BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Shadows (Books of Elsewhere Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great book

Great book you wont want to put it down!!! This book is intresting I'm 10 and this is the best book I have ever read!!!

posted by 10394217 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A million times...

I have read this book a million times it's so good. You will fall in love with Olive's story. The characters, plot And action will keep you from putting the book down. I reccomend this book for anyone looking for a good mystery book.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    my favorite book ever!!!!!!!!

    this was my fvorite book. it has everything most people want in a book. when you are reading it you do not want to stop. it is trilling and a fun read. i injoyed it very much. jacqueline west is one of my all time favorite authors now. i cant wait tilll the rest of the serise comes out!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Must read

    Lepold and harvey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Spa Sparkle555

    Even though these books are awesome and you should totally read them i need to talk about something else. I told this i told i told this really cute guy that i have a crush on him and he didnt respond so i just walked away. Hes not avoiding me but were not hanging out like we used to. Im worried that i might have just ruined our whole friendship! Please help me!!!! :( also these books are really great



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    Excellent writing I am an adult, and this is my most favorite m

    Excellent writing

    I am an adult, and this is my most favorite middle grade book since Harry Potter. Jacqueline West is a brilliant author. Her characters , dialogue, world building, and scene setting a beautifully flawless. I love authors who do not write down to children but produce beautiful books even parents can enjoy. My heart races while joining Olive on her adventures. This should have been a 10 book series.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    REALLY COOL ;D

    I think the book is amazing its like a combination of the magic half and harry potter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Must read abso Must read !!! My type of book!!

    Im that tween that loves books and this book was amazing .
    This book had me on the edge of my seat . I couldnt put it down . Is a mix of new old fright discovery mystery and trust .

    I

    DARE

    YOU

    TO

    READ

    IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Anyone wanna be my friend

    Email adress and let me borrow his book. Wanna be friwnds

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Awesome book.

    This is an amazing book, i said that if there was a sequal i would get it. I recommend this book to 3-5th graders to read gge book and the sequals

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No

    Omg my friends said that this was the worst book tgey ever read i loved it i couldnt put it down im reading the second oh now beacuse they are so good!!!!! If u dont like this book you are a noob lol bye :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Orange sandwhich turtule

    The best fricking book i have read in my life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Anonomose

    This book is amazeing its a very edge of youre sear book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Read this

    Has anyone read the kirkus review for this book? It is total crap, all of it. I am a fiercely loyal Elsewhere fan, so take my word for it. This is a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Loved it

    Love it super fun to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    This is a very good book! I could not put it down (I admit I eve

    This is a very good book! I could not put it down (I admit I even read it while brushing my teeth.). Thankfully the second book was already published by the time I finished reading this! This book shows how friends can appear in odd places (and they don't always have to be human!) and how even an 11 year old can be as brave (or braver) than an adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    $wagtastic

    I love it It's SO interesting!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Anonymous

    This book is really good I read it for battle of the books and it is the best one yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    PuffyKittens

    Well i havent read the book yet,but all ive heard is good stuf fabout this book so read on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    The best

    Iread this book 3 times and it never got old. This is a book that you just can't put down, and if you like this then you should read the whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Please read my rewiew

    This book is great! Highly recidem it to cat lovers, mystery book lovers, art people, book worms, people who believe in magic, and people who haved or are going to move! I heart the books of elsewhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    An amazing book

    This is a well though out book and well done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6