Customer Reviews for

Shark vs. Train

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

More Fun Than You Usually Find Between the Covers

Gosh, this book is THE book I would give as a gift to a young boy right now. It's as good as Mini Grey's Traction Man in its understanding of the adolescent imagination. A shark and a locomotive face-off in a series of far-fetched, hilarious competitions -- playing the ...
Gosh, this book is THE book I would give as a gift to a young boy right now. It's as good as Mini Grey's Traction Man in its understanding of the adolescent imagination. A shark and a locomotive face-off in a series of far-fetched, hilarious competitions -- playing the piano, roasting marshmallows, pie-eating, burping, going off the high dive. (Additional comic details are provided by the train's poor caboose, which is getting an unfair share of the abuse by virtue of its location.) It's pure solid-gold silliness, a book that could make a boy understand how much fun stories can be.

A note to the reader: If I were sharing this with a child for the first time, I would skip the front matter and start the story on the title page.(The first two illustrations, before the title page, reveal that the shark and the train are toys, wielded by two playmates.) If you skip to the title page the ending -- with the boys called to lunch -- is a delightful surprise.

posted by Sue_Corbett on April 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Where are the games?

This is a read and play, but we don't seem to have the "star pages." Can anyone help with this?

posted by jannez64 on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More Fun Than You Usually Find Between the Covers

    Gosh, this book is THE book I would give as a gift to a young boy right now. It's as good as Mini Grey's Traction Man in its understanding of the adolescent imagination. A shark and a locomotive face-off in a series of far-fetched, hilarious competitions -- playing the piano, roasting marshmallows, pie-eating, burping, going off the high dive. (Additional comic details are provided by the train's poor caboose, which is getting an unfair share of the abuse by virtue of its location.) It's pure solid-gold silliness, a book that could make a boy understand how much fun stories can be.

    A note to the reader: If I were sharing this with a child for the first time, I would skip the front matter and start the story on the title page.(The first two illustrations, before the title page, reveal that the shark and the train are toys, wielded by two playmates.) If you skip to the title page the ending -- with the boys called to lunch -- is a delightful surprise.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    My son was rolling in the floor- great choice

    We picked this book as a summer read for him. He loved it and read it twice in a row. He shows anyone who will listen the page about the library and laughs hysterically. Look forward to more like this.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    My son sleeps with this book

    Love this book. My train-crazy 4 year-old just giggles with delight. And is there anything better than reading to your child and listening to his/her ticked funny-bone turn into a gaggle of giggles? Our favorite part is the carnival page where tickets for the train ride are $1.00 and there is a line of kids waiting and riding. And the poor shark is in an above-ground pool all alone; his rides have been marked down from a $1.00 to free...and the sign says - "You must be this --> crazy to ride this ride." Hilarious for mom & dad and kids.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    LOVE this book!

    This has got to be my son's all time favorite book right now. He loves trains and sharks so I knew this would be a winner in our home. It is funny and creative and we all love it!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    !

    my 5 year old loves this book!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Facebook

    Cool!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Huhuhuhuhihuh

    This book is the best book ever and my brother has it on his nook

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Man who will win

    Gfururyh

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Best book ever!

    Two of my grandson's favorite things in one book! Who would have thought? Very entertaining. We always prefer the read-to-me feature at 3 years old. Great illustrations and great sound effects. Your preschooler will love it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    So awsome

    Im in 11th grade and i love story time

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    My 6 year old twin boys LOVE this book! I bought it as a surprise for them & they loved reading it on the Nook. It's a delightful book about the differences when you try to compare apples (sharks) to oranges (trains). The boys keep talking about it--that's how I know it's good!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!

    This is the best book in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



    &p.s. I love it too

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Which is superior shark or train? Who is better and can come out

    Which is superior shark or train? Who is better and can come out on top? It all depends on the situation and you will discover that in the pages of this book when these two little boys start the competition. Grabbing these two toys from the toy box, they come up with some interesting completion against a train and a shark. Whether they’re in the ocean, playing video games, eating pies, sword fighting, running a lemonade stand or one of the many other competitions the boys put the two toys up against; it’s all just fun and games in the end. The variety of the tasks is entertaining and each toy is shown for having a variety of skills and talents. No toy is superior in the long run and it’s that back-n-forth positive affirmation that I enjoyed. The pictures are large and comical, there’s the burping completion with the train earning a solid 9 and the shark scoring a 0. Come to the carnival and join the celebration; who wants pay $1 for train rides vs. a free ride with a shark, I wonder who has the largest line?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Anonymus!

    SO GOOD!
    My brother loves it! He is almost 5 and he giggles so hard that he cannot stop! It is hystarical!!!!!!
    And I am only 7 !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Cool

    I read this book in school!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2