Customer Reviews for

Shadows in Flight (Ender's Shadow Series #5)

Average Rating 3
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worth the wait!

If you've followed Car'd ender series and his Shadow series then it shouldn't be any surprise that this book will not answer all the questions about the final outcome but then as Card himself has said it wasn't meant ot be. I enjoyed the way Card continues the series in...
If you've followed Car'd ender series and his Shadow series then it shouldn't be any surprise that this book will not answer all the questions about the final outcome but then as Card himself has said it wasn't meant ot be. I enjoyed the way Card continues the series in this short novel. In this novel we follow Beans 3 childeren that he has taken with him in his quest to lengthen his life due to the giantism disease he was born with due to Antons key being turned. The three children with have the same genetic problem so he has taken to space at relativistic speed in order for the cure to be found on Earth. The happen to stumble on an ancient Formic Arc. They decide to board the ship and what they find may surprise even the hardcore ender fans. This is a perfect set up for the final book. (Shadows Alive - no release date set yet) It will be interesting to find out how Card will be able to tie both series together. Anyway he does should be worth any wait. I strongly suggest that if you are an Ender/Bean fan at any level you read read Shadows in Flght!

posted by tiver01 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Not the full text!!

Beware! You are not looking at a full text version of the book. It is abridged, hyperlinked and illustrated. I feel like I've been had.

posted by 10669216 on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Not the full text!!

    Beware! You are not looking at a full text version of the book. It is abridged, hyperlinked and illustrated. I feel like I've been had.

    33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Shadows in Flight - impaired edition

    I feel deceived. This is not the book I intended to purchase but, rather, some sort of young adult version with pictures and text that is only one quarter the length of that in the original novel.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Not full edition

    It's a good book, but beware that this is not the full version available in text. This is only 80 pages long instead of the 400 pages in hardcopy. Not sure why this is called an enhanced version. Buyer beware!

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Can't believe OSC pulled this...

    Should have read the reviews first, but didn't feel it was necessary for an OSC release. 80 pages for $12! My respect for OSC just plummeted. Enhanced edition? What a joke.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    BUYERS BEWARE

    This is not the full book! I found this out moments after purchasing this product. I have been waiting for this to be released as an ebook, so i was obviously thrilled to see it and bought it immediately. I had no idea that enhanced version meant only a portion of the book. So do NOT purchuse this product if you want to read the full book.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    I don't think I've ever been this mad in my life. What a ripoff!

    I don't think I've ever been this mad in my life. What a ripoff!! 13$ (after txs) for a book with pictures!! and only 74 pages long!? Cmon Really!? I've been waiting for this book for what seems like forever and I'm quite upset. They should put in the title, OR ATLEAST in the description!!, that this isnt the entire book! I'm very disappointed!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    I want a refund

    ABRIDGED. Do not buy.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    When is the full ebook version of this coming out?

    Not a good option unless you are a child.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Beware Nook owners. If you click on the Buy Now button for the N

    Beware Nook owners. If you click on the Buy Now button for the Nook version, you end up buying the "enhanced version". Fix it Barnes and Noble, cause I really want to read this book on my Nook...not the enhanced version.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Wow first time I don't bother reading reviews. I've loved the En

    Wow first time I don't bother reading reviews. I've loved the Enders game books since I read them as a kid and was looking forward to the newest one in the Bean series. Finally saw it available in E-Book so I bought it right away. Little did I know that this wasn't the real book. DO NOT GET THIS! While the product description says 157 pages it's only 73. It's NOT the actual story! Total rip-off for $11.99

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    I want my money back. I didn't realize I wasn't getting the ful

    I want my money back. I didn't realize I wasn't getting the full book. "Enhanced" is not the correct term.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Get the real version.

    Heavily abridged, poorly edited, and full of typos. Why? Not like having the full version of the novel included in this ebook would have cost them more to print.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    As many have written and I did not read until too late, this is

    As many have written and I did not read until too late, this is not the full addition. This is an extremely abridged version with a lot of pictures. I guess it is my own fault for not reading the reviews but I was so excited to see that the next book was out I bought it. I do still feel cheated though.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Maybe I expected too much?

    Like the previous books about Ender and Bean the imagery that came out of the writing is very good. Unfortunately, for me, "Shadows in Flight" seemed like it should be the middle two or three chapters in the middle of a really good novel. Instead, on its own, it read as a short story. I loved all the other "Shadow" books and most of the "Ender" books but this left me feeling like the author did not want to spend the time to write a complete story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Barnes and Noble get your sh*t together. When you click on the &

    Barnes and Noble get your sh*t together. When you click on the "NOOK book" link of the regular version of this book, you then get hyper linked to this "enhanced version."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Worth the wait!

    If you've followed Car'd ender series and his Shadow series then it shouldn't be any surprise that this book will not answer all the questions about the final outcome but then as Card himself has said it wasn't meant ot be. I enjoyed the way Card continues the series in this short novel. In this novel we follow Beans 3 childeren that he has taken with him in his quest to lengthen his life due to the giantism disease he was born with due to Antons key being turned. The three children with have the same genetic problem so he has taken to space at relativistic speed in order for the cure to be found on Earth. The happen to stumble on an ancient Formic Arc. They decide to board the ship and what they find may surprise even the hardcore ender fans. This is a perfect set up for the final book. (Shadows Alive - no release date set yet) It will be interesting to find out how Card will be able to tie both series together. Anyway he does should be worth any wait. I strongly suggest that if you are an Ender/Bean fan at any level you read read Shadows in Flght!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Too short

    This was a waste of money. I was so excited to read this and on my nook it ended in 137 pages. VERY disappointed and this is one of my favorite series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Almost $8 for just a measley 75 pages????

    Almost $8 for a measley 75 pages???? "Enhanced edition"??? The *only* 'enhancement' is the pictures and 'excerpts'! I've paid as much for five times as many pages! I think all who have purchased tjis 'enhanced edition' should either be refunded $7.00 or allowed to dowload the UN-enhanced version for FREE!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Ripped off...only 75 pages with lots of kid pictures and some ex

    Ripped off...only 75 pages with lots of kid pictures and some extended chapters at the end....should have read the other reviews and not purchased this since it definetely isn't the full text printed edition. Wish I could get my money back since paying $7.99 for less than 1/4 of a book. Please fix B&N.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Disappointed

    I've been waiting for this part of the story for a while and was very disappointed in the length of the story. I was hoping for a much bigger story. I think this was an ok book but definitely not worth the 11.99 I paid for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4