Customer Reviews for

Shadows and Light (Tir Alainn Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    <3

    I bought this book.

    Shadows and Light brings readers back to a world of witches, magic and fae, and a growing evil that threatens them all.

    By this book in the series readers know that the witches are really the descendants of the House of Gaian and that when a witch dies, slaughtered by the evil minions of jealousy and twisted magic, the tether to the magical fae land of Tir Alainn is broken and that part of the fae realm is lost.

    This book strays from following the witch Ari as a primary character and instead travels with Aiden, The Bard, and Lyrra, The Muse, both exiled from the fae by Dianna and Lucian's rage, as they try to convince the rest of the fae to save the witches to save their world. This volume also introduces new characters; Brianna and Liam, half siblings struggle to deal with each other as well as the evil creeping into their land; Ashke and Padrick, fae, and human world baron and baroness as well; and a collection of humans, fae, witches and other who are finding themselves forced to choose sides. Each character is compelling and interesting and likely could carry the story on their own. Combined it leads to an epic, large scale feel as readers form a solid picture of Bishop's world.

    Most interesting is Morag, the Gather, Death's Mistress, the one fae with the power of life and death which sets her apart even from the other fae. It also puts her in the position of being the only one who can stop the rotten core of the Black Coats' evil.

    This volume also introduces the western fae, who never forgot their roots like Lucian and Dianna have and whole towns where fae and witch are synonymous with neighbor and friend.

    Lyrra and Aiden are trying to make the adjustment from the eastern fae and their exile, to the western fae, who are guarded not because of the Bard and Muse's intent but because of the reputation of the eastern fae. They set out on a search for the mysterious Hunter. He may be the only one with enough command and power to counter the damage Dianna and Lucian are doing that threatens to split the fae into their own civil war.

    Again Bishop spins a fantastic world, rife with beauty, humor and danger, and populated by fleshy characters struggling to do what's right. The heroism aspect in this volume is its only potential flaw. Despite the glory of Bishop's world there is a very clear cut line between good and evil and characters fall on one side or the other, though some don't realize the full extent of their actions.

    The Tir Alainn trilogy remains one of my all-time favorite reads and has, several years after its release, stood up to repeated reads and still delivered a highly enjoyable reading experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the second book in a trilogy. The first book is Pillars

    This is the second book in a trilogy. The first book is Pillars of the World. This book continues where the first one left off, The Bard and Muse are doing there best to convince the Fae that the witches need to be protected and The Black Coats need to be stopped. Ari and Neall have settled into married life at there new home. But The Black Coats are continuing their mission, of destroying women and witches a like in the East, making moves also in the West. New allies are introduced, including the Fae that could change everything for the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend this second book in the Trilogy

    The story is very well written and descriptive. I can imagine the characters and the places were they live and work and play and the places of pure enjoyment along with the music and the terror the witches face in this story and how selfish the Fae really are. This book will keep you hanging until you get the next one. Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another outstanding hit in this trilogy.

    This is a truly wonderful and epic fantasy adventure. Taking the perspective of multiple characters gives the story a whole breadth of adventure and makes the story all the more interesting. The whole trilogy reminds us of the importance of everyone within the world and of respecting our world and appreciating it. Give back what we take and do no harm, those are the mottos promoted in Anne Bishop's three books. The second book presents us with more characters and more people impacted by the changes happening in the world of Tir Alainne as we follow primarily Lyrra and Aiden - the Bard and the Muse - as they travel the Human world in search of help for the witches. This book makes a wonderful rainy day read - I finished it in one good, a must read for any fantasy lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Second Book in Trilogy

    From past experiences, the second book in a trilogy is usually pretty boring. Not the case with this book. I actually enjoyed it more than the first. There were even parts that just made me laugh out loud. I highly recommend this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Great Series

    I loved these books! Anne Bishop is great! If you love fantasy read these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    Good Book!

    This book was very good also. It's story was excelent and the scenery was great. I did find it to be a little slower than Anne Bishop's other books, but it is still worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    An average read

    Anyone who's read the Black Jewels trilogy would be a bit disapointed, because s/he would know that Bishops writing can be much better. If you haven't read them and don't have the high expectations, you'll most likely enjoy the books in this series. They're written well; the main problem is that the plot goes slowly and seems repetitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2003

    It's alright.

    I haven't read any of Anne Bishop's other novels but if they are better than this one, I'm sure I'll like them. Shadows and Light is not the best book I've ever read, but it is very well-written. Bishop is a talented author who should know better than to leave her readers feeling the way they do when she switches scenes. That's my only real problem with the novel. Other than that, there's a great plot with enthusiastic characters to be loved. I would recommend reading this book if you've run out of things to read but not before other certain books listed below. Overall, it's just alright.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Sci-Fi/Fantasy addict

    I am sorry to say that I was sadly dissapointed with this book and series. It is a pale imitation to the Black Jewels Trilogy. The characters and plot...I just wasn't feeling them. I thought they were poorly composed. I know Anne can write better than this, the BJT proves it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    I want to read the next book!

    I liked this book. I feel very comfortable with the characters. Usually, I don't feel that way until the third time I read a novel. Anne Bishop is very talented. I feel like rereading her books within a week of reading them. I really hope Lucian and Dianna change in the next novel, I liked them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    vivid fantasy world

    It is the witches across the land that anchors the roads that lead to Tir Alainn, the home of the fae. The Inquisitors say the witches are evil so they drive them out of their homes or kill them. Every time that happens a piece of Tir Alainn disappears. The fae, for the most part, are arrogant creatures and don¿t want to believe that anything in the human world can affect them. <P>The Inquisitors also believe that women are second class citizens whom should be under the domination of their fathers or husbands and it is believed their rights should be taken away from them. They have made headway in the East and are trying to extend their influence in the west. Aiden the Bard and his mate Lyrra the Muse understand the threat to humans and fae but nobody will listen to them. They must find The Hunter, the one member of the fae that every other fae will heed and convince him to help save the witches or Tir Alainn will be no more. <P>Anne Bishop has created a vivid fantasy world and populated it with creatures from legends and myth. The story line is deep and complex, with many sub-plots tying back into the main theme. SHADOWS AND LIGHT is a beautiful fantasy novel that will keep readers turning the pages until they reach the end of the tale. It is to be hoped that the final installment in this great series will be out soon. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4