Customer Reviews for

Shadows in Flight (Ender's Shadow Series #5)

Average Rating 3
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worth the wait!

If you've followed Car'd ender series and his Shadow series then it shouldn't be any surprise that this book will not answer all the questions about the final outcome but then as Card himself has said it wasn't meant ot be. I enjoyed the way Card continues the series in...
If you've followed Car'd ender series and his Shadow series then it shouldn't be any surprise that this book will not answer all the questions about the final outcome but then as Card himself has said it wasn't meant ot be. I enjoyed the way Card continues the series in this short novel. In this novel we follow Beans 3 childeren that he has taken with him in his quest to lengthen his life due to the giantism disease he was born with due to Antons key being turned. The three children with have the same genetic problem so he has taken to space at relativistic speed in order for the cure to be found on Earth. The happen to stumble on an ancient Formic Arc. They decide to board the ship and what they find may surprise even the hardcore ender fans. This is a perfect set up for the final book. (Shadows Alive - no release date set yet) It will be interesting to find out how Card will be able to tie both series together. Anyway he does should be worth any wait. I strongly suggest that if you are an Ender/Bean fan at any level you read read Shadows in Flght!

posted by tiver01 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Not the full text!!

Beware! You are not looking at a full text version of the book. It is abridged, hyperlinked and illustrated. I feel like I've been had.

posted by 10669216 on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Didn't realize this wasn't the "real" version until af

    Didn't realize this wasn't the "real" version until after finishing it. Unsure about weather to read the full version now that I know what happens. Feel cheated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Beware - if you order the Nook version here, you're still gettin

    Beware - if you order the Nook version here, you're still getting the "enhanced" edition (i.e., much shorter than the print version). When are Nook readers going to be able to get the full text version of this book?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Loved it.

    It may have been too short, but I loved it. Unfortunately, it leaves me with wanting more.. I look forward to Shadows Alive.

    I really want to see the Shadow timeline join with Enders timeline.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Simply Delicious!

    Good.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Is this Part One of Two?

    When I read my first Orson Scott Card novel, Ender's Game, I learned to like Ender and his sister Valentine. As I read more of the series (Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide, Children of the Mind, Ender in Exile), I learned to love the characters. Then I began to follow the timeline of Ender's friend Bean in the series of Shadow books: Ender's Shadow, Shadow of the Hegemon, Shadow Puppets, and Shadow of the Giant. In this series I learned to love Bean and Petra Arkanian. When I bought Shadows In Flight I anticipated a book that would tie together all the loose ends left dangling from both Ender's timeline and Bean's timeline. I was a bit disappointed because I was left with more questions than answers. I did, however, learn to love Bean's young family as I learned to love Ender's family before. If you decide to read Shadows In Flight to learn the final outcome of Julian “Bean” Delphiki's timeline in the Ender Universe, you, too, may be disappointed. This story follows Bean and three of his children into space where they hope to find a cure for the genetic defect that is killing Bean in the prime of his life. What the small family finds instead is an Earth-like planet and an alien space ship. They encounter life forms never seen before in Card's novels and learn to communicate with them and live together for a period. The end of the book left me asking questions and wanting more. The end seemed like it was only the middle of a book rather than an end. When the next book about Ender's universe is released, Shadows Alive, I will be more cautious as I read it and make no assumptions about it being the end. After all, the universe goes on forever, doesn't it? Regardless of who loves, lives or dies, the Universe goes on forever.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    what happens next

    Bean has become a giant, because of his genetic switch having been turned; three of his children have inherited the genetic abnormality. In order to save them he has left Petra and the children without the gene on earth, to wonder the galaxy in sub light travel, to enable the government to find a cure for the children. He knew he could not survive the journey but at least he can give his children all his love and attention. Carlotta, Ender, and Sergeant (Cincinnatus) have missed out a lot on childish things, although they remain quite small their intelligence is vastly above the norm. They have learned to use technology and the equipment on board the ship to a greater extent than Bean would ever have predicted. Now the children are faced with an abandoned Hive ship that seems to be under some control as it hurtles through space. Can they overcome their size, lack of teaching, and the formidable problem of the Hive ship, and their father’s fatal illness, to find some sort of truce with their long embattled enemies? His book is an interesting format for the Nook reader, and contains pictures as well as text…

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    3 stars

    3 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Frre ipad

    Kiss hand the n post this on three seprerate books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Don't get this version.

    As others have saif, highly abridged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Important Highschool Updates

    Priscilla is the Cheer Captain, and the manager of the care in the court yard, and Logan is the Baseball Captain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Update

    Sabriel (Briel) is Girls Varsity Swim Team Captain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Excellent as Usual

    OSC - still my favorite author - full all of the wit and charm I expect from Card's kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Dem feels

    Scott does it again with this work of art. The ending though just omg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Again, and again

    Excellence in writing has always been Card's haulmark. The Ender/Shadow series has surpassed my expectation again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Enhanced ebook verison

    It is important to note that this ebook is an enhanced verison with additional features, such as a few interesting footnotes and some artwork. This idea was pushed by Amazon to the book's publisher a few years ago. It is still enjoyable ebook verison and I enjoyed the artwork. However, it is 190 some pages on my Nook HD and shorter than the actual physical novel. Try the sample or read it for free at a B&N store before buying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    High Recommended

    Great final book. Does leave opening for another book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    very good novella

    Find out about Bean a tie over to a new work novella not a novel exelent read for Bean fans a must

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    People don't understand what this book is. They think it is supp

    People don't understand what this book is. They think it is supposed to be the capstone for the entire Ender/Bean series, and they get disappointed when it isn't. This is just a small novella meant to bridge us over to the final chapter.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Fans will love it

    I am a die hard fan and I loved that Card finally gave us another piece of the story. I've been reading his books for years and have enjoyed them all.

    If you like Bean, you will want to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4