BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sharpe's Trafalgar (Sharpe Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Anyone who compairs Bernard Cornwell to Patrick O'Brian complete

    Anyone who compairs Bernard Cornwell to Patrick O'Brian completely misrepresents the quality of work Bernard
    Cornwell produces. There is no comparison to the masterful developement of a Patrick O'Brian story. O'Brian's mastery of the English language is on par with classic outhors. One can anticipate Cronwell's the narrative prior to events happening. There are no surprises. Sharp is dull and a predictable character. There is no depth of plot. Wording seems to come from Roget's list of choices.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Another excellent tale

    If you like historical fiction, I would recommend both this book and the author Although this E-book does have quite a few errors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Hey roerd

    Gbthud isv badd

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Exciting historical well written adventure

    Bernard Cornwell is an awesome author of historical adventure books.This one is right up there as a super well written story.Highly reommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    TRIBE TERRITORY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a read!

    Naval warfare is my least favorite genre. In fact, I do not like it and do not read it. However before I knew it, Bernard Cornwell had me deep in the heart of one of the most famous naval battles in history. I could not put this book down and read it in two sittings. Cornwell's ability to weave words in such a way to draw the reader into the action is uncanny. I could hear the cannon fire, feel the ship shudder as cannon balls smashed into its sides and deck, I could almost smell the gunpowder. Naval warfare books are still on my do-not-read list. Unless they are written by Bernard Cornwell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Excellent series! You have to read ALL of them.

    Page turner with history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    sharpe's sea legs

    nice to see sharpe in a different arena. enjoyed learning about the famous sea battle as well. a solid entry in the sharpe series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    Absolutely the best Sharpe's Novel yet!!!

    I have read most of the Sharpe's series. I am still reading them. Sharpe's Trafalgar is the best one yet. It is a thrilling epic of one of the greatest naval battles of all time. As usual, Cornwell paints an extremely vivid picture of the life aboard a 19th century warship, and the horrors of battle in such a brutal environment. Once again, he has produced a masterpiece. My only complaint is that the book had to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Usual fare for Richard Sharpe fans

    Not as strong an entry as Sharpe's Tiger. The plot and characters in the novel overall are interesting and laid out nicely. The biggest problem with the novel is the actual historical event of the naval battle at Trafalgar which eats into a large portion of the last third of the novel. The usual Sharpe exploits occur: Sharpe gains much respect from the likable charachters, but disdain from the ones we disdain, romance of a sort that only Sharpe can manage, and of course Sharpe kicking some tail. I rate this only 3 stars for it is a weak entrant in the series. If the natural flow of the first 200 pages of the novel had continued and the Battle of Trafalgar not been included the novel very likely could be a 4 star effort. As it is it is closer to 2 stars than to 4. A good read if one is traveling as the novel flows nicely and the last 90 pages or so are not to much of a grind. Those just starting the series would do well to pick another entry to begin with. Those who have read other Sharpe novels, if your a fan I guess its a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    Sharpe at sea

    This novel by Cornwell has Sharpe at sea. As in many of his novels, there is a woman to be saved, from everyone but Sharpe. There are fights to be fought, and Sharpe knows how to fight, though this novel brings out the differences between war on land and war on sea. The author, as usual, provides a postscript which gives the historical basis for the novel. I find Cornwell a fast-paced, enjoyable read. My only complaint is he described the gory details of battle on the gun decks three or four times, when once would have sufficed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3