Customer Reviews for

Shadowspell

Average Rating 4.5
( 338 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Shadowspell Is A Page Turner

If I haven't made myself clear with "The Top 3 Books of 2010" and "Glimmerglass Review 5/5", then I don't know how to express my love for Jenna Black's Faeriewalker series. This is already the second book in the series and I'm still feeling the love and joy I had for th...
If I haven't made myself clear with "The Top 3 Books of 2010" and "Glimmerglass Review 5/5", then I don't know how to express my love for Jenna Black's Faeriewalker series. This is already the second book in the series and I'm still feeling the love and joy I had for the first one. The only sad thing to tell everyone is I was not able to get a actual paperback copy of the book from the store or amazon. The store hasn't had it in for a week and I'm to impatient to wait and I didn't want to spend extra money, for shipping, from amazon Canada. So in the end, in dire desperation, I used the kindle. I only use the kindle in extreme needs as I enjoy reading paperback/hardbacks more. In the end I was able to complete Shadowspells in less then a day and I'm already sadden by the fact that the next book doesn't come out till July 2011.

Shadowspell picks up right where Glimmerglass ended. We're given good background info on what happened in the previous novel and reunited with our favorite characters: Dana, Ethan (the playboy), Kimber, Finnm Keane, Mom and Dad. New characters such as Connor, The Hunt and The Erlking appear.

I must admit admit Dana got a tad bit rebellious in this novel. A part of me wants to yell at her and complain, saying that if she just listened then none of the bad stuff would of happened. And since she didn't listen that this should be a life's lesson for her. But in the end she is a teenager and I would have done the same thing.

Ethan's playboy attitude becomes problematic in Shaowspell and with all that occur in the book it will certainly test his ability to be non-player in the third book.

Ok this is not really a spoiler but I'm seriously wondering: Will Dana and Keane ever hook up? Or will they just fighting with each other? It was nice to see a bit of Keane's soft side and more to his character in this novel but I'm seriously wondering if will ever see more Dana/Keane.

My favorite character, who made me swoon, was the Erlking. I definitely can't wait to see how his character further develops in the third story.

In the previous novel I had troubles picturing Avalon, luckily in Shadowspell that wasn't the case. I really, honestly, can't find anything wrong with this book. I know a book is never perfect, but I can't find one single thing that bother me. I thought the plot was well crafted and gave the perfect twist. I only figured there was something more to the Erlking's deal when he mention what he wanted. I was surprised that Dana didn't question further before making the sacrifice.
But now that, that's happened it will give more drama to the third book.

I think the Erlking like's Dana. I really think he does. He may be tricky and like everyone else in Avalon uses Dana for her powers. But he always got more planned then he lets on. He plays his cards right. And everything he does in return protects Dana. Though I could be totally wrong about this.

Overall Shadowspell was FANTASTIC, MESMERIZING, A PAGE TURNER & will have the readers on the edge of their seats wondering what will happen next.

posted by monsterofbooks on January 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quick read

The story was cute, a different take on the faerie world. But at just over 200 pages the story went fast.

posted by aprochnow on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 341 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    K

    H

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    The first book was alright. Geared toward teenage girls, which im not. It gave me something to do.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 28, 2011

    BookHounds

    Shadowspell continues the story started in Glimmerglass and follows Dana as she gets deeper involved with the world of the fae. Her aunt Grace and both Queens want her dead while Ethan seems to be playing games with her. She now lives in a bunker like safe house deep inside the mountain where Finn is defending her full time and his son, Keane, is now giving her more lessons in self defense. Dana can only go out supervised by Finn and another body guard. The Erlking has now discovered Dana and wants her for his own, so he captures Ethan and makes him part of his Wild Hunt gang. I can't watch Lady Gaga's video Judas without thinking of this book.

    Of course, Dana is manipulated into a bad situation with the Erlking in order to return Ethan from his clutches, but in her headstrong way, Dana thinks she has all the angles of the deal figured out. She doesn't and finds out she might have possibly bargained away her life. I don't think the Erlking is truly evil since he is protected Dana and gives her excellent advice to help her protect herself and make better decisions. So now there is a love quadrangle (?) and there are quite a few developments that keep the plot moving (sorry, I am not going to spoil that for anyone). Now, I just can't wait for the next one in the series, Sirensong, where I hope that Dana develops her newly found powers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Didn't like it

    I didn't like it that much because it was so inapproiate.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So much better

    This was so much better than her first book in this series! I could not stop reading this book. It had so many twists and turns I just could not put it down. I am compleatly ready for book number three in july!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    BUY THIS SERIES!

    Glimmerglass caught my attention and I decided to get it. After reading it I couldnt not buy Shadowspell. I loved this book! I can not wait until the next book comes out. I would recommend this series to anyone! It takes a certain kind of story line to capture my attention and keep it.. this is one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    This book is filled with major drama. Boy drama. Girl drama. Family drama. So much so that I loved it! Dana is once again trying to help everyone out. Even at the cost of her being in danger and her getting in trouble she does anything she can do to help.

    What I like most is the strength that Dana has. I love seeing characters who fight till the very end. She did not give up when she was trapped at the safe house, she did not give up when her father threaten her. She did what she had to do to save the ones that she loves.

    The love interest in the book were good. We see Dana struggling with relationships and what she should do. Dana's heart is being pulled in all kinds of directions. Dana is very mature and is a character like no other. In the end she made a willing sacrifice to save the one she loves. Even if it cost her.

    Ms. Black left nothing out in this book. Everything is written perfectly and smoothly. The emotions flowed through this book so good I could not stopped turning pages. I felt everything and more. I can not wait to see what the next book will reveal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shadowspell

    Great Book!
    I can't wait for Sirensong (Faeriewalker Series #3). 7-5-11

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series !

    OK so Shadowspell is one of my favorite books and one of my favorite series! It is a page turner like you wouldn't believe. The series is awesome and I think everyone should read it. I can't wait until the next one comes out in April '11.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Great, but there are defiantly draw-backs.

    This book is a bit like the "Twilight" saga, with most of the characters being complete Mary and Gary-sues, but the plot is interesting enough to keep wanting to read the book. Over-all, it was a good book, with twists and turns all over the place. I can't wait to read the next one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Are you kidding?

    I love the book.....but I hate the ending!!! I don't want to spoil it, but The best way to describe it is....it left us hanging. It just seemed like an abrupt stop. I guess she still got what she wanted, I'll buy the book in July since I'm dying to see what happens next. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shadowspell is an excellent young adult teen fantasy

    Sixteen year old hybrid Faeriewalker Dana Hathaway understands what it is like to be the First Daughter on a date as she goes out with Ethan who saved her life from Aunt Grace while Finn the Fae bodyguard chaperones them. On the bright side, she has finally gotten her alcoholic acrimonious human mother and her mysterious Fae father in the same realm (see Glimmerglass).

    However, far from a happy ever after in the crossroads of Avalon where humans and their technology work closely with Fae and their magic, Dana has major problems besides dating. Erlking leader of the psychopathological Wild Hunt and his horde have returned to Avalon where his pact with the faerie Queen limits who he can kill. Since the Faerie Queen proclaimed Dana must die as she does not want the teen to develop her rare Faeriewalker skills, everyone expects the immortal homicidal predator Erlking will kill the newcomer; everyone except Dana who believes he has a worse fate than death planned for her.

    Shadowspell is an excellent young adult teen fantasy starring a strong caring heroine who risks more than her life for those she cherishes. Fast-paced yet amusing as Dana fumbles her way into understanding the rules of magic and dating Fae, readers of all ages will appreciate this engaging entry with a great late personal twist.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 341 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18