Customer Reviews for

Shamrock Alley

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

SHAMROCK ALLEY provides readers with a solid undercover investigation

Secret Service agent John Mavio goes undercover in an effort to break up a particularly violent Irish gang working out of Hell's Kitchen. He plans to end their lucrative counterfeiting operation. As a collateral action, Mavio also hopes to bring to justice two predomi...
Secret Service agent John Mavio goes undercover in an effort to break up a particularly violent Irish gang working out of Hell's Kitchen. He plans to end their lucrative counterfeiting operation. As a collateral action, Mavio also hopes to bring to justice two predominantly nasty gang members, two twenty-something age killers Jimmy Kahn and Mickey O'Shay.

To achieve his objective Mavio pretends to be a criminal wanting to buy counterfeit money from Kahn and O'Shay. They do not trust him and he knows it making him wonder if a snitch is in his office working for the gang. Still he persists trying to obtain evidence to send both behind bars even knowing the danger if they uncover his identity to himself and his family; and the realism that O'Shay has never been convicted of any crime even when a cop witnessed him killing someone; which adds to his fear for his loved ones.

This is an interesting Manhattan police procedural that looks closely at the gangs, drugs, and those living at the peripheral on gangbanger waste and charity scraps in the cesspool. Ronald Damien Malfi paints a dark gloomy Manhattan based on a real 1980s case. Although the story line is very straightforward and in some regards narrow, SHAMROCK ALLEY provides readers with a solid undercover investigation and more fascinating in a sad macabre way the life of gangbanger groupies, hanger-ons and dependents.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not so hot

Looked like a good read, but it just kept dragging on. I finally gave up about yalf way thru.

posted by derek65 on August 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SHAMROCK ALLEY provides readers with a solid undercover investigation

    Secret Service agent John Mavio goes undercover in an effort to break up a particularly violent Irish gang working out of Hell's Kitchen. He plans to end their lucrative counterfeiting operation. As a collateral action, Mavio also hopes to bring to justice two predominantly nasty gang members, two twenty-something age killers Jimmy Kahn and Mickey O'Shay.

    To achieve his objective Mavio pretends to be a criminal wanting to buy counterfeit money from Kahn and O'Shay. They do not trust him and he knows it making him wonder if a snitch is in his office working for the gang. Still he persists trying to obtain evidence to send both behind bars even knowing the danger if they uncover his identity to himself and his family; and the realism that O'Shay has never been convicted of any crime even when a cop witnessed him killing someone; which adds to his fear for his loved ones.

    This is an interesting Manhattan police procedural that looks closely at the gangs, drugs, and those living at the peripheral on gangbanger waste and charity scraps in the cesspool. Ronald Damien Malfi paints a dark gloomy Manhattan based on a real 1980s case. Although the story line is very straightforward and in some regards narrow, SHAMROCK ALLEY provides readers with a solid undercover investigation and more fascinating in a sad macabre way the life of gangbanger groupies, hanger-ons and dependents.

    Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Good story.

    The majority of the story takes place in my old 'hood. Went to Parochial school at 52nd & 10th. Lived at 54th & 9th. Left in 1968, and have only been by there a couple of times, since. Never saw the type of violence in this book, but knew it existed. Hung out with a good bunch of people, mostly, but knew a couple of parents who were Westies. Never mentioned the Westies in the book. Some parts were nostalgic, some parts, just plain wrong. Good read, though!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Not so hot

    Looked like a good read, but it just kept dragging on. I finally gave up about yalf way thru.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    ...

    Can i join? I'm on often... but i have to go to camp all this week.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Just OK

    I find this to be another of those "free" books that is not that entertaining. I read it because it was free but have no desire to read another by this author. I'm sorry that B&N don't provide more top rated choices. Put up a best seller once in a while would be nice. I don't recommend Nook to my friends becuase I don't feel that the free books and services are worth it.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Good book

    Good read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Okay

    Very interesting read, but sorry I could not read beyond page 161. Too slow going with too much detail. I was so anxious to read this but I felt bogged down and tended to lose concentration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    To nettlestar

    May I send a group of cats from serpentclan to spy on leafclan?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Bruce

    Roars

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Darkflame

    Nods. I agree.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    STONESTAR !!!!!!

    Mom its me flamepaw. Im back but only for 3 days

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No

    No. Oh stormstar got hit bye a monster. She visited my dreams. Oh IM NOT NETTLESTAR ANY MORE THIS CLANS BEEN ABANDONED

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good read but too wordy.

    Good story but found myself skimming thru parts that were too descriptive. Needs about half of the adjectives edited out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    VIOLENT!!

    VIOLENT! This was an interesting book, but the violence was almost overwhelming. Not one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Prophecy

    The fang of adder shall rose to the top to stop the shadows of blood from destroying all

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Rp...i get how to go somewhere...but what then?

    Bn locks people out? Don't you buy a book or magazine now and then? Why don' they designate areas for u?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Lightningstream

    (I didnt kill myself i had a lump in my belly and it killed me) her body lay motionless in the elders den. ~ Lightningstream

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Blossomflower

    Lightningstream why did you kill yourself

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Leafsky

    Fluffypelt cant rp for two-three days. He told me in rl. -Leafsky

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2