Customer Reviews for

Shadows Return (Nightrunner Series #4)

Average Rating 5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    :)

    The best so far! It was amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dungeons and Dragons and Wizards, Oh My!

    I am a great fan of the Night Runner series. They all have been, not only a great tale that keeps you coming back for more, but the brave and to be applauded, author allowing the primary characters to be Gay, in todays tight minded social restriction era, adds a wealth of reality to the story. The only reason I did not give this book 5 stars, was that I really got tired of the dungeon. It seemed to go on and on. Rather than being part of the book, it was the book. The ending supprised me a bit and was thoroughly enjoyable. I eagerly look forward to "The White Road"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great follow up for the series!

    This book had a lot of twists and turns in it. I couldn't put it down, and read it all in like 12 hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Still a Great Story Line

    I read this book in a week and loved every minute of it. The author still has the ability to create a great story with our favorite characters and can still put them through hell and back. Definitly not for the light at heart or younger audiences. Can't wait for the next novel!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    Outstanding - Cant wait for Book 5 'The White Road'

    Book 4 is GREAT, EXCELLENT, - a top top read. The main characters 'Alec, Seregil, Thero, & Micum)are all superb. Sebrahn is also going to be another great and loveable character within this series. I love the Nightrunner books and have read them all at least 3 times and now I can't wait for book 5 - The White Road - to be published. Lynn Flewelling is an excellent author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific fantasy

    Alec and Seregil have returned to their home base of Rhiminee, a Skalan city. Both look forward to some R&R as depraved drunken aristocrats. However, both know they are on call by their Queen Phoria who uses the duo as operatives so they can only get intoxicated So much. ---- Phoria informs her agents she has a job that is of the utmost immediate necessity. She wants them to return to Aurenen, Seregil¿s hometown that they just returned from, to bring home her Highness¿¿ half-sister. Instead they are abducted and sold separately into slavery. Their hopes of rescue and freedom dim by the moment especially Alec, whose master experiments with his half-human/half-Aurenfaie slave. ---- The return to the Flewelling universe (see HIDDEN WARRIOR and THE BONE DOLL'S TWIN) is a winner as the two heroes struggle to survive in the alchemists¿ world in which ethics are similar to that of royal espionage as anyone else is expendable because the pseudo scientists rationalize it for knowledge. Fans will appreciate their joint and separate escapades as Seregil and Alec, especially the latter are in deep trouble in this terrific fantasy thriller that can stand alone, but is enhanced by the other tales in the Skalan saga. ---- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    Far Better Than Expected

    With most book series, the writer produces an excellent first book and many disappointing sequels. That is not the case with Lynn Flewelling...so far her books in this series have only gotten better. The characters are consistent, but grow from their experiences like real people. The villains are not all the same. They have differing mannerisms, behaviors, and motivations. Mardus and Yhakobin, though both Plenimarans, are definitely not the same (as sometimes seems to happen with villains). I actually thought this book was better than some of the others, and was happy (though not surprised, given the circumstances) that Thero and Seregil finally seemed to be getting along. I can tell that Sebrahn is going to be a lot of fun to read about in upcoming books. I can't wait. This whole year of waiting is going to be agony!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3