BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shadows & Voices; A Holly Silverstone Adventure

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I received this book from the author for an honest review. A re

    I received this book from the author for an honest review.

    A refreshing fun story about mystery, magic and a little bit of homework too! I know my girls will love it! I always enjoy reading YA/kid books with my children and their friends so we can have discussions about the different stories - this book is a definite on the must read list. It is an easy read that doesn't get too dark or complicated for young readers to understand. I love how the author has the adult characters in the book always being reassuring and supportive towards the young people as well as having a touch of humor too! Laughter is a definite balm when facing dark shadows! That and a good cup of tea!

    Holly is a normal inquisitive girl with a little something special who uses her own common sense to solve problems, face her fears and even solve a mystery or two along the way. All this while starting a new school that has doors that I wouldn't mind having in my own house! She reminds me so much of my own daughters, albeit I hope they don't go off and get involved with what she does! I can't wait to see what Holly gets up to next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you liked JK Rowling's Harry Potter then you will LOVE Jason

    If you liked JK Rowling's Harry Potter then you will LOVE Jason Ellis' Holly Silverstone! Holly is a young girl just learning about the Unseen world called Obscura. She always wondered why she could see certain things that no one else could and why she always felt a little differently. Now, she has been accepted into a school that specializes in the different but extremely extraordinary world of Obscura. During her first week at her new school she meets a tutor that intrigues her. When the tutor goes missing Holly decides to investigate and enters a world of intrigue, mysteries, and danger. Pick up Jason's Holly Silverstone today and you will not want to put it down until you reach the end and when you do you will most definitely want more. I know I did! I can not wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Shadows and Voices (A Holly Silverstone Adventure….) By:

    Shadows and Voices (A Holly Silverstone Adventure….)
    By: Author Jason Ellis

    I have to say that I went into reading this book with a little trepidation…..Not for the book or author, but because I sometimes can be a scardy cat, LOL….But this is on time that I am so happy to be wrong, sonrisa….
    The depth of the Characters one “Mortel Peritus” and his name with a really scary meaning, caught my attentions from the beginning…..Then I fell in love with how “Author Jason Ellis” Time Stamps his way throughout this journey for us, as he’s writing and even further peaking our interest……
    Then Character Two “Marianne Shroud”…..a powerful force in her own right and a companion, rather welcomed or unwelcomed…..a companion none the less. As she experiences “Mortel Peritus’s” realized status…..(Author Jason Ellis) continues drawing us in through the dynamics between “Mortel and Marianne’s” fragile bound, forged over decades….through to the anticipated deception that gives “Marianne” clarity once more……
    “Author Jason Ellis” brilliantly eases his readers through to the next time stamped journeys, onto his next character’s “Stephen and Gareth” (brothers) and “Bill and Geoff” (neighbors)…..on to the very last story and characters.
    Ellis’s visuals, truly not only opens up these terrifying journeys for his readers…..he leaves them truly wanting more, and completely satisfies their need for more…..
    Ellis’s book is an exceptional smorgish Borg of quaint and powerful short stories, which will definitely draw you in. Satisfy your curiosity and stun you time to time with wondrous tales of horror, with the sense of the mythical.
    A must read for anyone looking for a flavored smorgish Borg of scary tales…..

    Reviewed by: De Ann “Native” Townes Jr., Author of “Peer Inside My Soul and See Me” (NOTE: Received a copy for reviewing)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Amazing plot twists, fantastic character development, stellar wr

    Amazing plot twists, fantastic character development, stellar writing and a superb storyline adds depth and richness to this fabulous book. As soon as you think you’ve got things figured out, something unpredictable happens. Although it’s aimed at younger readers, this book grabbed me from the first chapter and wouldn’t let go until I was done reading it. I can’t wait for the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    I was gifted this book for review, and I truly enjoyed it. Sha

    I was gifted this book for review, and I truly enjoyed it.

    Shadows and Voices starts off with the tale of with The Beast of the South-East. Children and adults have seen this unexplained beast and the tale has been going around forever.
    Then Holly a young teen gets a letter from a school which is only blocks from where she lives called The Highlands. What she doesn't know is it is a magical school until she goes there for a interview. Soon after she gets a letter in the mail from the school. When she starts school at The Highlands, she is intrigued by everything especially knowing there is a unseen world called Obscura inside of a normal world. She also meets other teens there that she has known. As Holly starts school she finds herself into a mystery that needs solving to help a tutor out and her adventure begins. This book is for everyone, but it is for the YA genre.

    I enjoyed reading about Holly and the magical unseen world Obscura , one of my 2 favorite parts were when Holly received the "blank letter" in the mail and after a few seconds words started to appear. That was pretty magical. The other part was when she received her school book and it actually "talked" or should I say wrote back to her. I can not wait to read book two in this series because I see Holly discovering more amazing things in the unseen world, and helping out in more mysteries. Plus I do not think we have seen the last of the unknown man who has the final skill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is a little complex, in my opinion, but in a good way


    This book is a little complex, in my opinion, but in a good way. It goes into great depths of information. I found myself having to take a moment from time to time so I could retain the information in the first half of the book. This is a book that you must take your time with to insure you know everything that is going on in the timelines of the story, it will be worth it in the end. The author makes sure to give great details of everything leading up to the part where the seen and unseen world collide. The story doesn't revolve just around Holly, she does play an important role in this, but it is more about the world she lives in and the unseen world she didn't know existed until now. Once Holly is invited to become a student at Highlands Academy, some of the unexplained starts to make perfect sense to her. This is where she meets Ovissa Slater, whom also plays a major part in this. Let's just say that Ovissa has her own style of teaching, a more of a out of the classroom, hands on approach. Each character and event play important parts to this magical journey. You will just have to read the book to find out what adventures take place. I look forward in finding out what situations Holly and Ovissa get themselves into next, but most importantly, if they can get out of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Adventure waiting to happen

    Right from the beginning of this story, I was into it. An old tale as everyone thought it was, The Beast of the South-East, was going around for years. Children see things unexplained and hear noises as well that are unexplained. The beginning of this story works on children’s over active imaginations of monsters. Holly has received a note that only she can see it asking her to come to Highlands, a school for gifted children. The school is one that only allows certain children in and teaches them about unseen world called Obscura. She sees there are a few students and knows some of them. It’s a world of magic for her. Holly has become friends with her geography teacher, Ovissa Slater. Ovissa is an investigator most of the time and she and Holly have a connection. Ovissa disappears and Holly is determined that whether she breaks the rules or not, to save her or to lead the Embassy to find her. But will she find her in time to save her or put herself in more danger? Mr. Ellis did a wonderful job with keeping me locked into this story. He will be an author I will follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1