Customer Reviews for

Sharp Objects

Average Rating 4
( 649 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

Disturbing But Compelling

This was Flynn's first novel, but I read her second (unrelated) novel, Dark Places, first. Both do have points of similarity. Both have very damaged protagonists and both have great voices and striking prose. Both have disturbing themes and imagery. I liked this one muc...
This was Flynn's first novel, but I read her second (unrelated) novel, Dark Places, first. Both do have points of similarity. Both have very damaged protagonists and both have great voices and striking prose. Both have disturbing themes and imagery. I liked this one much more though. Her next book has if anything an even more memorable and well-drawn protagonist and ambitious structure--but in this one the resolution made much more sense; it really held together with a wicked twist in the end.

This isn't a genteel drawing room mystery but very gritty and noirish. This story deals with two child murders in a small Missouri town where the little girls had their teeth ripped out. The protagonist, Camille Preaker, is a reporter who returns to her hometown to cover the story. In isolation Camile might seem extreme, even repulse a reader with her self-destructive actions--she has a history as a cutter and if she's not an alcoholic, she's clearly on the way. But in the context of her family and hometown her behavior is explicable and sympathetic. Her mother is among the more well-drawn human monsters I've read in a work of fiction and yet seems just all of a piece in her setting--Flynn is very good at invoking the sharp cruelties in this small town across generations. The novel is a well-paced, compelling read I won't soon forget.

posted by Lisa_RR_H on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Meh

After reading rave reviews, I found this book to be boring and predictable. Flynn's use of dark elements (cutting amongst many other psychological problems in the family) was there just as a sad excuse of a literary device. There was cruelty for cruelty's sake which did...
After reading rave reviews, I found this book to be boring and predictable. Flynn's use of dark elements (cutting amongst many other psychological problems in the family) was there just as a sad excuse of a literary device. There was cruelty for cruelty's sake which didn't help develop the characters. All the praise Flynn is getting for her novels and writing styles is ill placed. If you're looking for characters with problems that might actually touch you, pass on this book. Try a Janet Fitch novel as it will be worth the $10 you saved by not getting this book.

posted by 716682 on August 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 650 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing But Compelling

    This was Flynn's first novel, but I read her second (unrelated) novel, Dark Places, first. Both do have points of similarity. Both have very damaged protagonists and both have great voices and striking prose. Both have disturbing themes and imagery. I liked this one much more though. Her next book has if anything an even more memorable and well-drawn protagonist and ambitious structure--but in this one the resolution made much more sense; it really held together with a wicked twist in the end.

    This isn't a genteel drawing room mystery but very gritty and noirish. This story deals with two child murders in a small Missouri town where the little girls had their teeth ripped out. The protagonist, Camille Preaker, is a reporter who returns to her hometown to cover the story. In isolation Camile might seem extreme, even repulse a reader with her self-destructive actions--she has a history as a cutter and if she's not an alcoholic, she's clearly on the way. But in the context of her family and hometown her behavior is explicable and sympathetic. Her mother is among the more well-drawn human monsters I've read in a work of fiction and yet seems just all of a piece in her setting--Flynn is very good at invoking the sharp cruelties in this small town across generations. The novel is a well-paced, compelling read I won't soon forget.

    96 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Easy Read

    I purchased this book after loving Flynn's "Gone Girl," and once again I was not dissappointed. Her writing style is so captivating and I could not put the book down. Would definitely recommend.

    47 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    This book sticks with you

    I read it over three years ago and I still think about it. Every time I am looking for a new book to read I click on this one and look for books like it. I'm not a morbid person, quite bubbly actually, and I found this book wonderful. Gillian Flynn writes so "real" it's hard to believe it's not her true story. Very gifted writer!

    41 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Disturbing, Bizarre--and absolutely Riveting!!!

    With so many books out there with the same old plot line, I am always in search of a novel with a unique, never-done-before character and plot line. This one hits the nail on the head. Well done.

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    intriguing, freaky, suspenseful book

    Camille Preaker isn't the most likeable heroine and sometimes I think I would call her the anti-heroine. She does a lot of stupid things in this book but I always hope she succeeds. Camille is the most unusual main character I have ever read about. Her form of self-mutilation is unusual and fascinating. I'm glad I bought this book so I can re-read it because it is an unusual book and I raced thru it and the twist at the end was a huge surprise. I did not expect it at all. I look forward to reading this author's second book.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Weird and gruesome

    Read this if you like suspenseful gruesome stories. I love all of her books!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Meh

    After reading rave reviews, I found this book to be boring and predictable. Flynn's use of dark elements (cutting amongst many other psychological problems in the family) was there just as a sad excuse of a literary device. There was cruelty for cruelty's sake which didn't help develop the characters. All the praise Flynn is getting for her novels and writing styles is ill placed. If you're looking for characters with problems that might actually touch you, pass on this book. Try a Janet Fitch novel as it will be worth the $10 you saved by not getting this book.

    12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Awesome couldntt Couldnt stop reading!

    It hooks u from the very begining making you want to turn the pages all the way till its finished and even still wanting more

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    My biggest admiration of this book is that the conclusion is far more realistic than most others centering on this topic.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Good book

    I knew who did it after the first 60 pages but didnt knoww how or why so i kept reading. Great twist and turns

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Not much to bother with

    Characters are too extreme in their neuroses. Flynn nails the flippant narcissism and bravado of the teenage mind, but the adults are contrived. Gone Girl is much, much better. If you liked GG, don't bother reading Sharp Objects.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Dark and gruesome just for the sake of being dark and gruesome

    Not my favorite. I has just read the authors new book Gone Girl and thought I would give this one a try. Although the characters and plot in Gone Girl were both dark and twisted this book took it to a whole new and disturbing level - slightly too much for me and the darkness seemed almost pointless/unexplained at parts. The ending was abrut (similar to Gone Girl) almost as if the other had too many balls in the air and just let most of them drop towards the end. Its not necessarily a plot twisting thriller but a scattered account of gruesome and strange behavior I could not relate to at all.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    Gillian Flynn Needs A Vacation from the Dark Side!

    After reviewing another Flynn novel, "Dark Places", a few posts ago, I was a little hesitant to do another one. Don't get me wrong. Flynn is a very talented author, but you really have to be in the mood for her. Her books are not frivolous beach reads, filled with rich girls shopping and sleeping around to their hearts content. Flynn's novels are dark and messy. The covers are jet black, with one small picture in the middle. I have to say that of the two, I preferred the book I am about to review, "Sharp Objects".

    This is the story of Camille Preaker, a Chicago newspaper reporter. Camille is sent back to her hometown in Missouri to report on the murders of two preteen girls. While there, she must deal with family ghosts...a mother who never loved her, a half-sister she has never met, and a sister who died long ago. Her past is not pretty, but she must confront it if she wants to report on the murders and get on with her life.

    "Sharp Objects" is hard to put down but not a fun read. Gillian Flynn just needs to go on vacation somewhere and relax to get away from her dark side. I will be reviewing "Twenties Girl" by Sophie Kinsella, the queen of chick lit, very soon! I need to get back into "summer" mode!

    MY RATING - 4

    To see my rating scale and more reviews, please check out my blog:
    http://www.1776books.blogspot.com

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Dark but Great!!! I don't mind reading dark novels. The idea an

    Dark but Great!!! I don't mind reading dark novels. The idea and concept behind the main character was new and I really appreciated that. Definitely not what I expected when I picked the book up. She did a great job with the story and the twist were very nice. There are compelling characters in the book and that makes it hard to put down. I actually went back and mentally mapped the cutting, to help me get a better understanding of Preakers mind set. I almost thought the ending was a bit rushed and sadly I figured it out about half the way through...maybe its just me. This was a good quick read and I plan on reading more from Gillian Flynn.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Dark story about family relationships and small town living.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Excellent novel

    Great, well written first novel. Kept me guessing until the end. Dark writing but it makes for compelling reading. I would highly recommend this novel. I look forward yo reading this authors next novel.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended!! A must read!

    This book does not disappoint. If you have read Gillian Flynn's other books and liked them, you will most definitely love this one, its actually my fav of the three!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Three stars

    Not bad. Not great. A longish short story

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Dark and disturbing but a great thriller!

    Liked it better than Dark Places!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    !!!!!!

    Gripping read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 650 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33