Customer Reviews for

Sharks & Boys

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

MY REVIEW

Great plot, intense action/events, wonderful characters. Overall work of art. Summary: Enid Calhoun follows her partially ex-boyfriend Wick Jarboe (they are taking a break) over 500 miles to Annapolis from her home in Vermont to make sure he's not cheating on her at a p...
Great plot, intense action/events, wonderful characters. Overall work of art. Summary: Enid Calhoun follows her partially ex-boyfriend Wick Jarboe (they are taking a break) over 500 miles to Annapolis from her home in Vermont to make sure he's not cheating on her at a party she forbade him to go to. She suspects he's going to see a stripper named Gretchen. She goes after him and the six other boys (her twin bro Landon, Wick's twin bro Dale, bros Burr and Skate Riggs, and bros Sov and Munny Paddington) onto a boat named Gretchen. From there, the four sets of twins embark on a wild, deadly, and unexpected adventure out onto the ocean.

posted by 6239582 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

I wasn't sure what I would think of this story, as I had read some reviews by others that were mixed. A lot of people felt that Enid was annoying, flirting with all the boys while in a dangerous situation, and other issues. So I was pleasantly surprised to find myself ...
I wasn't sure what I would think of this story, as I had read some reviews by others that were mixed. A lot of people felt that Enid was annoying, flirting with all the boys while in a dangerous situation, and other issues. So I was pleasantly surprised to find myself really engrossed in this story. I've always liked, I'm ashamed to admit, stories about people floating out in the ocean with sharks and having to fight to survive. I feel awful that I find that entertaining, but I can't help it. I loved the movie Deep Water, and this sort of reminded me of a teen version of that.

Enid follows her boyfriend Wick to a party aboard a boathouse, thinking he might cheat on her since he had asked, earlier that day, if they could take a break from their relationship. I thought the author did a good job here maneuvering her characters into this situation using this plot device. Once out there, we begin to get to know the characters a lot more, as they are having to fight to stay alive. They battle the sun, lack of water and food, weakness, hypothermia, and sharks. Secrets are revealed, relationships are broken and mended. Basically, all these characters are stripped bear of their facades and barriers and you begin to see who they really are.

I didn't find Enid annoying at all, but very strong. She was a teenager, so of course there is going to be some angst. It wasn't overwhelming. She seemed to worry about the right things at the appropriate times. About the only thing that stopped me a little was the whole twin thing. I can't really explain further because I don't want to give too much away, but this was one element of the story that I never quite understood. The author never really explained this, but it wasn't enough to pull me out of the story.

The book had excitement, adventure, tragedy, sadness and love. It was really good and I was really glad to have read it. Looking forward to more Kristen Tracy.

posted by Readergirl_Reviews on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    I wasn't sure what I would think of this story, as I had read some reviews by others that were mixed. A lot of people felt that Enid was annoying, flirting with all the boys while in a dangerous situation, and other issues. So I was pleasantly surprised to find myself really engrossed in this story. I've always liked, I'm ashamed to admit, stories about people floating out in the ocean with sharks and having to fight to survive. I feel awful that I find that entertaining, but I can't help it. I loved the movie Deep Water, and this sort of reminded me of a teen version of that.

    Enid follows her boyfriend Wick to a party aboard a boathouse, thinking he might cheat on her since he had asked, earlier that day, if they could take a break from their relationship. I thought the author did a good job here maneuvering her characters into this situation using this plot device. Once out there, we begin to get to know the characters a lot more, as they are having to fight to stay alive. They battle the sun, lack of water and food, weakness, hypothermia, and sharks. Secrets are revealed, relationships are broken and mended. Basically, all these characters are stripped bear of their facades and barriers and you begin to see who they really are.

    I didn't find Enid annoying at all, but very strong. She was a teenager, so of course there is going to be some angst. It wasn't overwhelming. She seemed to worry about the right things at the appropriate times. About the only thing that stopped me a little was the whole twin thing. I can't really explain further because I don't want to give too much away, but this was one element of the story that I never quite understood. The author never really explained this, but it wasn't enough to pull me out of the story.

    The book had excitement, adventure, tragedy, sadness and love. It was really good and I was really glad to have read it. Looking forward to more Kristen Tracy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    I loved it! It is an amazing book!

    I loved it! It is an amazing book! I wish we knew how Wick and Enid ended up after they got home!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Sharks and boys

    This book is so good, u peeps out there should read this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    MY REVIEW

    Great plot, intense action/events, wonderful characters. Overall work of art. Summary: Enid Calhoun follows her partially ex-boyfriend Wick Jarboe (they are taking a break) over 500 miles to Annapolis from her home in Vermont to make sure he's not cheating on her at a party she forbade him to go to. She suspects he's going to see a stripper named Gretchen. She goes after him and the six other boys (her twin bro Landon, Wick's twin bro Dale, bros Burr and Skate Riggs, and bros Sov and Munny Paddington) onto a boat named Gretchen. From there, the four sets of twins embark on a wild, deadly, and unexpected adventure out onto the ocean.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breanna F. for TeensReadToo

    "Enid has boy problems. But once she's adrift at sea in a life raft, they're not nearly as bad as her shark problems." One day, fifteen-year-old Enid's boyfriend decides that he wants to "take a break," and all of a sudden her life in Vermont starts to crash down around her. Right after Wick tells her he wants a break, he also announces that he'll be going on a trip with the other guys from their twin studies (Enid has a twin brother and they participate in twin studies with three other sets of twins). They'll be traveling to Annapolis to celebrate the end of the school year - and Enid does not like this one bit. On the day that the boys leave, Enid is helping out her mother at a wedding she's catering. Suddenly, she gets the idea to take her car and drive the 500 plus miles to Annapolis to spy on the boys. When she gets there, she hears them talking about Gretchen, which she assumes is a girl. So when they get in the van and drive down to the water, she of course follows. She's surprised to find out that Gretchen is a boat and proceeds to sneak on and hide out in the bathroom. The next thing she knows, they're out at sea in the middle of a terrible storm. Worse comes to worse and the boat sinks - and the eight friends find themselves squeezed into a tiny life raft surrounded by sharks. Now, Enid and the guys are faced with the possibility that no one has any idea where they are and that they may not survive. This wasn't the type of book that I was expecting from Kristen Tracy, but it was great! I could definitely understand why Enid decided to go spy on Wick and the other boys. From the very beginning of the book I could tell that something bad was going to happen, and that made it hard to put it down. For the majority of the story, the kids are stuck on the life raft, but that definitely doesn't mean that the book is boring by any means. A lot of things happen when they are on the raft that each set of twins has to work through. Not one part of this book is boring, so I highly recommend picking up a copy. If you don't mind a heart-wrenching story involving a little bit of blood and a lot of sharks, then this is the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Interesting Idea

    I found the synopsis of this novel very interesting and was excited to pick it up, especially since I'm deathly afraid of sharks and being shipwrecked is one of my biggest nightmares-a reason I haven't ever been on a cruise and rarely visit the ocean.

    Tracy does a phenomenal job keeping the story afloat (no pun intended) through the dialogue between the eight teens lost at sea. I will admit that I was filled with trepidation since "lost at sea" novels can be quite boring, balancing the entire story on description, and I am thankful that Tracy didn't do that in this story. There was a lot of dialogue and I think that it was quite accurate. If I was lost at sea on a raft with seven other people, I can see it panning out very similarly. I'd want to know how many people have been rescued in the past, what we should do to stay alive, how often sharks attack humans, project when we'd be found and, of course, argue. With eight people in a tightly enclosed space, that arguing is probably going to start sooner rather than later (and I'd probably be a huge proponent of it), and I think Tracy did a great job keeping reader interest.

    Now, that being said, I also have to admit that I didn't necessarily care for any of the characters within the story. While I did have a sense of foreboding and wished them all well, I never had a deep connection with them in which I really felt there pain, and I think part of the problem is that Enid, the main protagonist, drove me crazy. Her extreme insecurity was quite obnoxious and, if I were Wick, I would have dumped her too. I realize that she has a lot going on in her life and her parents' relationship has a lot to do with her insecurities, but I had a hard time getting past her rash responses to the different situations she finds herself enduring. It's almost as if she lacks common sense, and that portion of the novel wasn't my favorite, which is why, overall, I give this novel three and a half stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A bit too much....

    Sharks & Boys is a gritty, intensely realistic novel from Kristen Tracy that, had I read it at a different time, I might would have given four stars--or probably at least three and a half--to. I read it while on an eighth grade class trip, though, and just wasn't quite in the right place for the no-holds-barred drama that it contained. Enid's character comes off for much of the novel as fairly unsympathetic and overly obsessive, and I had a hard time really rooting for her. So many of her problems seemed to stem, at least in part, from her, and she was oblivious of it for much of the novel and blaming everyone else, which was frustrating. She did own up to much of it at the end, which was refreshing, but it took a lot to get her there. I really wanted to like this novel more than I did after reading the blurb attached to it. The "harrowing" it definitely delivered. The "heartwarming", though, I never really felt. By the time I got to the end, my first thought was: that's it? But my second was: thank goodness, now I can read something else!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I can't begin to tell you how much I really loved this book. There is so much in it that I don't even know where to start!

    Okay, so, the storyline...AMAZING! I really loved how it all flowed so smoothly that nothing passes you in the story. As the reader, you immediately fall into the story and into Enid shoes. Enid is your typical teenager with realistic problems that we all face, except she get stranded in the ocean with nothing but boys. At the beginning, we see Enid struggling in finding who she is. Enid deal with family problems, boyfriend drama, etc. Things are crazy in her life and she is dealing with it the best that she knows how. I loved how insecure she was and how she kept all her feelings inside. It made Enid much more real to the reader. Ms. Tracy really grabbed the voice of the teenager really well. I love how easy it was to not only see Enid in your mind but as well as her feelings.

    I also loved how we, as the reader see things from different points of view. I have never read a book where I can really see from a guys point of view. I love it when Landon said," Don't think like a girl." He had such great advice and such strength to his sister. I really admired him for being a great older brother. I think I will even take that advice for myself.

    One thing I enjoyed in this book are the lessons in it. It really gave a strong message on forgiveness. Forgiveness for not only the others, but for yourself as well. Sometimes we don't realize how angry we are with the person and how much it changed us. It can change relationships, your whole personality cause of the hurt, betrayal, and pain that you are carrying. I love that while Enid is facing such a hard time in her life, that she can have such a great and profound revelation.

    Shark & Boys is an excellent read. Full of sharks not only in the water but in life, the reader see the characters grow immensely in this book. This book blew me away in the foundation of the story from hurt and betrayal going to love and forgiveness.

    *There was some cursing and drinking*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Totally blew me out of the waters!

    Wow. I am totally glad that I do not have a waterbed because honestly, after finishing sharks & boys, I am a little anxious about seeing dorsal fins in my dreams tonight! This is a book that will make you hesitate to step foot into a body of water - at least, without proper equipment and supplies.

    At first, I had been skeptical about how this story would play out. A group of teens stranded on a boat? Not the usual setting for teenage drama, but Kristen Tracy makes it work - and how! As these teens float in the middle of nowhere with no signs of rescue, I could not help but imagine a Life Of Pi or Lord Of The Flies scenario for them! The pages flew by as I wondered how far these teens would go to survive, how much dignity would they sacrifice, who would die, and who would live. Conversation and cooperation become vital during this situation - I mean, there isn't anywhere to go and be alone in such a cramped space! These teens hash out everything from drinking urine, lifetime goals, racial slurs, and eating fish eyeballs. There are some things that I found useful or interesting; and then there are things that I wish I had rather not know (i.e. I don't think I can look a fish in the eye anymore *shudder*).

    What is also unique about this book is that Kristen Tracy chose to tell the story of 6 kids who all happened to be twins. Not related to each other, but became friends because they participated in the same research group for twin studies. This specific detail definitely makes their situation even more interesting - nothing says life-or-death more than when 2 people who are in sync with each other can feel each other's hurts! They learn just how much their other self is a part of them, and sometimes it is more than they had ever imagined!

    sharks & boys may sound like a crazy Snakes On A Plane scheme, but I found it as fascinating and hard to forget as Castaway had been. With only a hint of the common teenage woes and more "bigger picture" reflections, the story seemed very real and very critical as Enid and company struggled to hold onto their hopes for rescue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Disappointed

    I really do not understand why people rated this book so highly. It was extremely unrealistic and Enid's character was immature and annoying. She drives about 10 hours just to see if her boyfriend is cheating and then treads water overnight after the boat sinks. Just seemed kind of silly to me.

    Some of what happens on the raft is okay so I thought the book would redeem itself but the end was just horrible. I turned the page expecting a few more chapters but that was it. Don't bother with this book. Its really not worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Awsome

    I fell in love with this book it is great book its so worth getting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Great great awesome

    Such a great book, im now re-reading it for the third time. This was the first book I got when I bought my Nook, such a great book. I reccommend anyone to read it, you wont be sorry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Awesome book

    This was a really great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Sharks

    Wow seems intense

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Good

    Good read. Solid characters. Enjoyed the plot i did feel that it could have been longer but still a good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1