Customer Reviews for

Shaedes of Gray (Shaede Assassin Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    See it here in black & white: Gripping new series!

    Let me just begin this by saying if you like your sci-fi/paranormal/urban fantasy with just a little romance, you owe it to yourself to check out this series right at its beginning. What's the difference, you ask? Paranormal romance tends to be pretty steamy...not just the "Things that Go Bump in the Night" go bump in the night, if you know what I mean. (And some of them go hump, ahem, bump in the night quite alot!) Bonilla has chosen instead to let the romance develop through - I'm assuming, here - several books, comparable to Mercy and Adam taking several books to get together in Patricia Briggs' superb Mercedes Thompson series, or, similarly Kat Richardson's characters of Harper and Quinton moving slowly in her atmospheric Greywalker series. I admire this...it gives the reader time to know the characters, spot their strengths and weaknesses, to see if they've, indeed, met their perfect match and just how far they'll go to win or keep them.

    Lessons aside, if it takes awhile to warm up to our Shaede assassin, that's just the way Darian wants it. Experience has taught her to trust or love no one. In the early 1900's, Darian was a young woman (yes, human) who made an advantageous marriage to please her parents. The match was less than pleasant as her husband was firmly in the closet, except when he came out to beat his wife. Her transformation to Shaede was performed by a seductive stranger who heeds her unspoken desire to disappear by making that physically possible. A Shaede can dematerialize with a moment's thought, a skill that makes her pefect for the job of assassin that she and Azriel, maker and now lover, take up to keep them in funds.

    This backstory is a little slow to appear, but keep going...because years after Azriel has deserted her and is presumed by Darian to be long dead, she discovers that his tales of their being the only ones of their kind are just one of his falsehoods. It's when the reader is introduced to this large and imaginative world of every sort of Fey that the tale really starts to hum. Who Darian is hired to kill and why is really just a springboard to all of the mayhem and backstabbing that echo the human world all too closely.

    As a reader of all sorts of paranormal romance and sci-fi urban fantasy, I found this book to be a worthy intro to a new and fascinating series...July's 2nd entry, Blood Before Sunrise, seems much too far away.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Good plot, lacking chaacters

    The description interested me and i was excited to read this book but was disappointed with the shallow and less than believable character develoment. One small example, the lead chick, who's supposed to be cold, mercenary like, detached and tough as nails, demands double her payment to do a job and then allow herself to be forced to do additional security work for free and without a single complaint. One my things that distract you from becoming emersed and make you ask "really?" That said, it was still a decent plot and the climax was gripping. Not sure if i will read the next in the series or not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    GREAT READING

    KEEP THEM COMING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Annoymous

    A great first book of a series. Loved it and can't wait to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shaedes of Gray is the urban fantasy novel that immediately flic

    Shaedes of Gray is the urban fantasy novel that immediately flicks on
    the curiosity switch inside of readers. Amanda Bonilla paints the
    picture of a naive but strong Shaede, and gives her a destiny that can
    only be defined in terms of time. Darian only knows how to be an
    assassin. When Azriel made her, he only taught her how to fight, and
    left her in the dark regarding the supernatural community surrounding
    her. The world Bonilla creates is unique and as close to reality as an
    urban fantasy novel can get. The abundance of familiar creatures
    featured makes it easier to adjust to the idea of a Shaede and the
    unusual powers one possesses. It's all in the words when it comes to
    understanding the plot of Shaedes of Gray. When Darian isn't threatening
    the king of Shades, Xander, or training with the guard of all guards,
    Raif, she's learning about what she is and what she's meant to be. With
    a little bit of romance thrown into the mix, Shaedes of Gray is branded
    as a fabulous beginning to the series of Shaede Assassin novels.
    Originally posted on Lovey Dovey Books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    This is my first Bonilla novel to read, and it will definitely n

    This is my first Bonilla novel to read, and it will definitely not be my last! I am going to share the synopsis from the back cover of the book because I have a habit of including spoilers in my summaries. I'm working on it!

    Darian has lived alone for almost a century it the shadows of the night. Made and abandoned by her former love, Darian is the last of her kind - an immortal Shaede who can slip into darkness as easily as breathing. With no one else to rely on, she has taught herself how to survive, using her unique skills to become a deadly assassin.
    Darian finds herself struggling to keep her employer, Tyler, at arm's length, especially since his seductive smile makes her want to break her rules about love. The work he offers in necessary to protect the innocent - and a welcome distraction. But when Darian's next mark turns out to be Xander Peck, King of the Shaede Nation, her whole worldview is thrown into question. Darian begins to wonder if she has taken on more than her conscience will allow, but a good assassin never leaves a job unfinished.

    There is so much about the premise of this book that I enjoyed:
    1. Darian, the 1st person narrator and protagonist, is not perfect. She is cranky, cynical, and skeptical of most everyone. I relate to that because I'm that way before coffee.
    2. Darian has fun powers that allow her to sense the powers of others and allow her to fade into the shadows. That's cool. She is not the most powerful character, but her powers have great potential.
    3. The world Darian lives in includes many other powerful creatures that I enjoyed. I would like to know more about them and how they work. For example, who are the seers? What are their full powers?
    4. The novel clearly sets up the next installment in the series. I enjoy series books because I get to spend more time with the characters.

    There are also a few things about the book that I didn't enjoy:
    1. Darian is CRANKY. She is rude to almost everyone with or without cause. She has baggage, yes, but why is she so cranky all the time?
    2. Why did Tyler feel connected to Darian? Without giving spoilers, I didn't understand his draw to her. Yes, she tells us quite often how beautiful she is. Yes, she is a powerful creature. BUT, what did Darian do to make Tyler fall for her? She's quite awful to him.
    3. Why in the world is Darian attracted to Xander? I need to know more about him and their interactions to believe the attraction on either side. Does he want her only as a pawn? Does she want him only because he is powerful?

    Darian is not my favorite protagonist, but she is interesting. The world that Bonilla has created is even more interesting. I have high hopes for the rest of the series and I look forward to Darian's growth and learning more about the other creatures.

    Three out of Five Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Great book

    Wonderful written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, Intense, and Never Dull

    I have to say that Shaedes of Gray is really a "my" type of book - witty, kickass heroine who has awesome powers, a friend that has always looked out for her, another more powerful, high-ranking love interest comes along, and amidst the love triangle troubles, nothing's better than a big and complex plot to up the thrill and suspense. Typical for a Paranormal Romance novel, but the idea of the Shaede, well that is very unique, and very cool.

    The characters in SOG were very memorable in their own way - the female protagonist, Darian, was witty, snarky, and a girl who sticks up for herself. She is the master of her own decisions, and she will allow no one to be her king, or to make her a pawn of some twisted game for power; Tyler's sweet and fiercely-protective in his own silent way, but he is also funny and easygoing; Xander is intense, highhanded, powerful, but very romantic and male.

    It took some time to get into the momentum of reading this novel, but the excitement escalated towards the middle till the end where I just couldn't tear my attention away from the book; I HAD to know where the story went, and how it concluded!

    Overall, SHAEDES OF GREY is an amazing Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance novel packed full of fast-paced action, suspense, witty humor, sarcastic and kickass heroine, love triangle that'll leave you feeling so conflicted as to who to side with, a complex plot with curveballs at every turn, and betrayals and deceptions that will leave you reeling hours after you've put down the book. Even though the plot was a little typical, it was still fun, intense and never dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN

    Great read! If you like charecters such as Chloe Niell's Merrit,Patricia Briggs' Mercy, and Laurel K Hamilton's Anita then this is the book for you! Great start of what I hope is a long standing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    Exciting page turner!

    Great read; not the average, predictable plot. I can't wait for Amanda's next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1