Customer Reviews for

Shadows on the Sea

Average Rating 5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    Amazing!

    This book is great with suspense and mistory with friends and their families and the town.It is also in World War II and that makes it better with a rokcstar for a dad and a mom going across dangerous seas Jill winters go to stay with her grandmother and thats where it all starts

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Two Thumbs Way Way Up

    Shadows on the Sea by Joan Hiatt Harlow Reviewed by: Magdalene Economou Worry, worry, worry. That is all Jill Winters is thinking about. Jill Winters is an extraordinary character created by Joan Hiatt Harlow in Shadows on the Sea an exhilarating novel in which you will want to keep reading. Jill Winters has every reason to feel worried. She lives in the middle of World War II. Her mother has to go and visit her sick brother across the seas. Jill¿s father, a famous singer suggests that she go to her grandmother¿s house in Maine. Jill makes friends there. Everything goes fine until she finds a mysterious carrier pigeon with a German message tied to its leg: Sonnabend Iv. Now Jill can trust no one. Will Jill figure out the message and help the police? Or will she just get herself in danger? A heart pounding story that is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat. This book is action packed and filled with adventure. This book speaks to you and looks you right in the eye. It sends a message to you about love, friendship, and trust. In some parts the author even used different languages. This book is definitely recommended for children 10 and over. This book will make you appreciate your friends and family and readers will realize how important they are. Read Shadows on the Sea and make yourself feel like you are actually in the middle of World War II.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    I love it!

    I love this book because i read this book in my class its the best book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!! It haslots of feelings. Go joan harllow




    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Mysterious

    I loved it and could not put it down i really agree that there should be a sequel to the wonderful SHADOWS ON THE SEA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Stayed up till twelve readig this!!

    I love this book because at first i wanted nothing to do with historical fiction untill i was assigned a book report on historical fiction book and i read Blown away also by joan and i loved it so much that i wanted to read more by herand then i read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Now, let me tell you, I almost never read these type of books. I took one look at this book and said, "Boring." Well, I was wrong, and happy to be so. My friends gave me this book, so I started reading it. I couldn't put it down! It was very well written, with mystery and suspense. The ending made me crazy, the way it left it with those unanswered questions, but not crazy enough to hate it, like I have few other books. All in all, it was a great book and most surely worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    This Just In: Cowbelle Read another book!!!!

    This book is cool, but the ending wasn't surprising. other than that I like this book. it was a great book. A real HF.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Thrilling, Exciting

    I love this book so much that I would recommend it to anyone. I am so hoping that they have a sequel. You will enjoy this book. I guarantee it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    Kept me on the edge of my seat!

    I loved this book. There was a lot of mystery and excitement thoughout the entire story, and the ending left me wondering if maybe there will be a sequel. If there is, you be I'll be purchasing it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    I loved this book

    My friend told me to read this book because it was in maine and i was born in maine. This book is so amazing and you with not want to put this book down until you are finish. This book i think is for 4 grade and up. I say that because then you can understand it more. Because if you are younger you will have questions and those are so very annoying. And im not kidding about that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    I love this book!!!

    This book gave md so much insp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Wow

    This book was really amazing. I wont spoil the end, but there should be a sequal to answer some unanswered situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    MUST READ I STAED UP TILL3:00 A¿M

    Asome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    Highly recommended book! Very interesting.

    The title of this book is Shadows on the Sea, written by Joan Hiatt Harlow. It was published in 2010 and is a Fictional book. The story is about a fourteen year old girl named Jill Winters who is sent to Maine to stay with her Nana while her father, a pop singer, is on tour and her mother, is traveling to Newfoundland. Jill is very worried for her mother's safety because the Atlantic Ocean which she is traveling through has German submarines (U-Boats) swimming everywhere. Jill meets a boy named Quarry, who soon become good friends. There is so much gossip and rumors flying around that Jill doesn't know who to believe, her friends and family or complete strangers.
    I highly recommend this book because it keeps you on the edge of you seat from beginning to end. It was very interesting learning the information that was transferred between countries and the big secrets and gossip that went around in such a small town. The way this book affected me is the way Jill has so much courage to do what she believes is right and will help others.
    In this story, the characters are likeable for the most part because the author has both good and bad characters. This relates to our everyday life, dealing with people that are either just disagreeing with us or even wanting to harm us physically. Joan Hiatt Harlow makes the characters and some of the plot a lot like reality, which made this book very interesting to read. The theme of the book is traditional and original at the same time. Because the author uses real life stories and historical facts and just adds and omits parts and makes it amazing. The way the author does this shows how talented of a writer is and that she knows how to keep a reader's attention very well. The plot of the story was very well thought out. The introduction, climax, suspense and conclusion are used just how a good story would be. It starts out simple, but gets interesting and suspenseful and you will be shocked and relieved at the same time when it gets to the end! The way dialogue is used to create meaning is, it shows how people react and relate to certain situations. The way they talk to each other can make a difference on how you understand and see the story. The setting plays a significant role in the book because it takes place in a small town and relates to the average middle-class American's lifestyle. It also show how being courageous, even though it could be risking you own life, is worth it for the safety of loved ones.
    I recommend this book if you are interested in mysterious fictional books. I don't read that much because reading isn't really a hobby of mine but I really enjoyed this book, and I would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE OF MY FAV. BOOKS!

    This book was so surprising. At first i wasn't interested in it but one day i got bored and picked it up. As soon as i picked it up i couldn't put it down. I loved the way the story came out. Jill finds a wonunded carrier pigeon with a coded message attached to the leg. This only begins the mysteries Jill finds. Eventually, she uncovers them. She might something along the way. SOmeone she least expects is invovled in the mysteries and crimes. Who could it be?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    Shadows on the Sea, not so mysterious

    Shadows on the Sea was very perpicable. It had some interesting parts, but none that really enthused me. It was medeokre.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2