Customer Reviews for

Shadows Still Remain: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent solo debut, interesting character

    I like De Jonge's writing better than Patterson's or any of their collaborations. This novel was interesting, well-paced, and thoughtfully written. I hope he develops the character of OHara. I would like to see more of her in future novels. He does a good job of writing about a female character. Not too many authors can do that well. I like that he converts NYC into another character. The sense of place, and the contrast between the homes of the rich with the seedy bars and slums is very well featured. It reminds me of the novels of Dennis Lehane and Gabriel Cohen, where the location is as pertinent as the character and the plot. Good job, and I hope we will see more of his writing in the near future.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ditch James Patterson, keep writing on your own

    Pick up the bargain book Shadows Still Remain by Peter De Jonge; you won't be sorry. This who done it is tautly woven with well worked out surprises up to the end. The plot is cleverly constructed. It's a page turner that keeps you wanting to know who and why. The ending is shocking. Very well written. I enjoyed the female protagonist. I'll look forward to more DeJonge novels written alone. Well worth the $3.99 bargain.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An entertaining and impressive beginning of a new-crime fiction series

    If the name Peter de Jonge sounds familiar to a reader, it's because it has appeared next to the mega best-selling author James Patterson's name, and credited as co-author of several best-sellers such as "Miracle on the 17th Green", "Beach Road" and "The Beach House". "Shadows Still Remain" is his first novel written without collaboration with Mr. James Patterson. It is an impressive debut.

    After a night of heavy drinking, when Francesca Pena, a beautiful teenaged NYU student disappears, the case is assigned to Detective Darlene O'Hara. However, when Francesca's battered body is found in East River Park, the missing person case is suddenly transformed into a case of homicide, and the case is taken off Detective O'Hara's hands. Unwilling to let go of the case, O'Hara, a single mother and tenacious, continues her investigation privately and uncovers a hidden facet of Francesca's dark, secret life at an escort service and a strip club also.

    The setting of the novel - the Lower East Side of New York, with is narrow, shadowy streets, tiny bars, tattoo parlors, boutiques, and small parks, create a bewitching and interesting back ground. The story is fast paced. And full of unexpected twists and turns, the plot becomes more complex.

    With the second book featuring Detective O'Hara now in progress, Peter de Jonge has created a bright new crime fiction series. I found the book well-plotted, well-written, fast-paced, gripping and highly readable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    Nice

    Fine debut. Will purchase next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Kiddies

    PAD OUT TO ALL YOUR LITTER BOXES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Seriously good

    Enjoyable to the very last plot twist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Anonymos

    I wish you deranged "cat" people would find a life, you'r all sickos. Use your facebook or twitter to masterbate. You wierdos

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Shadows still remain

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Goldheartlight

    Pads in with her kits.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Some cats are locked out.

    Burnout and co. As well as some others. Plz move.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Very good read

    Well written, great characters. Also read and enjoyed Ave B. This is my new favorite series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Hunter

    I'm going to KILL you ALL! YOU KILLED PRINCESS, AND STOLE OUR KITS!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Pikachu

    No.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Angelwing

    Okay. *carries lilackit & birdkit there*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    A shafow

    Stays still.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Dewkit

    A white shekit with amber patches wobbles in. Her tail is tipped with amber. •{{•Dewkit•}}•

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    To kits

    You must go to smiley face res one to seek true love and care

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Fallkit

    Hi looks around the new camp

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Honorblaze

    Applestar?!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Marsh of Mystery

    A foggy marsh exists outside of ShadowClan's territory. Those who come here later report of seeing strange things, such as trees moving or rocks sliding. Are they illusions? Decide for yourself....

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3