Customer Reviews for

Shakespeare In an Hour

Average Rating 3
( 530 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(125)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(98)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed it!

I really enjoyed this book! An old friend of mine is a Shakespeare buff and actor of Shakespearean plays. He and I had several lively talks about the information given in the book about the life and times of Shakespeare. It was fun and the book and those conversation...
I really enjoyed this book! An old friend of mine is a Shakespeare buff and actor of Shakespearean plays. He and I had several lively talks about the information given in the book about the life and times of Shakespeare. It was fun and the book and those conversations inspired me to download the Complete Works of Shakespeare. Both of these books are free, which fits my pocketbook right now.

posted by Marigold88 on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Biography

This is really a biography of Shakespeare. Covers his whole life including items of controversey. Also included tables of events in history, and other fields that happened during his life.

posted by 155432 on January 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Interesting Biography

    This is really a biography of Shakespeare. Covers his whole life including items of controversey. Also included tables of events in history, and other fields that happened during his life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    really enjoyed

    I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. Very easy read. Learned alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Informative but longer than an hour

    Took me longer than an hour.....after 2 hrs i gave up reading this in favor of something lighter. Good information though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Recommended - very informative

    This reads as a history lesson into the life of Shakespeare. The times leading up to and during his life. It is just what it says it is...lots of information, condensed into 70+ pages.
    I felt like I was back in High School, reading this book. It is somewhat monotonous to read...but delivers on what it was intended to do.
    A very slow read for me...and I am hoping to get done with it quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Recommended for very good reading

    The Basic Biography of the Bard, presented through some selected parts of his works. I would have liked to read his famed 'Compleat Works,' but who has the time, much less Shakespeare's mastery of the English language, unless they intend to be a playwright or a deep student of theater? Yet the biographical background of Shakespeare's life and times
    was simply fascinating, and the interplay of contextual facts, anecdotes, and historical excerpts of relevant works, well, works.
    All in all enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Taking more than an hour

    Reasonably interesting but still a bit slow. I'm sure it's difficult to make 16th century descriptions too exciting though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Short Read. learned something.

    Good overview on the life and woks of Shakespeare. worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Duh

    It's Shakespeare IN AN HOUR! Did you really think you'd be getting the text of the plays? The 1st reviewer's spelling and punctuation tells me all I need to know. This is a cheat sheet. It will help you make basic conversation. If you want more than that, pony up the $ and buy the plays. Jeez.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Oops! FYI...

    For some reason I thought this book was a collection of condensed Shakespeare plays. In hindsight, I bet that would be difficult to fit into an hour. It makes sense, then, that this e-book contains information ABOUT the playwright, not WRITTEN BY him. It's interesting, but not what I was looking to find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7