Customer Reviews for

Shaman

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Highly recommend

    Carlos lend his flair in melding with other artist to bring us cross generational music. His Latin roots colored with newer artist introduces a breath of fresh air, in comparison to some of the newer stale offerings. Nothin redundant here, just good "ole fashioned tunes"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrific Song

    Love the lyrics of the Chad Kroeger and Santana song, "Why don't you and I?" Love the voice and beat as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The aura that is uiniquely Santana

    I love that the experience and musical brilliance of Santana is being paired with great new artists who have so much diversity and so much to give with their music. The initial decision to pair Santana with Rob Thomas for "Smooth" in "Supernatural" (the cd Santana released before "Shaman") was such a great gift. You might wonder if another similarly conceived album would be a cheap imitiation or just another sequel to capitolize on a hit. I think the opposite is true - I think in "Shaman" Santana perfected the art of duets and they each sound fresh and new - Michelle Branch, Macy Gray, Dido, Seal and Placido Domingo (!) all share great tracks with Santana that easily compliment each other in such an interesting and refreshing way. Every track is a little more interesting than the next and all of them whether duets or not have a spiritual humilty to them that has the unique aura of Santana. There is so much richness in this cd and it's been out for a long time but it's still a favorite in my cd magazine. This cd demonstrates that an artist like Santana can continue to evolve, find new audiences and still maintain a connection to his individual style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The more you listen, the more you like it

    I first heard the CD when it was released; and did not really like it at all. However, I was forced to listen to it in my week in and week out UAL flights; and this CD really makes my 5 hour flight a joy. I really enjoy listening to the CD over and over again; and each track is a gem. Clive and Santana have created another album for the ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    you need to put an extra star just for this album

    santanas new album is the best..this man outperforms his previous album everytime. the song "foo foo" is a remake of an old haitian carnaval song by tabou combo or dixie band im not quite sure. still popular in places like panama,colombia,venezuela!!! he could of only topped it off by including emilio regueira (emilio esteffan protege) of rabanes on this track!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Listen and Learn

    The more you listen to this music the more you understand the meaning of artistic expression. The legendary Santana licks are all there and thanks to his brilliance in working with a rainbow collection of musicians the music is always fresh and interesting. The musical and creative genius shows and contributes to the living legend of Santana.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    excellent!!!

    Santana is a genius, he has written magic!!! He has definitely done it again, but better, there's not a bad song on this cd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Carlos Santana's Shaman

    With his latest release, Shaman, Carlos Santana has once again proven that he can compliment any type of music. As with Supernatural, Shaman is less a Santana album than a collection of various artists, each collaborating with one of the greatest guitarists of all time. There's a much wider variety of musical genres explored on Shaman than on Supernatural. There's the usual pop oriented tracks such as "The Game of Love", featuring Michelle Branch, "Feels like Fire" with Dido and "You Are My Kind" with Seal. All of which are sure to please the critics and fans alike. He has thrown in a few tracks that are obviously his own, and even a track with opera star Placido Domingo. There is one track on the album that the critics just can't seem to stomach. Unanimously, the critics have shredded "America", featuring the rap-metal band P.O.D. I disagree. While I will admit that "America" is essentially a P.O.D. song, Santana gives the song a bluesy feel that compliments it quite well. It may not be Santana's best effort, but it's a good song nonetheless. I would recommend Shaman to anyone who liked Supernatural. It's one of the best albums to be released this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1