Customer Reviews for

Shadows Of Suspicion

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shadows of Suspicion

    I dearly love a good book.

    If I can find a good, clean, Christian book that has great standards, themes, and *romance* included, I'm all over it! This second book in Ashley Dawn's Shadows series was great. Contemporary romance is my favorite, but I don't want graphic scenes, too much gore, and I definitely want an Alpha male ready to take the whole world on to protect the one he loves - even if he hasn't admitted his feelings to himself yet. Yep. This book has what I'm looking for - some action, romance without gratuitous sex, no swearing, and handsome men in abundance...mmm hmm.

    I would recommend this to my Christian friends, Preacher's wife, mother, and even my daughter. Well done, Ashley, I enjoyed your book immensely!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    It never ceases to amaze me that the books that sometimes don't

    It never ceases to amaze me that the books that sometimes don't "hook" me at the beginning become some of my favorite books. And this book is no exception. I review so many books that I didn't even remember this was a Christian book, and that interested me from the beginning. But I never give a book a good rating on that point alone.

    As I read the first half of the book, I was only mildly interested in Kerry and Luke. I kept wondering if I would give it a rating of a 3 or a 4. I just didn't feel I could truly connect with the characters and the story. Sure, Kerry is an independent woman, and she is a school teacher. I liked that. And Luke was absolutely hopeless--typical guy for sure. but there was nothing special about this book.

    Once I passed the halfway point, I found myself connecting on a real level with the characters. And I found myself getting caught up in the mystery and intrigue of the story. The Christian message of the book was coming through loud and clear, and thankfully, it was woven into the framework of the story in a wonderful way.

    As the ending of the story was looming, I found myself absolutely enjoying the banter between Kerry and Luke. As far as relationships go, I could identify with their relationship. I connected so deeply with the story that I found myself getting emotional and almost crying. Not every book can do that. God reminded me of so many things, including His faithfulness. Trying to figure out whether to give this a rating of a 4 or 5 got pretty easy.

    Okay, I know there is some "sappiness" to this love story, but it was easy to connect with. I didn't feel that the characters were creating idealistic situations and whispering sweet nothings to each other. In fact, they were often at each other's throats, imagining what it would be like to be in each other's lives permanently. Thankfully, there was no profanity and no sex scenes--period. This is clean romance in the truest sense!

    So if you would like a light-hearted romance with some mystery and adventure thrown in for good measure, be sure to check this book out! It was the most uplifting book I have read all week!

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was no financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable romantic Christian thriller: The family banter is ple

    Enjoyable romantic Christian thriller:

    The family banter is pleasantly natural, the family’s Christian faith is pervasive, and the sense of danger’s quickly and scarily real in Ashley Dawn’s Shadows of Suspicion, next in her Shadows series of Christian romantic suspense novels. The story follows on from Shadows of the Past but readers are brought up to speed very naturally and won’t need to read the first book to enjoy the second.

    Kerry’s brothers work for the FBI and the CIA, so her life’s bound to be complicated, especially when the possibly deranged son of a recently imprisoned criminal decides he wants revenge. When Kerry’s kidnapped she knows how to pray and how to free herself, but she’ll need the help of the mysterious Luke to avoid being recaptured. And suddenly she finds he’s captured her heart. Unfortunately Luke thinks “[S]he must be brain washed or something to enjoy church,” and Kerry’s biggest problem, apart from being chased by a murderous madman, is “finding someone who share[s] her faith and beliefs.” Religion, after all, isn’t “only for women, children and old people.” But how will she convince Luke?

    The real question of course, is whether she really believes all things are possible with God. Perhaps it’s not her but her preacher who will reach Luke with holy words. Perhaps the honest emotions of true Christians will win him over from his bitter past. And, in the meantime, perhaps Kerry’s life will be saved even while Luke’s soul finds salvation.

    Smoother-reading than the first book, Shadows of Suspicion is an enjoyable, Christian romantic suspense with an interesting plot, scary villains, and wonderful family dialog to anchor it.



    Disclosure: I received a free ecopy of this book when the author visited my blog during her blog tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Shadows of Suspicion - Who rescued Who?

    In book two of the Shadows series Rick Reiley's sister Kerry is kidnapped by a deranged criminal. He makes demands that can not and will not be met. Rick contacts an acquaintance that is more than qualified to track down the kidnapper's hiding place and rescue his sister. Kerry though frightened plans and attempts escape just as Luke locates the cabin when they are holding her hostage.

    Will Luke be able to rescue her? If so he will have to find a safe place for her in case there is another attempt to kidnap her or worse? Can he manage to protect his heart while protecting her from a mad man?

    I had a hard time putting this book down. I was impressed with the authors creation of characters within Kerry's family. They had such a bond with each family member and their faith and trust in God was inspiring.
    The characters were living proof of God's love for his children. They were depicted as his disciples as they planted seeds of faith and trust in Luke's heart. He had hardened his heart toward God.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure
    I received a free digital copy of this book from Lightning Book Promotions for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    I really enjoyed reading Shadows of Suspicion. The book started

    I really enjoyed reading Shadows of Suspicion. The book started as it meant to go on lots of action as well as a will they or won’t they get together leaving you wondering throughout the book.

    Kerry’s character was one that I loved. I could see a lot of me in her, being stubborn for one. She was from a large family and they were all very close and protective. The whole family have complete faith in God and trust him to see them through things.

    Luke however lost his faith many years ago and is asked find Kerry after being kidnapped and then protect her while her brothers are trying find her kidnappers.

    As Luke was a secret agent of sorts he usually does his job and then walks away. This time its proving difficult because he has feelings for Kerry as does she for him. The thing stopping them being together is the faith issue.

    Shadows of Suspicion is book 2 of the Shadow series but can be read as a stand alone book.

    A fantastic book lots of action and a romance too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Family should be the most important part of our lives with only

    Family should be the most important part of our lives with only one person ranking higher for those of us that believe, God. If you are not a believer, this story may cause some issues for you, but you can read it without feeling like you are being criticized. Kerry's entire family are very devout Christians. They believe in God and hold Him above everything else in their lives. They believe that everything happens for a reason and that God will take care of all their worries. This is not the first book in this series (you can read them out of order without completely ruining the other books) which is evident in the plot of this story. Even though I had not read the first book, I was able to understand this story completely. I now know that the role of trusting in God will be a part of the entire series.

    This book focuses on Kerry's kidnapping by the son of the man that her brother sent to prison. It starts out as a simple abduction with the ransom being releasing the man from prison, but Kerry was very well educated by her brothers on how to get out of these situations. She has a brother that is in the CIA and one in the FBI. She also has a sister who is a PI. Through their connections, Luke is brought in to locate Kerry and protect her. They don't expect to have to be together for very long. However, the man who kidnapped Kerry goes crazy. He is out to find her at all costs. Luke is her only hope of staying alive without risking the lives of her entire family. I was very surprised with how the two of them interacted since Luke was not a believer. I felt that the author did a wonderful job of showing both Kerry and Luke how God was directing their lives. It was a wonderful story that I enjoyed very much.

    Read more reviews at Identity Discovery Blog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was looking so forward to this 2nd book about this wonderful f

    I was looking so forward to this 2nd book about this wonderful family that I just can't get enough of...and I was NOT disappointed!! Another great story with all kinds of mischief to be involved in and get your heart pounding, plus lots of romantic tension while keeping it respectful! Plus we get to learn a little bit more about the rest of the family which just makes me so excited about reading more!! Looking forward to the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Second in Series even better than the first!

    The Reiley clan are back in this second book by Ashley Wintters. Very little time has lapsed since the first book, Shadows From the Past, ended. Jordan and Aurora, the happy couple from book one have just gone off on their honeymoon, and sister Kerry is heading home to resume her teaching position after the holidays. But the mafia bad guy from book one isn't finished with the Reiley family quite that easily. His son has entered the picture and kidnaps Kerry in exchange for his father's release from prison.

    Step in Luke Reeding, special agent and friend of the family. He rescues Kerry from her kidnappers only to find that his own heart is taken captive. Both Kerry and Luke know that their strong feelings for one another aren't enough, however. His past, his current job, and the fact that he does not share Kerry's faith makes a relationship seem doomed. Meanwhile, they must hide from the crazed killer, and try to plot his capture and arrest. Stay tuned for more from author Ashley Wintters as a third book in the series is forthcoming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    A Good Clean Read

    Book description Revenge is the agenda. "Find my sister." Rick Reiley's words were what drove Luke to search mercilessly for Kerry. He is in a race against time to find her and will have to face more than a criminal mastermind to get close to her. He is prepared to give his life for her, but what about his heart? ".I would like you to meet..My wife." Those words from her enigmatic rescuer threw Kerry more than anything else that had happened to her in the last few days.and that was saying a lot! Kerry's simple life is turned upside down when she is kidnapped and dragged to the middle of nowhere by a madman. She trusts Luke with her life, but can she trust him with her heart? As Luke fights to keep Kerry safe, the chemistry ignites and the danger gets closer. Will God protect them while Luke tries to sort out his heart..and capture Kerry's? My Thoughts: The book starts out with Kerry's over-protective brothers calling Luke Reeding to rescue their sister Kerry from her kidnappers. Kerry manages to fight her way out of trouble when Luke discovers her and takes her to safety. They all agree that the kidnappers are still a threat, even after Kerry is rescued, so Luke follows her home and keeps watch over her to make sure she stays unharmed. I won't give too much away, but her stubborn nature makes his job quite the challenge. It is obvious that Luke is a non-believer and Kerry's strongest desire is to bring him to Christ. There is a serious attraction between them, which has them both thinking about a future together. This kind of thinking is simply unrealistic because she can't see herself marrying a man who does not believe in God and he simply feels unworthy of her affection. This book carries a certain amount of danger and mystery; just enough to keep the potential for romance, interesting and at bay. I would certainly categorize this book as Christian fiction because although it is also considered a romantic suspense, the storyline is predominantly about Luke and his faith or lack there of. It is full of sexual tension throughout the novel and if you're looking for a good, clean read, I highly recommend it. It won't steam up your windows but it will keep you turning pages anxiously all night long. I give this five out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Inspirational romance mystery writing at it's best!

    In book two of Ashley Dawn's Shadow Series Aurora Kavvan's sister-in-law Kerry Reiley finds herself targeted by the insane son of Charles Deveraux, the man Aurora and Kerry's brother helped put away. In the thrilling Shadows of Suspicion we follow Kerry through her nightmare of being targeted by a mad man, and rescued by a faithless man.
    Luke Reeding is a complicated man, but the best at his job. Kerry's brother Rick calls in a favor and asks Luke to help the family keep Kerry safe until they catch Chris Deveraux. One look at Kerry Reiley and all Luke can think about is keeping her safe. While Kerry relies on her faith in God and her tight knit family to see her through she is torn by Luke's lack of faith. The son of a hypocritical preacher, Luke pushed God out of his life years ago.
    Can Luke and Kerry survive one another, a deranged killer and a difference in beliefs long enough to catch a killer? Well that information is "classified"!
    This book is one of those rare sequels that excel well beyond expectations, possibly even surpassing the first book. Again Ashley Dawn writes characters with such strong emotion and human connections to one another you can almost reach out and touch them. Luke Reeding is every woman's man. Polite, strong, protective, gorgeous and mysterious, you'll wish someone took you hostage just so he could save you. Full of wit, romance and danger you will laugh, cry and find yourself wanting to yell advice at Luke and Kerry page after page. Perfectly sprinkled with action and faithful scriptures you won't want to put it down until the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful contemporary suspense added to romance and inspiration

    Will "Shadows of Suspicion" keep them from experiencing a life filled with love and faith??

    Being kidnapped and becoming the obsession of the son of a mastermind criminal is not how Kerry Reilly envisioned the ending of her holiday vacation spent in the arms of her very close-knit family, but happen it did. Luke Reeding, a trusted friend and undercover agent, is contacted by Kerry's brother to aid in bringing her back to safety and finds himself becoming very personally attached in the process. Will providing stauch protection and gaining faith in the Lord help smooth their path as they try to bring this criminal to justice? Can Kerry and Luke get past the shadows in their pasts to move forward with a loving and fulfilling relationship?
    Follow their story as they face down their insecurities and have faith that in the end, hope and love will prevail.

    Being the second book in this Shadow series, I was expecting another great story and Ashley Dawn didn't let me down. I loved the way she brought the characters together from the first book and brought in the new for the second. It is written so smoothly and you can see where there are definitely more stories to tell. I can hardly wait!!

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a contemporary suspense novel with romantic and inspirational elements added.

    This book was kindly provided to me by it's wonderful author for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1