Customer Reviews for

Shadows over Balinor (Unicorns of Balinor Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Left you Hanging

    WHAT!! It left you handing!! She said now i want to find my parents, and them she gives up!! WHAT!!. I do still recomend this book. But, PLEASE!!, MARY WRITE ANOTHER ONE. You left us hangeing. I would have loved to have found out how she gets her parents back. ITS A STORY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    HANGING

    The book leaves you hanging........What happens????????Please Write another mary!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    not complete

    this is one of my favorite series and it doesn't seem complete. she never finds her mom and dad or her brothers.it seems a little weard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    Finished

    I may be 15 years old but I'm still re-reading these books! They were great and awe inspiring I loved them! When I was 7 yrs old I HATED reading but when my mom introduced me to these books I couldnt put them down! Full of rich detail and plot you're drawn in. I'd recommend them to anyone who loves a fantasy adventure! To this day I still re-read them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    PLEASE...continue the story!

    I have been reading this series with my eight year old daughter. It's funny, I don't know who was more excited to read each of the next books, her or I...I do hope that you will write a quest for Ari to find her brothers and parents! PLEASE?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    not complete

    I enjoyed the book very much.However,it just ended. I mean it doesn't seem to be complete. Mary please write more books. I love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    Write more books

    Please Mary write more books and finish the story i would like to know if she finds her parents everyone want u to write more please do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2003

    Mary, PLEASE write more books!

    Mary you have done so well on all the other books. They really give the saying 'books can take you anywhere.' They really have a great adventure to them. My favorite one was the third one: the valley of fear. Actually I liked every one of them! I would really like it if you would make more. I mean, if you don't what books would I read with mystical unicorns and evil shifters? I mean all of the people who have read your books want you to. I know my friends do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2003

    Not Complete!

    I realy enjoyed this book though i would give it a few critisisms. I felt that the author did not complete the story. I would like to know what happens to Arianna's family and what the future hold for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    Wow!This book is the greatest!

    I can't tell you how much I love your books Mary!Please write more because everyone loves your book so much Mary that can't even want to put it down.I know you can write the 9th tenth and so one series because if you just put your heart into the book I'm sure it will turn out just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    WRITE MORE BOOKS MARY!!!!!!!!

    I really ABSOLUTELY LOVE these books. But the same as everyone else Mary just has to write anoter book. She deffinetly needs to write her endings better. Anyone who knows Mary tell her she has to keep writing these books because everyone who reads them loves them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    Great Storyline; Needs Work

    This is one of my favorite book series, but Mary really needs to get a better editor. The book is full of storyline mistakes, but that doesn't really effect the the book series at all. If you have read each book more than once like me, then you could catch them and change them in your head. I don't know what happened, but the story just really needs an ending. For goodness sake, Mary, if you are going to do it, do it right! The least you could do would be to tell all your fans what's going on! Oh,well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    Shadows over Balinor (Unicorns of Balinor Series #8)

    I read all eight books and I think Mary Stanton should write a 9th book,I mean the 8th book just does not have a good ending. Arriana doesn't even find her parents! Otherwise it was pretty good.My favorite was number two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    Shadows over Balinor (Unicorns of Balinor Series #8)

    This book was ok but it should have had a better ending , like finding her parents, and brothers. Otherwise ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    Does Stanton not know what a conclusion is.......If she did I would have rated this book a 7!!!!

    This series is SO awesome!!! Once I started reading the a book in this series I would go crazy untill the next book came out. I am disapointed becuase the story never ended. Stanton needs to finish this series or else she will have a lot of dissapointed fans!!! Including me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    Amazing!

    The Unicorns of Balinor series is amazing. They take you away to an enchanted land with detailed descriptions and captivating storylines. It revolves around the ever complicated link of good and evil. The only negative comment I have is the ending, which many others have pointed out. Ms. Stanton ended the series too soon. Knowing that the end of this book is the final end leaves you kind of disappointed because it didn't feel like it was the end. I would have liked it a lot more if the author had given us one more book of how the main character finds her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    MARY NEEDS TO WRITE A CONCLUSION!!!!!

    I would have rated the series 5 stars but becuase I feel this series is incomplete I didn't. I really love this series. I've decided to read it over a 4th time. I just really feel this story is incomplete. I mean Mary Stanton never wrote a 9th book to tell of the adventures Arianna has while trying to find her parents and brothers. It's been 2 1/2 years since the 8th book came out. I'm starting to think Stanton didn't want to finish this series. It's a real shame because it truly is fabulous. Well I can only hope that the next book is written. *^_^* Jaskara

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    Greatest Book Series Out There

    I read books 1-8 and I absolutly adore them. There HAS to be a number 9! the seris seems a little incomplete.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    2more!

    Love the entire series! Stanton needs another book! Looking at the mistake on the back of the eighth book, it looks like she has a plan. p.s. write #9 about finding a new Link!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    The Best Unicorn/Horse Series!!!!!

    These books are really good!!!!! Right now I'm trying to find the 7th one. I couldn't put them down! My fave is By Fire, By Moonlight when Ari meets Fin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3