adds much to his enthralling epic fantasy as several rivals are going to Southmarch Castle. Yet with plenty of sprawling action, the characters, especially the twins, drive the story line forward to the cliffhanging ending to be continued in SHADOWHEART.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    With it's deliberate pacing, slow unveiling of the deeper myster

    With it's deliberate pacing, slow unveiling of the deeper mysteries, and
    fitful advances of the plot, this is hardly what one would describe as
    an all-consuming read . . . and yet, no matter how many times I put it
    down, it was never long before I found myself itching to take it up
    again. A far more languid read than the first two volumes, this is also
    the first instalment where we really begin to get a sense of what is
    going on in the realm of Southmarch and beyond. All the various tangled
    threads begin to come together here, hinting at deeper meanings, yet
    never really coming right out and declaring the story's intentions. As
    it always the case with Tad's books, the writing here is stellar, with
    the dreamlike scenes beyond the shadowline more powerful than anything
    I've read in recent years. The dialogue is crisp and clever, and the
    theology/mythology is wonderfully detailed. Even the minor characters
    stand out on their own, instantly recognizable no matter how little page
    time they receive. Part of me wants to rail against Tad for choosing to
    split this final volume into two parts (with Shadowheart concluding
    things), unnecessarily drawing out the story, and dragging us through a
    novel that's as much set-up for the end as it is movement towards that
    end. The other part of me, however, is perversely thankful for the
    prolonged climax and the chance to spend a little more time in his
    world. Don't get me wrong, this is no Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn, but it
    is Tad Williams, and that means it's epic fantasy of a higher calibre.
    Had this been any other author, I likely would spend more time singing
    it's praises, but Tad has created such expectations that I (perhaps
    unfairly) feel the need to nitpick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Christopher Paolini talks about Tad

    Deborah Beale here (Tad partner & wife): we recently received this rave review from Christopher Paolini, and I thought I would take the liberty of posting it here. "Tad Williams is a huge inspiration for me. He's one of the main reasons I started writing fantasy. His books are epic, exciting, and filled with fascinating characters. When it comes to inventing imaginary worlds, he's as skilled as J.R.R. Tolkien and Frank Herbert. "Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn is one of the great fantasy epics of all time. I can't even remember how many times I've read it. It kept me so enthralled, I plowed through the last book in just one sitting! Here be magic, dragons, sprawling battles, thrilling feats of derring-do, ancient mysteries, hidden secrets-all the things a good story needs. These are the books, along with a few others, that led me to write Eragon. "Otherland is an awesome sci-fi story. The scale of Tad Williams' ambition and accomplishments as a storyteller in this series is amazing. He weaves together so many characters, locations, and unique worlds, you can't help but be impressed! Also, with Otherland Tad predicted the rise of the internet and online gaming long before it was invented. "Tad Williams' work is an essential part of any science fiction and fantasy library. I look forward to each new book he writes. If you like exciting, thought-provoking fiction, you owe it to yourself to give Tad a try. "His books are thick enough to stop a bullet! I know!" - Christopher Paolini

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    The series keeps getting better!

    I have been looking forward to volume 3 for a long time and although it was to be the last volume I am not unhappy that Tad Williams had so much to write there will now be a fourth volume in October. All the characters remain interesting and the Tad Williams has been able to sustain the suspense. Unlike other similar stories in this genre, Williams seems to have resisted the current trend towards a darker vision; the lead characters have not unexpectedly or unnecessarily died (although they remain in jeopardy) nor have they been rendered unlikeable. A great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    One of the best Heroic saga since the lord of the ring

    I read a lot of fantasy already and was a bit bore about this kind of stories. Tad Williams brought me back with this fantastic serie. The Shadowmarch series is one that comes the closest to Tolkien's philosophy : Williams develops this world entirely, from the religions to the personnalities of each character. I think he succeeded to overtake the genius of Tolkien because his writing is easier to read and no one in his books is bad because they belong to an evil species. The purpose of each character is explained (if you read them all :D) and be carreful to every details because they'll make sense later !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All fiction should be this rich

    You have to be patient with tad williams

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    A Fine Third!

    Tad Williams takes us even deeper into his original fantasy series. It easily tops the first two installments, and takes you on a spectacular fantasy journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3