Customer Reviews for

The Shadows (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great book

Great book you wont want to put it down!!! This book is intresting I'm 10 and this is the best book I have ever read!!!

posted by 10394217 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A million times...

I have read this book a million times it's so good. You will fall in love with Olive's story. The characters, plot And action will keep you from putting the book down. I reccomend this book for anyone looking for a good mystery book.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great book

    Great book you wont want to put it down!!! This book is intresting I'm 10 and this is the best book I have ever read!!!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    strong haunted house mystery

    The Dunwoody family move into a fixer upper Victorian mansion left vacant when elderly Ms. McMartin died. Eleven year old Olive finds the house odd, but her mathematical minded parents see nothing out of the ordinary starting with the inability to remove the strange drawings from the wall, but upon a closer look she sees things moving inside the paintings.

    Looking around the house, Olive finds glasses that she puts on for fun. Instead of blur, she realizes she enter the pictures and travel in a realm that sort of looks like her natural one, but seems shadowy and too quiet to the stunned tweener. Horatio the cat warns her not to stay too long in their world and never lose the glasses if she is on this side of the frame. Olive also meets raging Morton who claims he is from her side of the divide, but was thrown into the picture world because he knew too much. As she learns more about the house and its contents, Olive fears something evil wants to keep her silent in order for her not to reveal what the darkness wants to do to the light.

    With illustrations from Poly Bernatene enhancing the strong haunted house mystery, Jacqueline West provides an exhilarating middle school age tale. Fast-paced, young readers will want to join courageous Olive as she investigates the goings-on inside the painting world and the house, but is unsure who to trust with her growing concerns especially in light of her parents thinking logically that she is playing make believe.

    Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    What a great book

    Are you looking for a book that you cant put down?well guess what? this is the book it is very addicting and it is a great summer read! I am 11 years old and i thought that this book was very good for pepole who like adventure it is more of the wow that is so awesome than the same old same old.. i would recommend the book of elsewhere the shadows to many pepole who like action, a jaw dropping mystery ,and a good adventure . I gave this 5 stars because of how well rounded everything is. Every kid can read read this book and enjoy it . This is one of my favorite books and i hope it will be yours next!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    If You Like Creepy with a Mysterious Air

    My friend and I both read this book, and we really liked it. You could't tell what was going to happen, and it made everything super scary. The author is really good with descriptions, something I myself do not excell at. It was a good read, perfect for Thanksgiving break. And if you're looking at the cover wondering why that girl is wearing such weird glasses, they're not hers. You'll understand when you buy. :-) And personally, I think Olive is really pretty. Without the glasses. :-)

    Reviewed by: Lauren Kellie

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    I WANT THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

    I haven't gotten this book yet ( :( ), but I did get it from my school library! I'm on Chapter 17 and so far, it's the BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) I TOTALLY recommend this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    A Book of Mystery

    My son loved this book and once he read the first page, he was hooked. We have already purchased the second one and are going to give it to him for his birthday!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    GREAT

    OMG this book was amazing i would read it when ever i could i just couldnt put it down

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    This book is a very mystery and good kid book! Thank you for letting me read this book!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Get it now

    So good i have it its a strong book for young and adult readers get it now

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    The The Best book ever

    This is one of the best books ever! I also read the second one witch is also reeeeeaaaaaalllllyyyy good! YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Hi!

    I read the book last year and I could not take my mind off of the book. Every time I finished my work I'd turn it in and immediently take it out and put my nose in it. Before I read this I was always nervous about scary stuff but Jacquline made me not stop like she put a spell on it to make me never stop reading it. I highly recomend this book. Bye!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Nice Horror Story for Kids If you're looking for a horror sto

    A Nice Horror Story for Kids

    If you're looking for a horror story that doesn't have teenagers having sex in the middle of the woods while a machete-wielding maniac is about to kill them, then The Shadows is a safe title to scare your children without turning them into teen parents or traumatize mental patients.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Awsome

    Awsome book love the rest of the series also!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Great book!!!!!!!

    I loved this book. It is filled with mystery and adventure. I would definetly reccomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    This Book

    This book is really good i read when i have time im 11 and i love books now

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Omg

    This book is awesome has a lot of omg moments and you will not stop reading it i love this book however it is a little boring at the first then at like chapter 2 it is great one of my favorite books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    ?......

    I am only on chapter two of this book and so far it is pretty good. I have heard lots of things about this book so hopefully this book does not dissapoint me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Friendly Reviewer

    OMG. If you don't like this book you are really cookoo. Especially the last 70 pages. It was so good ,I didnt want to put it down. GET THIS BOOK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Awesome



    Read it ..... it so awesome ages 7to 17 if you like mystery and adventure this is the perfect book for you!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    good or bad?

    good is the right choice, I think the book was very good. If you like the candymakers or any of the Rick Riordan's books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6