Customer Reviews for

Shalador's Lady (Black Jewels Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice addition to keep the world alive!!

    Though not as engrossing as the Black Jewels trilogy this is a nice addition to the overall world. It was a nice change to see how a lighter jewel court can work and still be strong. I like revisiting the main charecters from the orginal story while seeing the world grow as a whole. Though I would like to see more background on some of the others like Gabrielle, Chosti and the Del a Mon. I know some have said that they feel like the addition of the original cast seems out of place but I have to disagree. We are being given the chance to see thier lives grow, of seeing thier "life" not just the war. I loved the reference to the Black court and the fact that there are those out there that still fill the circles. Though we all know there is no "Black Court anymore".

    However before reading this or "The Shadow Queeen" everyone should read "The Invisible Ring". The story arc in the "Shadow Queen and Shalador's Lady" come from the events in the "Ring". Of course to truly understand everything one should always start at the beginning with Daughter of the Blood.

    This book is a great addition to the series and I cant wait for the next one to come out in March 2011. I'm already counting the days....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Could NOT put the book down!!!!

    There is something about the world that Anne Bishop creates with her words. The world that Cassidy and her court live in is nothing that Cassidy has lived or ruled as a queen, for the fact the ones who ruled before were cruel and twisted, so everyone was distrustful of a queen they didnt know. Until they see what kind of queen Cassidy really is and it opens there eyes. When they decide to move the court and place it away from Grayhaven you see the characters inner selves come out, there strengths and there weaknesses. You see them all come to be who they were all meant to be if there had not been the twisted queens that came before. This book in the series had everything you could ask for in a book, i personally couldnt put it down, then i read it again after ive read the books that came before. I truly hope that she decides to write further in this series giving us the chance to glance at some others who are connected to the "former" Dark Court but may not have been known before. To see how the people after the purge, they pick up there lives and build a better life for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    This is the best book she has written. Even though it is set in

    This is the best book she has written. Even though it is set in the Black Jewels world, it gave me the sense that these were "real" people with "real" problems. The healing progression of Jared Blade was amazing. It is probably best to read The Shadow Queen for background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    My favorite Black Jewels book

    Not the first of the series, so by know you should know if you like or hate the world created by Ann Bishop. For me this was my favorite from the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Jewel!

    I am a fan of Anne Bishop! This latest installment of hers related to the Black Jewel series is outstanding. Her characters are unique but real, her humor zings across the dialogue and keeps the pace moving. If you haven't read anything of Bishop's you are missing out - start right away with the Black Jewel trilogy and then come along for the ride!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Shalador's Lady finds her spine!

    Anne Bishop is one of my all time favorite authors. Her worlds has drawn me in so much that after I read her books they follow me into my dreams. Shalador's Lady as a whole was a good a book. It didn't keep the pace that her other books have. I didn't view Cassidy as the weakling who ran at the first sign of trouble. In the end she got her spine back and she had to move in order for the book to take the direction that it did, but I think her exit from Grayhaven could have been written a little better. Kermilla was nothing but an annoying spoiled brat who got on my nerves. I thought that Theran would have seen through her sooner, but it touches on reality because I think anyone who has experienced love and loss knows how blind you can be when your heart is leading you. I would have liked to have seen a little more remorse from Cassidy's old court once they had seen what they had betrayed her for. However Theran getting a kindred as a Queen seems like karmac justice to me. I imagined him getting a few nips in the right places that taught him some much needed lessons. I think the ending left us open for a great follow up to this story. I would like to see what exactly is going to come of Kermilla. A faceoff so Cassidy could put her in her place would be nice to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Worth The Wait!

    After waiting so long for this book, I thought it would be hard to get back into the story. Wrong!! The characters are fantastic and I'm not even halfway. I'm rooting for Cassie all the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Books!

    I love the world that Ann Bishop weaves around her characters, this book like the rest in this series is wonderful. They have a very unique feel to them and she makes you really care about the characters in her books. The side characters are just as deep as the main line characters and it makes you want to beg for more! I love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Great addition to the series

    I started reading the "jewels" series and now I am hooked! This was a really great addition. It is good as a stand alone book or if, like me, you are reading the series. It has a good plot and strong characters. I like books about strong women and I also liked that the main character was vulnerable as well as strong.

    I highly recommend this book as a great escape, but I warn you: you may get hooked on the entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining and Moving

    If you haven't read another novel in Bishop's Dark Jewels universe, this wouldn't be where I'd start. Go read the opening trilogy in the series first, which starts with "Daughter of the Blood," since this novel would act as a spoiler, and those are the strongest novels in the series. You'd also want to read "The Shadow Queen" first, since "Shalador's Lady" is the sequel, and I think you'd be lost without reading it. ("The Invisible Ring," which is set a few hundred years before, also provides backstory, but I don't think is necessary to be read first). If you have read and enjoyed "The Shadow Queen" however, you won't be disappointed, in fact I think this is the stronger novel. I think the antagonist is a bit weak, and Theron, and even Cassidy at a certain point acted in ways that made me want to slap them, but this story more than once moved me to laughter and tears, and any novel that does that belongs among my favorites. And if you do love the Dark Jewels books, it's like settling down to catch up with old friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Stayed up all night to read it; Anne Bishop rocks as usual

    This book continues the story of the Rose Queen, AKA Shadow Queen, only much more in-depth and utterly entrancing. The character development of the people of Shalador and Dena Nehele slowly builds and draws you in, while refreshing your memory of the original Black Jewels Trilogy with familiar characters that show up occasionally. It is not as dark as the original series, though it certainly has moments of twisted, dark cruelty. There are also moments of laughter and kindness; there is an abundance of Shelties! And above all, Protocol.

    It is a page-turner which I could not put down; I literally stayed up all night to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Shalador's Lady

    I really enjoy Anne Bishop's jewel series and this is another great addition. She interweaves effortlessly new characters with already established and well-loved characters. Every new addition propels the overarching story forward...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Long awaited for

    I had been really anticipating the release of this book and was NOT disapointed. It delivered a compelling continuation of the story while being able to interweave more information on beloved characters from her earlier series. The really nice thing was that while it helps to have read her original black jewels trilogy it isn't all together necessary to be able to enjoy the current book. If you are looking for a series that can strike a cord with your imagination of a different world that is both brighter and yet darker than this one and like reading fantasy then you should like this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Bishop has yet to let me down!

    A wonderful book expanding on The Shadow Queen and The Invisible Ring. It concludes the rebirth of Dena Nehele after the Witch Storm cleansed the realms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Absolutely amazing!

    Anne Bishop readers will love this. Its just as great as all her other books. I couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    Fantastic Addition!

    This is an amazing book, and an awesome addition to the Black Jewels family! The characters were well written and personable, both the returning characters and the newer additions. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good fantasy read, that you will want to read again and again over the years! I highly recommend that the previous titles be read first. they are all well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    Shalador's Lady Great book, couldn't put it down

    I don't want to give away anything, but it is a great continuation book following the Shadow Queen. I loved the romance between Cassie and Gray. The book begs for you to read more when you pick it up, it wraps you into the story with a warming spell. I recommend all the Dark Jewels trilogy before reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Fans of the long running Black Jewels saga will relish this terrific entry

    When she was Queen the first time, Cassidy of Bhad was too weak and plain so her retinue deserted her to join the stronger court of much prettier and more powerful Queen Kermilla. At the same she is dethroned, the deceitful Queens ignored the honorable Rules of the Blood and ruin Dena Nehele leading to revolt.
    .

    As the Rose-Jeweled Queen Cassidy expands her efforts to cleanse the entire realm and affirm she deserves being the ruler, Cassidy continues to grow in moral fiber, which enables her to grow in power to cleanse the land of the taint.

    Fans of the long running Black Jewels saga will relish this terrific entry; newcomers need to at least read the previous entry The Shadow Queen to better understand the action-packed entry though perusing previous books would be even better as Anne Bishop paints a complex realm.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9