Customer Reviews for

Shatner Rules: Your Guide to Understanding the Shatnerverse and the World at Large (Amplified Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

De4We8

William Shatner holds nothing back. Whether you love him or hate him, there's no denying his talents to entertain. Loved the book, Bill!

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

So disappointed!

I saw Mr. Shatner this morning on Good Morning America, and I have admired him since I was a teenager and first saw him in late night re-runs of Star Trek. I still do admire the great body of work he has produced over the course of his lifetime, and I will still enjoy w...
I saw Mr. Shatner this morning on Good Morning America, and I have admired him since I was a teenager and first saw him in late night re-runs of Star Trek. I still do admire the great body of work he has produced over the course of his lifetime, and I will still enjoy watching him on television, but I must warn you --- DON'T BUY THIS BOOK! You will be so upset that you wasted your money. First off, don't waste your time downloading the free sample. It does NOT even provide you enough pages to cover what is in the contents, and I can see why. The book is so poorly written and utterly boring that I can't even get through half of the book. If you must see for yourself, at least do yourself a favor and purchase the hard copy of it. At least that way you can return it and get your money back. It is described as funny, but I think the only ones laughing are Mr. Shatner, his agent, and publisher, all the way to the bank. Mr. Shatner, you should be ashamed of yourself. What a piece of drivel.

posted by DrRita on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    So disappointed!

    I saw Mr. Shatner this morning on Good Morning America, and I have admired him since I was a teenager and first saw him in late night re-runs of Star Trek. I still do admire the great body of work he has produced over the course of his lifetime, and I will still enjoy watching him on television, but I must warn you --- DON'T BUY THIS BOOK! You will be so upset that you wasted your money. First off, don't waste your time downloading the free sample. It does NOT even provide you enough pages to cover what is in the contents, and I can see why. The book is so poorly written and utterly boring that I can't even get through half of the book. If you must see for yourself, at least do yourself a favor and purchase the hard copy of it. At least that way you can return it and get your money back. It is described as funny, but I think the only ones laughing are Mr. Shatner, his agent, and publisher, all the way to the bank. Mr. Shatner, you should be ashamed of yourself. What a piece of drivel.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Entertaining at times....boring in others

    There are stories that Shatner shared that were interesting and entertaining, especially the ones that involved his feud with various Star Trek cast members. Another good part of the book was some of his interactions with his family and his fans. However, there was a point during this book where William Shatner slipped into a completely foreign tongue. It was not as funny as I am sure that Shatner thought it would be. That part of the book lost my attention. There were other times where the Shatner prose did not entertain me, but he did manage to slip in a good story here and there.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If I learned anything from this book, it is to say “Yes&rd

    If I learned anything from this book, it is to say “Yes” to life a lot more often! Avoiding saying “Yes” is safe, conservative and typically very dull. Conversely, taking risks opens one up to new opportunities, amazingly wonderful experiences one never would have enjoyed if he hadn’t given himself the chance. It’s time to be a little bold and outrageous!

    This is an autobiography intertwined with humorous anecdotes and William Shatner’s own blend of rare philosophy. Learn about Shatner’s “salons,” in which attendees exchange ideas while watching football. Find out whether Captain Kirk of the starship Enterprise ever said, “Beam me up, Scotty!” and how William Shatner got his start in acting.

    This is a fun and easy read. I chuckled my way through it and would recommend it to my friends -- and fiends -- as well!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    De4We8

    William Shatner holds nothing back. Whether you love him or hate him, there's no denying his talents to entertain. Loved the book, Bill!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Well this explains a lot.

    Shatner is one of those gents who you find asking yourself "How does he work?" And now, a week later, I think I have a pretty good idea.
    Shatner writes in a way thats personal, like he's there with you shooting the bull. You will read it in his voice, I guarantee it. While I personally maintain my stance that he is the worst singer I have ever seen, the man knows how to spin a yarn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Good Book

    This is a very fun book! I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Enjoyable, light reading. I liked it.

    William Shatner writes a delightful and humorous account of life after 80. His general rules for living the good life are right on and his comments about his career and interaction with fellow cast members is informative.

    He admits his faults and seems to truly seek reconciliation with those Trek cast members who, for some reason unkmown to him, to this day harbor ill-will toward him.

    His easy writing style and self-deprivatung humor were endearing and I found his oft-stated respect for the fans who have stayed with him throughout his career, especially the Trekkies, was a genuine surprise to me.

    I liked the book and purchased it because I wanted a break from the more serious stuff I tend to enjoy reading (science, history, biology etc.) I picked it up, read the first few pages and was impressed that he got my attention immediately. That, to me, is how I judge a book. If the author can't interest me at the very start, what chance does he or she have of impressing me 100 pages into the text.

    Oh yeah, and if you ever meet him, try to avoid saying, "Beam me up, Scottie"; he's heard it said in greetings a lot, maybe too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    The free review is a waste. Hence no review.

    Read the headline... it says it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Hilarious

    Thoroughly enjoyable romp through the hyperactive world of the one and only William Shatner. I laughed out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1