Customer Reviews for

Shadow's Claim: Immortals After Dark: The Dacians

Average Rating 4.5
( 257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olso

Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

*ARC received from the author in exchange for an honest review

Shadow’s Claim was an amazing blend of the best of the IAD series. It included some of my favorites of the Lore and overlaps beautifully w...
Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

*ARC received from the author in exchange for an honest review

Shadow’s Claim was an amazing blend of the best of the IAD series. It included some of my favorites of the Lore and overlaps beautifully with the timeline of the last release, Lothaire.

Unlike other ‘spin-off’ series that I’ve read recently, wherein the plot of the debut book picks up where the last book of the previous series left off, Shadow’s Claim takes a subset of characters and actually happens in parallel with the events of Lothaire. This was made even more enjoyable when the timelines mesh at the end of the book.

Our hero and heroine: Trehan and Bettina are phenomenal together and easily worked their way into my top 3 IAD power couples. Their journey is intense, riddled with emotion, sexy as sin, and full of surprises. I loved how it wasn’t a foregone conclusion that things were going to work out and give us that “Happily Ever After” that we expect from Paranormal Romances, and I actually wondered if Kresley might make us wait for Book #2 to find out what would ultimately happen.

The world: The realm of blood and mist was magical and complex, and Shadow’s Claim was made even more intricate by the fact that it took place in several different locales. Kresley painted the set beautifully with her descriptive prose, impeccable timing, and enthralling character interaction.

Overall story: The book was chock full of danger, intrigue, action, and romance. The multiple twists and turns that were introduced made things fabulously unpredictable and extremely entertaining.

Some of my favorite things...
1) Simply put, the depth of Trehan! It was completely mystifying, and he may very well have become one of my favorite PNR heroes. Yes he’s a ruthless, detached assassin, but he’s also a somewhat vulnerable, bookish introvert. He shows indications of being a closet romantic, an art aficionado, and a loyal family man, and somehow manages to perfectly balance being an uber alpha male with having a surprising and wonderful soft side.

2) The fact that Bettina’s entire future hinged on the outcome of a gladiator style life and death tournament was unique and made for high anxiety reading. It also paved the way for some very interesting little surprises that Kresley introduced, as well as some wonderful dialogue.

3) The supporting characters were solid and felt necessary to the story. I found myself finding favorites among them outside of our leading couple and hoping that we find out even more in future releases. In addition, we get cameos from some great IAD veterans and more storyline on a couple that were only briefly mentioned before, therefore making me yearn for the future releases because there is just so much potential with these characters in play.

All in all, LITERAL ADDICTION gives Shadow’s Claim 5 Skulls and would recommend it to ALL Kresley Cole IMMORTALS AFTER DARK fans.

While I don’t think it’s 100% necessary to read the entire IAD series before reading Shadow’s Claim, I do feel that having done so made Shadow’s Claim more enjoyable. Reading Lothaire before Shadow’s Claim was a definite plus. With that said, IMMORTALS AFTER DARK is an incredible series and should be devoured by paranormal romance lovers far and wide, so take the plunge and get lost in the Lore. You won’t be disappointed! :)

posted by LITERALADDICTION_MLO on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't get into this book compared to the rest of her IAD se

I couldn't get into this book compared to the rest of her IAD series. The heroine was whiny and unimpressive to be the Bride to such an exalted male. He was making all the sacrifices and she still had something to cry about. I was disappointed with this book after waiti...
I couldn't get into this book compared to the rest of her IAD series. The heroine was whiny and unimpressive to be the Bride to such an exalted male. He was making all the sacrifices and she still had something to cry about. I was disappointed with this book after waiting so long to read it.

The author's storytelling pattern has become predictable. Guy finds Bride, Bride is unwilling, Guy goes to hell and back trying to win her, Girl refuses Guy, The Misunderstanding, The Resolution where girl deigns to forgive Guy for something amazing he did out of love for her anyway. *sigh*

I'm afraid Lothaire's story spoiled me. The heroine was such a badass! The story flowed nicely and I was actually surprised by the twists and turns. I love that book. I realize they can't all be that good, but I don't see how it makes sense to throw us some crying immortal girl who can't seem to deal with life, after having read about a mortal who at least tried to take her destiny in her own hands at almost impossible odds. Just saying.

posted by Leli on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olso

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

    *ARC received from the author in exchange for an honest review

    Shadow’s Claim was an amazing blend of the best of the IAD series. It included some of my favorites of the Lore and overlaps beautifully with the timeline of the last release, Lothaire.

    Unlike other ‘spin-off’ series that I’ve read recently, wherein the plot of the debut book picks up where the last book of the previous series left off, Shadow’s Claim takes a subset of characters and actually happens in parallel with the events of Lothaire. This was made even more enjoyable when the timelines mesh at the end of the book.

    Our hero and heroine: Trehan and Bettina are phenomenal together and easily worked their way into my top 3 IAD power couples. Their journey is intense, riddled with emotion, sexy as sin, and full of surprises. I loved how it wasn’t a foregone conclusion that things were going to work out and give us that “Happily Ever After” that we expect from Paranormal Romances, and I actually wondered if Kresley might make us wait for Book #2 to find out what would ultimately happen.

    The world: The realm of blood and mist was magical and complex, and Shadow’s Claim was made even more intricate by the fact that it took place in several different locales. Kresley painted the set beautifully with her descriptive prose, impeccable timing, and enthralling character interaction.

    Overall story: The book was chock full of danger, intrigue, action, and romance. The multiple twists and turns that were introduced made things fabulously unpredictable and extremely entertaining.

    Some of my favorite things...
    1) Simply put, the depth of Trehan! It was completely mystifying, and he may very well have become one of my favorite PNR heroes. Yes he’s a ruthless, detached assassin, but he’s also a somewhat vulnerable, bookish introvert. He shows indications of being a closet romantic, an art aficionado, and a loyal family man, and somehow manages to perfectly balance being an uber alpha male with having a surprising and wonderful soft side.

    2) The fact that Bettina’s entire future hinged on the outcome of a gladiator style life and death tournament was unique and made for high anxiety reading. It also paved the way for some very interesting little surprises that Kresley introduced, as well as some wonderful dialogue.

    3) The supporting characters were solid and felt necessary to the story. I found myself finding favorites among them outside of our leading couple and hoping that we find out even more in future releases. In addition, we get cameos from some great IAD veterans and more storyline on a couple that were only briefly mentioned before, therefore making me yearn for the future releases because there is just so much potential with these characters in play.

    All in all, LITERAL ADDICTION gives Shadow’s Claim 5 Skulls and would recommend it to ALL Kresley Cole IMMORTALS AFTER DARK fans.

    While I don’t think it’s 100% necessary to read the entire IAD series before reading Shadow’s Claim, I do feel that having done so made Shadow’s Claim more enjoyable. Reading Lothaire before Shadow’s Claim was a definite plus. With that said, IMMORTALS AFTER DARK is an incredible series and should be devoured by paranormal romance lovers far and wide, so take the plunge and get lost in the Lore. You won’t be disappointed! :)

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    I couldn't get into this book compared to the rest of her IAD se

    I couldn't get into this book compared to the rest of her IAD series. The heroine was whiny and unimpressive to be the Bride to such an exalted male. He was making all the sacrifices and she still had something to cry about. I was disappointed with this book after waiting so long to read it.

    The author's storytelling pattern has become predictable. Guy finds Bride, Bride is unwilling, Guy goes to hell and back trying to win her, Girl refuses Guy, The Misunderstanding, The Resolution where girl deigns to forgive Guy for something amazing he did out of love for her anyway. *sigh*

    I'm afraid Lothaire's story spoiled me. The heroine was such a badass! The story flowed nicely and I was actually surprised by the twists and turns. I love that book. I realize they can't all be that good, but I don't see how it makes sense to throw us some crying immortal girl who can't seem to deal with life, after having read about a mortal who at least tried to take her destiny in her own hands at almost impossible odds. Just saying.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enter a world familiar to fans of Immortals After Dark and Kres

    Enter a world familiar to fans of Immortals After Dark and Kresley Cole's seductive, enthralling approach to the paranormal. Shadow's Claim ventures into the swampy demonic plane of Abbadon and the hidden vampire kingdom of blood and mist - Dacia. With its lovable characters that hail from the darkest realms, Kresley's latest paranormal romance is surely one to keep readers' attention till the last page is read!

    Shadow's Claim opens with intensity as readers are introduced to Princess Bettina in her most vulnerable moment. The pain of her brutal attack, made by Sorceri enemies called Vrekeners, is only the tip of the emotional range readers will experience throughout Bettina and Trehan's story. Bettina is half demon, half sorceress and the only heir to the kingdom of the Deathly Ones. Though she doesn't believe she'll ever truly belong, she agrees to become Queen following a tournament to the death that will decide who will be her husband, and King. The Prince of Shadows, Trehan Daciano, lives a life of routine: unemotional, non-breathing, deadly routine. As the sword of his kingdom, Trehan makes sanctioned kills to enforce the law. His latest assignment leads him to Abbadon and straight into the arms of his one, and only, Bride.

    Trehan and Bettina are a surprising couple that will not only shoot passion through your veins, but will also tenderly touch your heart. I first made judgement on Trehan based on the novel's summary, zoning in on 'ruthless master assassin' and 'savage need'. I expected him to be a raving, mindless lunatic with a very possessive nature. While Trehan does exhibit possessive tendencies when it comes to his Bride, he totally disproved my initial theories. For a vampire with a dark reputation, Trehan was thoughtful, reliable and the utmost gentleman; his tempting and truthful characterization impressed more than just Bett! Kresley has most amazing ability to build a strong, confident hero while keeping him a little off-balance and not so perfect. Trehan exhibits doubt, but he's still the hero of every woman's dream. Bettina's story is easily relatable, even when it come to matters not related to her heart. The fear that embedded into her mind since her attack and loss of power hinders her movements. Through the course of the novel Kresley not only realistically empowers the young royal, but also provides a message to real young woman who may struggle through a dark period of their own.

    Pulling myself away from how compatible Trehan and Bettina are, with each other and with readers, a note must be made of Shadow's Claim's unique setting. I appreciate the mix of the modern and archaic worlds. Bettina's passion for arts led her to the modern mortal world for college while back home on Abbadon, and other realms, life moves slowly through old-fashioned speech and traditions. At times I had to remind myself that the story isn't a historical fiction because of some character's dialogue, but I liked the jolt from a modern reference that reminded me of the story's actual time.

    Just at the moment I was looking for this quality of fate, action and romance Shadow's Claim fell into my hands! This paranormal romance is engrossing and unexpected; Kresley manages to pull laughs and tears from where I didn't expect to find any. If there were any way to introduce The Dacians, Trehan and Bettina's story is most definitely the way!
    *Copy of book provided via author in exchange for an honest review*

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    There was absolutely nothing likable about Bettina. This book w

    There was absolutely nothing likable about Bettina. This book was the worst of all. Had trouble getting through it, struggled through the first half and ended up just reading through the dialogue to speed things up

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Shadow¿s Claim is the beginning of a new series (The Dacia

    Shadow’s Claim is the beginning of a new series (The Dacians) but fits somewhat into the Immortals After Dark world that she has created. Trehan, our hero, first shows up in Lothaire as a cousin to the Enemy of Old. He’s mysterious, deadly, and likes to lurk in the shadows. Not the best hero material, but my goodness was I wrong.
    We’ve met Trehan before but our heroine Bettina was new. Bettina, a half sorceri/half demon child of royalty, is young and poised on the precipice of gaining her power as Queen. However, just shortly before gaining immortality she is attacked and nearly killed by her family’s mortal enemies. In an effort to protect her and ultimately her future kingdom, a fight to the death is arranged for worthy males to help her find her husband.
    Where does our unhappy assassin fit into that dynamic? On a mission to kill a demon who had entered the mysterious land of shadows, Trehan encounters Bettina. As you can imagine, he is shocked when he finds out she is his bride (mate). So what happens when a sheltered princess, who by the way may or may not already be in love with a different demon who is totally unworthy of her, falls for a mysterious assassin vampire who has never loved in his life?? Shadow’s Claim delves into all of that and so much more.
    This title has it all. A handsome and complex hero, a strong heroine coming into her own powers and being, a tumultuous romance, heart stopping action and a completely satisfying ending all come together to create a wonderful start to a new series and add new dimensions to the already diverse IAD universe. All I can say is that I’m already counting down the days until the next release.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    I'm a huge Kresley fan, but I was disappointed by Shadow's Clai

    I'm a huge Kresley fan, but I was disappointed by Shadow's Claim. I read Kresley because I don't like the typical romance novel female main character. Usually she writes smart and capable female characters, but not so in Shadow's Claim. Bettina was whiney, immature, and so dependent on Trehan to figure herself out. Ultimately it was hard for me to actually want for her to end up with Trehan because he was likeable. The best parts of this book were the teasers for Thronos and Lanthe’s story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    4 1/2 stars.

    Half off for Bettina and Cas. Wimpy, wimpy, wimpy. Whiney, whiney, whiney. And a great big Vicky Secret drop for Trehan! YEE-HAW! Love me some Dacianos!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If I had to pick my favorite author of all time it would be Kres

    If I had to pick my favorite author of all time it would be Kresley Cole. I love the Immortals After Dark series, from which Shadow’s Claim is spin off, and have been looking forward to this book for months.




    Shadow’s Claim is the first book of The Dacians. The Dacians are the mythical vampires of Dacia. They are so secretive and protective of their home that nobody in the Lore knows for sure if they even exist. Trehan is the sword of Dacia, that basically means that he is the prince of the assassin line of the royal family. He is a cold, detached killer going through the motions of life but feeling nothing. It’s a bit of a cliche in the paranormal romance genre but it works well in this book.




    Bettina is the half-demon, half-sorceress princess in the Demonarchy of Abbadon, the home of the death demons. Bettina is next in line to the throne of the Demonarchy. She is broken and disheartened after being attacked and almost killed. The most devastating part of that attack is that they also stole her power. I was sympatheic to her and liked her most of the time, though some of her actions and decisions did make me want to strangle her.




    What I love so much about Kresley Cole’s books is that they have a really strong paranormal plot as well a steamy romance brewing at the same time. It’s what I expect with her books and I wasn’t let down with Shadow’s Claim. I loved the storyline of an immortal tournament open to all members of the Lore. Such a wide variety of paranormal creatures battling for for the right to rule Abbadon and marry Bettina was exciting. I also loved the guest appearances from familiar favorites like Lothaire & Elizabeth, Sabine and my favorite Valkyrie, Nix.




    The romance between Trehan and Bettina was good. I really liked Trehan and was pulling for him to be the winner of the tournament. The guy sacrificed everything to be with Bettina, how can anyone not adore him!? The one-sided love Bettina had going with Caspion got old quickly. I can understand loyalty, but Bettina was blinded by it and that led to a lot of my frustration with her. As much as she annoyed me, it did make for an interesting romance. My only major issue with the book was Bettina. I kept thinking she would eventually take responsibility for her actions and make a genuine gesture proving herself worthy of Trehan. She never did enough to win me over. I ended the book loving Trehan and only tolerating Bettina.




    Despite that, it’s a great book and this series is definitely worth reading. I recommend it to readers who like a steamy romance with a strong paranormal element.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    It was alright, lacked the same Kresley Cole commentary from ear

    It was alright, lacked the same Kresley Cole commentary from earlier novels but thats probably because Nix only showed up briefly as did Lothaire. Humor was limited but I did like the new Dacia characters. Still waiting for Lanthe/Thronos novel (which will probably be in fall 2013)and of course Nix (but thatll probably be the last one, not sure if I want it to end!). All in all, a good read but nothing worth reading over again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Oh how i loved this story. I enjoyed how it seemed to take from the last book and continue on with the new characters. I look forward to the next book. The characters are addicting and leave you wanting for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    I have read all of the books on this series and i have loved every one! Can't wait fot the next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    A GREAT NEW SERIES!!!!!

    Kresley Cole delivers yet another devilishly handsome and cunning male along with a gorgeous and relatable female. I had to fan my myself a few times from how steamy things got. I can't wait for thr next book in the series!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    i truly enjoyed this book, hopefully i wont have to wait long fo

    i truly enjoyed this book, hopefully i wont have to wait long for the next book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    must read

    steamy sexy romance. this book is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    amazing

    amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Stonepelt

    Pads in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    Love this author and love all her books. I loved this story and

    Love this author and love all her books. I loved this story and the characters almost as much as Hunger like no other. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Riveting!

    So much fun to read. Sad when it was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Great story

    As always, Kresley Cole delivers with great characters, story line and humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Wrong title below meant people who love her immortals after dark will enjoy.

    I did want to add like a reviewer befor me it dragged a bit in the beginning i too owned it quite some time. But really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13