Customer Reviews for

The Shadowy Horses

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book!!

I really liked the whole book; it has every thing...a dig, a ghost, revilations about the people in the book. all kinds of surprises...you will really love this book. i have a really good imagination and i can picture the story in my head as i read. this is a really vi...
I really liked the whole book; it has every thing...a dig, a ghost, revilations about the people in the book. all kinds of surprises...you will really love this book. i have a really good imagination and i can picture the story in my head as i read. this is a really vivid story

posted by cali-spitfire on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Page Turner

An interesting mix of fact and fiction, this paranormal plot entrances until the very last page.

posted by 9403517 on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I loved this book!!

    I really liked the whole book; it has every thing...a dig, a ghost, revilations about the people in the book. all kinds of surprises...you will really love this book. i have a really good imagination and i can picture the story in my head as i read. this is a really vivid story

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    An absorbing escape

    I could feel myself there with Verity Gray; the sense of atmosphere was powerful and the characters were well drawn. It was also interesting learning something about archaeology and the Romans in Scotland. I don't usually read in the Romance genre but used to read some Daphne DuMaurier as a teenager. This is much like her work but with a modern-day working woman as the heroine. The romance is not overdone, but it's compelling and fits in well with all the mystery. The supernatural aspect adds an extra spice to the goings-on.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    Beautifully Written!

    This book was written in such a way that it will keep you turning the pages! It pulls you right into the story,I found myself feeling all the same emotions! The people in this book are all so vivid and real.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2001

    A Wonderful Read

    I loved this book. It has suspense, pathos and just the right touch of romance. After reading it, I felt as if I'd gone on a vacation.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Great book

    I love this author and this is another good one. I think Winter Sea is my favorite, though. Shadowy Horses has mystery, a little romance, ghost a little of everything. It is fun. I had to read it again right away.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Susanna NEVER disapoints!

    It was a different step from some of her other books but I like that she can try a different angle without leaving out the element of history and contacting the past. If you have enjoyed any of her other books or are looking for something new, dont hesitate give Shadowy Horses a try!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Completely entertaining. It held my interest from beginning to end.

    After reading Susanna Kearsleys first book, I was looking forward to this one. It did not disappoint. It was a charming, sweet read that had enough twists and turns to keep me reading until late into the night. Susanna combines history with romance, moving through time smoothly, weaving a story that left me wanting more. Can't wait for her next book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Enjoable, adventurous but ligh

    I picked up one of Kearsley's B&N recommended novels (Miranda?) and was skeptical as I'd never read a time travel book. I was thoroughly entranced. Lovely language and setting in all her books. I have now read ALL of her Nook-published books and I do plan to follow her. Perfect balance of setting/pace/language/atmosphere. I wish her the best!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    A Page Turner

    An interesting mix of fact and fiction, this paranormal plot entrances until the very last page.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Love her books

    Quick read, loved the story

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book took me into a world I wasn┬┐t familiar with. It was so

    This book took me into a world I wasn’t familiar with. It was so well written, I thought I was actually there.  The characters were authentic, the story was well researched and the dynamics were tremendous.  Archaeology has always been a favorite with me. She did such a good job with the ghosts characters, I definitely believed. This is an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Love! Review originally posted at Bettering Me Up. I absolutel

    Love!

    Review originally posted at Bettering Me Up.

    I absolutely adore Susanna Kearsley! She knows how to tell a story and make you fall in love with the characters. I thought that the narrator did an amazing job distinguishing between the different players and I freely admit to swooning over her Scottish accent.

    Speaking of swooning, I loved the relationship between Verity and David. First colleagues, then friends, then lovers.

    DED. Though I do wish she hadn't faded-to-black. Give me smexy times!

    Did I mention the kilts?

    Yes, please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Love this author

    I always enjoy Susanna Kearsley's books. I have read several and am always entranced by her ability to write about different time periods. I like the time travel that she writes because it is not too sci-fi. Her characters are so well done. The mystery, romance, and history is all done extremely well. Give me more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Hi

    I love horses. I havent read thevbook butbhorese r awesom.

    1 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    What a great read

    It read like an english mystery on pbs. Wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Susanna Kearsley has the ability to pull you in to a world she h

    Susanna Kearsley has the ability to pull you in to a world she has created for her characters.  There is history, romance, mystery, and a touch of the supernatural.  All coming together in a compelling novel.

    I have read several of Ms. Kearsley books.  This one has the Romans and archeology.  Note: Shadowy Horses is a great stand-alone, but if you read it before Firebird it will add to the experience.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Wonderful read

    Loved the different personalities in this book and she really pulls you into the story very vivid easy to imagine yourself there with the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Exceptionally written

    Suzanna is incredibly gifted at mixing true history, romance, ans bringing the past to life by using a touch of the paranomal into her brilliantly woven stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    HORSE RACE!

    Here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    U nasty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6