BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shane

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shane book review

Shane is one of the best western novels I have ever read. This story is filled with excitement and thrillig action. This is one of those books that you just don't want to put down, after reading this you'll think I want to be more like Shane. The characters are amazing ...
Shane is one of the best western novels I have ever read. This story is filled with excitement and thrillig action. This is one of those books that you just don't want to put down, after reading this you'll think I want to be more like Shane. The characters are amazing and very creative and went well with the western genre. This book is for anyone the vocabulary is fairly simple and the organization of this story is superb, The author did an amazing job writing this story. This is one book that I would love to read over and over.

posted by speed_demon on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too detailed

I read this for school and it is too detailed.

posted by 14506704 on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Lovely

    Truly told from a boy's perspective. Beautiful and clear story on courage, pride, loyalty, family, and doing what's right. Wonderful and relevant lessons throughout.
    This book is largely character driven, and by that i mean the character of the characters. A little slow at first, this book took me chapters to get in it, but once I did, I really enjoyed how the rich imagery and writing style really brought to life such a simple story and idea. Lovely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    was a surprise

    I have to admit, when i first started reading this book, i was losing interest, but after the first couple chapters it was a great book. This book is a true classic, and i recommend it for just about anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    A truly great novel

    Jack Shaffuer wrote a truly great book on Shane, and is the perfect book for adventure or action readers. The book was very good to read and all the build ups kept me going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2001

    How the West was Won

    Not many western novels have been said to be a classic, but Shane is one of them (Simmons 1). For not being from the West Jack Schaefer seems to have a commendable grasp on it (Tibbets 200. The selection of Wyoming for a setting also made the story relate to the west (Platt 1). In this book Shane handles an ax, his fist, and gun with accuracy and thought, just as Schaefer handles his words (Platt 1). Because of this thoughtful writing, I think a variety of things in the book have a symbolic meaning, including the characters. Shane is a character that is hard to understand at first, but makes the story more interesting (Simmons 2). Starrett represents what is good and right about America (Platt 2). He is loving and willing to fight for his family safety. The story is more entertaining to me knowing that there is a larger meaning. I believe Shane should not be read as a simple western story. It insists a deep response from the people who read it (Simmons 1). Shane has a universal meaning behind it and can be related to the entire world (Simmons 1). The struggle for peace is the fight for the farmers to grow and the homesteaders to decrease (Platt 1). Just as in the world we strive for good to prevail and evil to lessen. Shane is the type of book that will be read from generation to generation (Simmons 3) because of it's universality and grasp on the West. I liked reading a western that did not follow the traditional method but understood the concept of a western. PS-Mr. White is my favorite teacher and his is going to give me the last day of school off for this great paper! (PLEASE) Thanks Mr. White

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2000

    Shane: Man of Mystery

    Shane is a mysterious man who comes along the dusty road to stay at the Starrett's farm. He helps the Starretts with the work and problems they have with the other ranchers. This is a great book that but you will have a hard time putting it down. There is non-stop action and a little romance to go with it. I recommend this book highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    Shane, better than the movie

    I do not like Westerns, but this book was the best Western I've ever read. Though, the movie made me like the book ALOT more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1