Customer Reviews for

Shadows From the Past

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Dagger is at res three instead

    - Dagger

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Excellent story!

    Ashley Dawn is a fantastic down-to-earth author. I read this one and then found her next two books and couldn't put them down either! I can't wait to see more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this book very much! It was really well written.. good

    I enjoyed this book very much! It was really well written.. good suspense .. made you keep moving forward because you needed to know the explanation! It also had a very positive message woven throughout! It was nice that it had some romance & chemistry but done very cleanly & respectfully! But there was no denying the connection, which was great!! I look forward to finishing the second book to learn even more about this amazing family! Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Clean and Enjoyable

    Is it possible to change God's will?

    Aurora watches in disbelief as a lone gunman fires at her beloved brother. Unable to help him, she sinks into a pit of despair and loneliness, turning her back on everyone that cares for her. Including God.

    Faced with some tough questions, like is it okay to keep living, is she betraying the dead if she doesn't find his killer, and is it okay to love again when she feels so very unlovable, follow along as she manages to remember that God is the One Who is truly in control and yes ~ life is for the living, and is not to be confused with forgetting. Life is a gift, and with the help of FBI agent Jordan, she will learn a most important lesson.

    A good, clean and fulfilling read that I enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Christian Fiction Mystery/Suspense - a must read!

    Aurora Kavvan, an LAPD officer, shuts herself off from everyone that loves and cares about her. She blames herself for her brothers death. She has even stopped praying and talking to God. How could God let this happen to her brother? It is like she has no right for happiness or forgiveness. Everyone must blame her. That is what she is thinking and instead of facing them with her feelings and opening her heart to God she puts up a wall. It is harder to forgive oneself than it is to forgive others.

    When she is faced with death threats and a friend/partner ends up seriously injured, she is thrown back into her ex fiancee, FBI agent, Jordan Reiley's life. Not as his girlfriend but under protective custody. He protects her not only because it is his job but because he is still in love with her. But she still has a wall up between her heart and everyone else including him.

    The author spins a good tale of suspense. I can normally figure out who the secretive bad person is but not in this book. I thought I had it figured out several times. This was definitely a good mystery to the very end. It was hard to put the book down. I am so glad I can jump right into books 2 and 3 in the series which are availabe now in ebook.

    I highly recommend this book if you enjoy good mystery/suspense.

    I rate this book a 5 out of 5

    Disclosure:
    I received a copy of this book from Lightning Book Promotions. I was in no way compensated for my opinion on this book. These are my own thoughts and opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Christian suspense

    Reviewed By Lynn For Readers Favorite

    'Shadows from the Past' by Ashley Dawn is a Christian suspense story of a woman police officer who, while working undercover, is also trying to find her brother's killer. "It's the price you pay for being a cop" as Aurora Kavvan watched her brother Lance gunned down before her very eyes. Not only did she lose her brother that night but her faith in God as well. As her dreams continue of that fateful night her partner Joe knows the only thing to do is pray for her for God to release the demon that is antagonizing her over her brother's death which she feels was her fault. With her partner being shot at, reuniting with her ex fiancé, Aurora realizes what she almost lost and that she still loves him and her faith is still there. She just has had it all hidden. As we follow the journey of Aurora through her memories and dreams we are taken back to the past up to the now as we watch love and faith return to Aurora's life.

    This was a book that I enjoyed reading. The elements that I like are all combined into one, Christian-based undertone, suspense and sweet romance. The book does tend to have quite a few flashbacks through dreams or memories, but if one keeps in mind the story line one will not get lost between the past and the now. I connected easily with the characters in the book and their faith. I think what I got out of the book as I read was that no matter what adversity comes upon the person or what tragedy befalls them, as long as one keeps the faith, God will handle it and turn the situation around. From the beginning to the final chase I found this book to be a delightful read. It is well-written with a touch of humor at times. Ashley Dawn is a new author to me and I will be looking forward to the book two in the Shadow Series. Recommended for all who like a clean written, Christian-based suspense book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Danger and Romance

    Aurora Kavvan is a police woman who can hold her own. But when her brother is brutally wounded right before her very eyes, even she can't quell the dreams that come back to haunt her. Her feelings of guilt coupled with a need for revenge drive her to alienate those she loves the most, including her fiancé Jordan Reiley.

    Jordan hasn't given up on Aurora, though. When her brother's killer begins threatening Aurora, Jordan is there to protect her. Not only is their love rekindled, but Aurora finds that her faith is restored as well.

    Shadows From the Past by Ashley Wintters is straight up romance. Although it does contain action, suspense and murder, these elements seem secondary to the emotional turmoil the estranged lovers must navigate. Sometimes it felt like their inner musings went around in circles more than once as they struggled to rebuild their relationship, but it was still quite satisfying. Also, we are introduced to Jordan's extended family with a hint that there will be more coming from the Reiley clan in future novels. This was an aspect of the book that I especially liked, since it was faintly reminiscent of Dee Henderson's 'O'Malley' Series. I look forward to what is next in line from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great contemporary suspense with inspirational undertones

    Will "Shadows From the Past" keep Aurora Kavvan from having the love of God and a special man in her life?

    Aurora, a LAPD officer, has witnessed the murder of her only brother, Lance. Being shot with her weapon, she blames herself totally for his death and convinces herself that she is unworthy of her fiance, Jordan, in the process. 5 years later, her brother's case still unsolved, her partner, Joe, gets fired upon as he is protecting her at a stakeout. She was the target!

    As her partner recovers, Aurora is reunited with her past love and through attempts on her life and running around for safety, she finds that the love she felt before for him and her faith in the Lord are still there. Follow their journey as they discover how love and truth will prevail in the end.

    Generally, I don't read much in this genre of books, but I can say, I really enjoyed this one. The storyline moves very quickly and smoothly, very much like all the criminal shows on tv, which I also enjoy. I, also, enjoyed the characters in this story and the touch of inspiration that they conveyed added a very nice element. Showing hope and faith in the face of tragedy was a very good underlying theme!

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good criminal fiction story that is contemporary with an inspirational undertone.

    This book was kindly provided to me by it's wonderful author for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A past that casts a long shadow

    Ashley Dawn's Christian suspense novel, Shadows from the Past, tells the present predicament of a young LAPD officer investigating a drug lord while absorbed in the lonely search for her brother's killer. Aurora lost her faith and hope the day she lost her brother, and neither her partner's prayers nor former-fiancé's promises can bring her home. The fiancé works for the FBI and his brother's in the CIA. They'll all work and pray together with various partners and friends before the story's done.

    Aurora's past is told in long sequences of dreams, memories, and conversation, with details appearing slowly over different retellings. Details of the present arise slowly too, from Aurora's familiarity with guns to her obsession with leaving shoes around the house. The dialog is fun and natural though internal thoughts slow it down with long digressions. And the action's fast, though slowed again with flashback and descriptive detail.

    Shadows from the Past is an interesting story with fun characters and a turning back to faith that arises suddenly from the shape of love. The shadows shift like curtains in the wind, sometimes overly heavy and dark, and sometimes flitting away seemingly forgotten. Neither quite as wounded nor as cured as she might be, Aurora switches from fear to confusion to strength, each step slowly considered and mused over, till the conclusion, a frantic chase, and a final joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    A new twist on Christian fiction.

    I am a consultant with little to no time on my hands. I bought this book upon recommendation from a friend, and could NOT put it down. I seriously stayed up from 10 to about 2 one night until I had finished the whole thing. Highly recommended. Hopefully there will be more from this author! God bless - CL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1