Customer Reviews for

Shaman's Crossing (Soldier Son Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love this series!

I own the books in paper(my dog peed on inheritance!) And read them anytime I need a dragon fix. Christopher Paolini is an absolute genius. I'm telling you this now, if you can't decide if you want to buy it-do a favor for yourself and buy it!

posted by 18531831 on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting read

I enjoyed this book, even though Navarre was not my favorite character. He was trying so hard to be the perfect son and perfect soldier son that sometimes what he did was more wrong than right. He also tried so hard to fight the Speck magic that threatened not only to...
I enjoyed this book, even though Navarre was not my favorite character. He was trying so hard to be the perfect son and perfect soldier son that sometimes what he did was more wrong than right. He also tried so hard to fight the Speck magic that threatened not only to take his soul, but make it impossible to be the perfect son. However, it was an interesting look into a young boy to man's journey. I'm looking forward to seeing what the next book has in store for Navarre.

posted by kayek1 on March 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Love this series!

    I own the books in paper(my dog peed on inheritance!) And read them anytime I need a dragon fix. Christopher Paolini is an absolute genius. I'm telling you this now, if you can't decide if you want to buy it-do a favor for yourself and buy it!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Interesting read

    I enjoyed this book, even though Navarre was not my favorite character. He was trying so hard to be the perfect son and perfect soldier son that sometimes what he did was more wrong than right. He also tried so hard to fight the Speck magic that threatened not only to take his soul, but make it impossible to be the perfect son. However, it was an interesting look into a young boy to man's journey. I'm looking forward to seeing what the next book has in store for Navarre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not that bad

    I have read some really negative reviews about this series. I was even told to skip it completely. But I rarely do as I am told and wanted to make up my own mind. The first book is good. Not great. But not as bad as I was lead to believe. The writing is good. The characters are real although they do fall short of being truly likable. I recommend reading the Farseer series first. And saving this one for last or near to last. But if you're a fan I think you might find something here to like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    OMG AMAZING BOOK

    I finished this book about three weeks ago and Im stiil raving over it. Ive given it to a couple of big reader friends and they all rave over it as well. I couldn't find a better book. The politics in it are something else and you can almost see the sceans concerning the Tree Woman and the Dark Night. Killer good book and recomend it to any reader!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    Nevare... second son... mystic and realistic...

    A successful novel requires a well-laid background to support the premise and characterizations the author is promoting. Robin Hobb does just that in SHAMAN'S CROSSING, with intensity. Hobb's attention to writing a novel with an 'ease-of-flow grasp' of the building backdrop is meticulously nurtured for the reader's benefit. The story of Nevare Burvelle and his journey promises page-to-page consistency, propelling the reader's interest forward as the story builds and unfolds. Nevare Burvelle is the second son destined from birth to carry a sword, a 'soldier's second son', the heritage from his once-soldier father who was made a noble by the King of Gernia. Nevare's destiny is to attend the King's Cavella Academy. He prepares during his youth with tutors -- equestrian, studies of mathematics, and the like. At 16, his father gives Nevare to an enemy, a Kidona Plainsman: ruthless Dewara for instruction in survival, and temperament. Dewara leads Nevare on a very painful path both mentally and physically, with some mysticism. Nevare was warned that the Plainspeople use 'tricks'. People who do not ride the Plains of the Midlands say they are 'flat and featureless' and 'roll on endlessly'. Nevare's thoughts have the author Hobb's special touch of expression: 'I had grown up on the Midlands and knew well how deceptive their gentle rises and falls could be. Ravines and sudden crevasses smiled with hidden mouths, just waiting to devour the unwary rider. Even the gentle hollows were often deep enough to conceal mounted men or browsing deer. What the unschooled eye might interpret as scrub brush in the distance could prove to be a shoulder-high patch of sickle-berry, almost impenetrable to a man on horseback.' Nevare narrates¿ As dictated by the 'Writ' , 'I was the son of a noble. 'Of those who bend the knee only to the king, let them have sons in plenitude. The first for an heir, the second to wear the sword, the third to serve as priest, the fourth to labor for beauty's sake, the fifth to gather knowledge¿' and so on. I'd never bothered to memorize the rest of that passage. I had my place and I knew it. I was the second son¿ Nevare enters the cavalla with little knowledge of why the old aristocracy looks down on him as the son of a 'new noble', and is unprepared for the political and social maneuvering of the deeply competitive school and city, especially the 'meanness' of the old nobles' sons. Making a circle of friends within his new noble status, Nevare finds himself entangled in a web of injustice, discrimination, and foul play. And the lessons are painful¿ Hobb's writing is great swords-and-sorcery, with the feeling of modern military schooling and prejudices, and the author's world building is superb and intelligently related to the reader. The heart-thumping, sword-clashing action that Hobb creates, offers a world-class fantasy saga, a heart-rending examination of the consequences of duty and love. Thank you Robin Hobb for an outstanding performance in a wondrous genre, with great narrative sequences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    Okay

    It was okay, for a fantasy beginner. It was boring though, and very hard to get into. I might be a little biased, having read Hobb's other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Good Read

    The pages flew by as the story is good and keeps you flipping pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    A somewhat interesting tale, but I couldn't really get into the

    A somewhat interesting tale, but I couldn't really get into the story line or the characters that much, although I tried. Makes me miss the Farseer, Liveship, and Tawny Man trilogies even more. *sigh*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    THIS BOOK SUCKS SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!

    It's really bad and a complete waste of money. The character suckes, the plot suckes, everything suckes.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Dark and thoughtful

    This series.is.a real departure for Hobb. It is really dark and wrestles with big, ugly issues around race, colonization, and ecology, If you are an Octavia Butler fan, this is for you. If you like dragons and a more conventional narrative, read her next Rainwild series instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    good book sergh is wrong

    i read this b4 i got my nook robin hobb is my second favorite author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Only one in the series worth reading....

    I read this because it was one of the few ones available for download from the library. It actually wasn't that bad and kept me interested enough throughout the book. It has enough changes occurring in it so you don't get bored. Made me want to read the remaining two in the series. Don't! The next two drag out and don't really go anywhere. In fact, it seems you could skip the the second one almost. This series had a promising start but ultimately fails in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I wanted to like this trilogy but...

    I tried - I really ,really did. I picked up this novel and attempted to like it. After all, Robin Hobb is an accomplished novelist and her previous work has been engaging and exciting. The Soldier Son series, however, is --- deep breath ---- horrible.
    Hobb's creation of a unique system of magical talent is, quite frankly, disgusting, perverse and offensive.
    While her characters are three dimensional - they make choices unreleated to their personality, ambition or purpose.
    The plot is thready, tired and over-drawn.
    I highly recommend the Tawny Man series. Pick up those novels and leave this terrible dreck on the shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't finish it

    Most bad stories I can get through, however I had to put this one down. Some things just don't mix well together, oil and water for example. The environmental twist in this story just didn't mix here either. This was the first book I have read by Robin Hobb; I have read that she has some good stories out there, but stay clear of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Help can not put this book down, it is too exciting to leave alone to long!

    xxxx

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    Tremendously disappointed

    I enjoyed quite a few of his previous books but this was one of the most boring reads. The main character was so weak I couldn't even dislike him. The plot seemed to go nowhere. Most interesting thing was the cover which showed more action than the whole book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Wonderfully written

    I enjoy reading this series and this one was just as enjoyable as the first. The funny thing about them, however, is that I hate the main character. He is a selfish, kind of oblivious, stubborn man. The other characters are richly designed and have all the main character lacks. The writing stlye, which is sophisticaed and immaginative, make the book wonderful, even if the main character difficult to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    A tough read

    This is a far cry from the author's previous books. It took me a while to get to the end. It gets worse as the book progresses. Main characters need to have a heroic quality in them and Nevare was a weakling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    Great introduction to the series, but not much happens

    After reading the Farseer and Tawny Man trilogies, I was looking forward to this one. This book is 600 pages, much longer than the others in the previous trilogies. There's a reason for this - there is a lot more character, location, and historical development in this book. In the first 350 pages or so, not much happens (there's one interesting chapter about Dewara though). I think probably some people will find this boring. It did get a little old after a while, but once you got through the bonding, history learning, introduction of the place - then things got going. The last few hundred pages went much faster than the first few. After the first half of the book I wasn't sure if I wanted to continue with the series. However, after reading the end though, I am interested in the next book. I'm hoping that a lot of the descriptive development was taken care of in this book and the next one can have more things happen in it. I would give it 3.5 stars - but as I can only pick between 3 or 4, I gave it 3. I do recommend it, but with the caveat that the reader knows not much will happen in the first half of the book, and that you are really being introduced to the characters, the world, and the problems. I know any first book in a new series needs this, but usually it doesn't take more than 300 pages. The writing style is along the same lines and has the same feeling as the Farseer books and is enjoyable to read. It took me less than a week to read and I looked forward to it each night. I would definitely start a new Robin Hobb reader on the Farseer trilogy first before this one though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    Not Farseer trilogy quality

    This does not hold up the high standards I expected from Robin Hobb. It obsesses about the soldier son fact to the point of ad nausea. All the military information makes the book extremely slow and not in a good way. The female characters were bland and so were many of the males. The story line had little action that was interesting. Still, it was slightly gripping and was a decent book, but certainly not her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4