Customer Reviews for

Sharp Teeth

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

By chance I say this book on a display at the door of B&N. I picked it up and read some of the quotes strewn about the cover and it sounded pretty interesting. Once I began reading I couldn't get away. You follow several people's stories concerning certain events that...
By chance I say this book on a display at the door of B&N. I picked it up and read some of the quotes strewn about the cover and it sounded pretty interesting. Once I began reading I couldn't get away. You follow several people's stories concerning certain events that lead to a huge climax. Lot's of action, anticipation, elements of mystery, and stories of love all keep you tied in. Don't get me wrong, this is a story about werewolves. He brings lots of different things into a story told in a very modern way, which was an outstanding first book. I hope for and expect more.

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not great.

On an excursion to BookPeople one day, my friend randomly picked this book out for me to read over the Christmas holidays. I was skeptical at first -- it's about werewolves, and I'm more of a vampire/witch/ghost kind of girl -- but I agreed to give it a chance. To my ...
On an excursion to BookPeople one day, my friend randomly picked this book out for me to read over the Christmas holidays. I was skeptical at first -- it's about werewolves, and I'm more of a vampire/witch/ghost kind of girl -- but I agreed to give it a chance. To my surprise, I was quickly sucked in by all of the different plot lines that eventually came together to solve the story's overlying mystery. I also really liked getting to know the well-devoloped characters, specifically Lark, Anthony, and the main she-wolf (who is never named). However, I wasn't a big fan of the free verse style that Toby Barlow used in the writing of Sharp Teeth. I usually like poetic writing styles, but in this particular novel, it distracted from the story and made some things somewhat difficult to understand. Nor did I enjoy the ending as much as I would have liked; I felt that it was rushed and anti-climactic, especially after the slow build of events that seemed to prepare the reader for an epic conclusion (which did not happen). Regardless, this is definitely not a bad book to read for fun. (Unless, of course, you can't stand anything with a bit of blood and gore. These werewolves are not vegetarians.)

posted by songofthestars91 on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    By chance I say this book on a display at the door of B&N. I picked it up and read some of the quotes strewn about the cover and it sounded pretty interesting. Once I began reading I couldn't get away. You follow several people's stories concerning certain events that lead to a huge climax. Lot's of action, anticipation, elements of mystery, and stories of love all keep you tied in. Don't get me wrong, this is a story about werewolves. He brings lots of different things into a story told in a very modern way, which was an outstanding first book. I hope for and expect more.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    One of the best books I've read so far

    All I can say is thank god for the Staff Recommended Reading shelf! The bright, slightly creepy, cover is what caught my attention and the first couple pages held it so tight my friend had to punch me to get it back. The verse structure put me off in the beginning and took a little getting used to, but the book did not. An unbelievably intricate plotline keeps you on your toes and the perpetual twists weave a thousand seemingly random threads into a story so intense you'll groan out loud every time you have to put it down, if you can that is. The constantly switching character point of view gives you a look into every piece of the massive puzzle that is werewolves living in the suburbs and throws emotion after emotion onto every single page with incredible flow. A must read for fiction fans. Be warned, all other books after this might just not satisfy you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Refreshing and Unique

    In stylized free verse, the book relates a completely unique tale of L.A. werewolf packs in a contemporary setting. The free verse marks one character's story from another's through formatting breaks in the text. It took me six pages to get the hang of it and about the first twenty-five to sort out most of the primary characters/story lines. There's love, gut chomping violence, drugs, crime, loyalty and betrayal. It's the perfect package.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    One of my favorite books!

    At first I wasn't sure I'd really get into a book written in verse, but after the first few pages I realized it would be perfectly easy to overlook that. Sharp Teeth is violent, touching, action packed, and still beautiful. This is an amazing book -with a surprisingly sweet love story- that I recommend to anyone. And just because you're a teenager doesn't let you off the hook. I'm sixteen and, like it says on my heading, this is one of my favorite books! 8)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Amazing

    At first you will feel confused, but after the first chapter you'll be immersed in the story and mystery. A bunch of characters you will care for unlike in other books. The format is different with each chapter about a different character. And eventually all their paths cross in an epic conclusion that makes you wish there was a sequel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark, Raw, and Undeniably Cool Book

    When I first picked this book up and began flipping through the pages I could not put it down. The style in which it is written is wonderful: a poetic style that is dark and dramatic and devastatingly cool. It reads, stylistically speaking, like a noir comic book, or the literary equivalent of the movie Sin City. Barlow has brought the fantasy concept of werewolves into the everyday, mundane world, and tells a thrilling, captivating story that hits you and lingers like a warm shot of bourbon. Highly recommended for a fun, cool read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Refreshing!

    This book has a very refreshing and unique style. It is written in kindof verse that almost reminds one of an oral legend. I was put off by the format at first but after the first few pages I was hooked! Very quick and easy read and the action and dialogue are taunt and concise. Very highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    W O W ! ! and Wow again!

    Excellent characters who engage you and make you care on an emotional level. A plotline that will make you want to race to the end. And a free style writing prose that is mesmerizing (not gimicky, don't listen to mr. stuffed shirt writer dude). This is one of the few books I have (had) that gets passed around in a whirlwind between family and friends, so much so that I have bought a second copy to stow away on my bookshelf. Would make a fantastic movie if they could get the action/transformations right and still remember the deep human elements.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2