Customer Reviews for

Shanna

Average Rating 4.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    I read this book and many others by this author when I was a you

    I read this book and many others by this author when I was a young woman. I am retired now and was looking for a good read and didn't find any that took me away like this author did so I've decided to buy and reread some of my favorites. I'm starting off with Kathleen E Woodiwiss because The Wolf and the Dove was the first historical romance novel I ever read and I still remember it and how much I enjoyed it. You should try them too, you won' regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Original romance with several climactic points throughout.

    As romances go this novel was pretty satisfying. The protagonists had to go through a lot of adversity through the completion of the story. Shanna herself could be a bit annoying because she was always going against the grain but it was necessary to the storyline. Ruark (the male protagonist) was hot, intelligent, strong, persistent, resilient, and charming. When Mr. Perfect comes along why not lose yourself in him?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    One of my favorite books! Shanna was so spoiled and determined t

    One of my favorite books! Shanna was so spoiled and determined to have her way and stay single. She marries a man unknown to her and bound for death in prison . Going back to her father who had order her to marry as a widow. Unknown to her the man she married was never put to death and ends up in her life again. Very good book I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    really enjoyed

    This was the first romance novel I ever read. It was given to me by a new neighbor about 30 years ago. I couldn't put it down then, so bought for my nook and reread it again last month. Still a very exciting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    #1 favorite!

    Shanna - I read this book years ago and decided to add it to my e-library. There's romance, drama, intrigue, colorful characters...
    You'll love this book and all from K. Woodiwiss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Loved it!

    A GREAT book, somewhat annoying that one minute Ruark and Shanna are at eachother's throat and the next their in bed...but whatever. Good strong characters, interesting storyline, different from the usual storyline of her books (the basic plot lines are all pretty similar: hate eachother, man lusts after her, woos her, the get married, some huge problem, save the day)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    great book

    I have to say that if I had read this book some 8 years ago when I first opened by book of romance, I would have liked it much more. This is a great book with strong characters (except the lead man) and an intriguing storyline, but at times I felt it was exasperrating. The whole of the book deals with Shanna's unyielding refusal of Ruark. She jumps into bed with him then afterwards, hates him with a vengence that scares even me. In some ways, I believe that if we were to make Shanna plain-faced but not unpretty who came from a resprectable family and not so gloriously goddess like in appearance, then there would be no romance... Really, what could Ruark see in this girl if she was not so beautiful? I was a little disappointed that the author made Ruark so single-minded. He lusted after her like ANY of the men before him and wanted to possess her like ANY of the men before him basically, how was he different from any of the men before? Sure, Shanna claims the previous suitors to be after her father's money, but c'mon, I'm sure ONE of the hundreds had to be interested in her as a person. (and then in this case, Ruark didn't care for money and you'll see why....) Ruark basically forced himself onto her. It was only after being with him that she suddenly came around to like him and made him out to be different from the rest. But if you read the book, at first impression and even afterwards, the author writes about how he lusted after her constantly. To me, he would appear just like all the other suitors. Ok, now that I've had my say, I loved the writing style. Very detailed. Great book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    My mother named me after this book

    I thought this was a good book. It was the first romance book I read as had my mother apparently. I thought the author did a great job making the reader relate to her characters and the plot is original, compared to the same stuff you see over and over today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2000

    Shanna!

    I haven't read the book yet, but I just wanted to say that my Mom loved it a lot! And I'll tell you how I know..my name is Shanna. She loved it so much she named me after the strong, independent woman she read about! I hope to read the book soon, though. Obivously it's a good book, read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2000

    Enojy the Woodiwiss classics!

    I just finished reading this book yesterday and I thought it VERY good. Though I have seen her do better with the Birmingham trilogy and A Rose in Winter. But in this book I found that she explained a person's heart much better than she had in others. I recommend it to all because you see another versital side of this talkented writer as she gives glorious detail of a 'magical island'. The only one flaw is that it tends to drag a little. But I know that many of you will enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2