Customer Reviews for

Shark Life: True Stories about Sharks and the Sea

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

does anybody like sharks!?!?!?!?! theyre sooo cool! there not as dangerous as people say they are!

sharks rule!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 6650882 on March 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Peter Benchley Classic!

While looking for a book to spark my daughter's interest in reading, I chose "Shark Life" because she and I love watching "Shark Week" together every summer.
Getting her to sit down and read it proved to be a little difficult until I told her, "Well, since you don't ...
While looking for a book to spark my daughter's interest in reading, I chose "Shark Life" because she and I love watching "Shark Week" together every summer.
Getting her to sit down and read it proved to be a little difficult until I told her, "Well, since you don't want to read it now, I'll just read it before you." Needless to say I wasn't let down at the least! Throughout the book Mr. Benchley educates his readers about various creatures that live in the sea, sharks being his main topic. He also includes true stories about his enounters with sharks. Anyway, I couldn't put the book down until I'd completed it.
Seeing my interest in this book drove my daughter to pick the book up and read it. Throughout the book she'd read portions of it, or an entire chapter, and then stop and look at me with her eyes wide open and say, "Wow mom, did this stuff really happen?"
I fully recommend this book for children who haven't found the fondness of reading, as well as those who love reading about mysterous creatures of the sea.

posted by Hello_from_NC on May 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    does anybody like sharks!?!?!?!?! theyre sooo cool! there not as dangerous as people say they are!

    sharks rule!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    all sharks

    All sharks are animals you know everyone should love and respevt them and not just sharks other animals to and just one time the world woud be perfect 80 years ago people thought that sharks were harmless and they are just if you get to close then they can be dangerous

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Shark life

    My friend always read this book she ask me and ask me to read this book and I did and this book is really cool now im starting to read a lot more about shark an even waching shpw about them. I just wont to say thank you so much best friend

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Anonimus

    Luv it!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    A great book

    I love shaks and this book makes me love shaks even more i think 7- 13 years should get this book i think people slould buy this book and read it is a great book you slould read it your slelf to find out your self how great this book is.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Gr8

    Sounds amazing! All i read was the sample and i was hooked! See wht i did ther? I luv sharks and marine life

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Lovely and helpful

    *1st of all this book is not an actual story... just saying. I found this book really interesting and ienjoyed the mishaps and anectdotes mixed in with actual imformation on all dangers, and beauties, of the sea, from riptides to eels to orcas and of course sharks. This collection of tales is nicely catorgerized by creatures so you can find info on whatever you fancy at the moment. The true stories are often charming, shocking, nerve racking, fummy, or all of the above. I would not reccomend reading straight throigh and expecting developing charachters amd such, it is not in chronological order, its organized by critters. Overall great! *anyone else find it delightfully ironic that the writer of the infoumous shark bashing horror "JAWS" has written a conservational book about the shark people asumed he feared... maybe he felt guilty amd this is damage control cause he loves sharks<3

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    A Peter Benchley Classic!

    While looking for a book to spark my daughter's interest in reading, I chose "Shark Life" because she and I love watching "Shark Week" together every summer.
    Getting her to sit down and read it proved to be a little difficult until I told her, "Well, since you don't want to read it now, I'll just read it before you." Needless to say I wasn't let down at the least! Throughout the book Mr. Benchley educates his readers about various creatures that live in the sea, sharks being his main topic. He also includes true stories about his enounters with sharks. Anyway, I couldn't put the book down until I'd completed it.
    Seeing my interest in this book drove my daughter to pick the book up and read it. Throughout the book she'd read portions of it, or an entire chapter, and then stop and look at me with her eyes wide open and say, "Wow mom, did this stuff really happen?"
    I fully recommend this book for children who haven't found the fondness of reading, as well as those who love reading about mysterous creatures of the sea.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Sweetheart

    Come on to the nursery beechqueen

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    By me

    It was a really good sample i just wish i could get the whole book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Ffdxfghuteedxcghutf

    Fddxcghuyredxcvvhhgfdddxccvhjfdxxcvbnutrdvgccggdsvuduzfigddfgd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    true godd Great as Great as white

    Love sharks good stories and the real jaws book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Great!!!

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Fbdbsmeh,snsk

    Super bad yal

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cool book!

    The great Peter Benchley writes a nonfiction book about sharks and life under the sea. Entertaining and educational. And remember, he wrote Jaws. This man knows sharks. -Michael

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Great bokk

    I love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    I hate it

    I would not recamend this book

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    Ok book

    For me a great book includes. A easy to follow story. A good plot and setting. And a great storyline that keeps you wondering whats next. This book had a relativly good story and easy to follow setting. The characters were easy to remember. But the story line was too predictable. The book was dissapointing towards the end it just sagged off. I woulndnt reccoment this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    peter benchley's shark life is great

    This was a great and exiting book this book tells us about sharks as well as other creatures, life and true nature. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves animals, sharks in general, and other creatures of the deep.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    Thrilling shark book! Read!

    ¿How many other writers, I wondered, have written the story that foretells their own horrible death?¿ I chose this quote because it is one of the most powerful lines in the book. If you are looking for a tense, electrifying non- fiction book about sharks, Shark Life is for you. In this book, Peter Benchley, (author of the best-selling book, Jaws), writes a series of true, vivid stories about shark encounters and attacks. Although these stories take up the majority of the book, Shark Life also includes other useful information such as tips for shark encounters and how to avoid an attack. Benchley also makes scattered references to where certain sharks live and which sharks are worth worrying about. Here and there Benchley also writes about his own personal breathtaking diving experiences which had me at the edge of my seat the whole time. For instance, in one story he describes his experience in a cage right before shooting the movie of Jaws. In his encounter, a great white shark attacks the cage and nearly drags it down into the abyss of the ocean (with him still inside of it). When I read this book, I was captivated the whole time. The suspense, descriptions, and stories had me turning pages for very long periods of time. I can highly recommend this book to anybody who takes any interest in non-fiction, thrilling stories about sharks and the sea and/or anybody who enjoyed the book Jaws. If you are one of these people, it would be the wrong choice not to pick up this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2