BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shatter (Children of Man Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

I have to admit that when I downloaded this ebook I was just trying to get a few books added to my library on my nook and was not expecting anything great. After reading the first page I had to force myself to keep putting it down to get my work done or even sleep. I wa...
I have to admit that when I downloaded this ebook I was just trying to get a few books added to my library on my nook and was not expecting anything great. After reading the first page I had to force myself to keep putting it down to get my work done or even sleep. I was expecting it to be the run of the mill "sci-fi" or mundane "mythical" jargan that is hard to follow. I was so plesantly surprised that none of that was true. The characters are rivoting and draw the reader into their sorrow, pain, confusion, joy and happiness. It is very much worth downloading and reading. I am so ready for the next book to come out and will buy it, if it is not also offered as a free ebook.

posted by niksnookki on October 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Decent idea but poor execution

I'm writing this from my nook, so please excuse any typos. This book has a decent idea and a couple characters worth caring about, but was clearly very poorly edited if it was edited at all. It felt like this was a first draft...and if it was a first draft I would have...
I'm writing this from my nook, so please excuse any typos. This book has a decent idea and a couple characters worth caring about, but was clearly very poorly edited if it was edited at all. It felt like this was a first draft...and if it was a first draft I would have had far fewer issues with this book. I don't understand how it was publishd as it is. The writing was amaturish at best...grammar mistakes, run on sentences, unnecessay commas all over the place...VERY distracting and difficult to get past. I kept reading because I thought there was probably going to be a good story hidden in there somewhere if I got far enough along, and there was. However at more than 1000 pages, it took far too long to get there, then cut off before anyhing was really resolved. This book should have been about half the length, and that says a lot comimg from me because I tend to love long books. Most of the book was confusing and unnecessary. I think she thought she was keeping the reader in suspense by not explaining the rules of this world and what the people were really doing until about 500 pages in, but really it just makes it less likey that most readers will hang in there to get to the story. She clearly loves unecessary words and details...e.g., her foot sank into the lush, green, soft carpet. Really? No one cares how soft the carpet is, when it doesn't have any relevance to the story. Those kinds of details were great and much appreciated when they helped progress the story, but otherwise just made me roll my eyes. The characters' dialogue often seemed far too contemporary and didn't feel authentic given the circumstances and how they were supposedly feeling (lots of silly sarcastic joking around, even for characters who supposedly rarely smile)...not to mention a lot of side conversations that didn't make sense given the context. For example, why would she need to make the main character (who at that time was suppoesedly consumed with worry and who had just learned some major revelations) be talking about the "merits of braised beef" with another character? Also, given the length of the book, there is really very little action, and when things do take place they feel a bit contrived...such as when a 'good guy' goes spying, he just happens to overhear the villian disclosing his entire plot? We're told all through the book that the main character's gray eyes are a big deal...so significant that its caused her to leave her child behind to go on a quest, and other characters indicate that theyve never seen someone with gray eyes and don't even think its possible....but then, by the end of the book nearly HALF of the characters have gray eyes! Doesn't make much sense...is it really that unusual in this world for simeone to make a big mistake and repent? So I know that was a lot of negative feedback, but the idea for the story was worth reading. I liked the idea of a world where magic is common, and where white magic has been shattered into different colors...interesting idea. I also like the characters of Faela and Kade. I just wished everything was better written and the characters were better fleshed out and their dialogue made more sense. I am curious to see what happens in the next book...but I truly hope that she hires a good editor to help her out before the next one comes out.

posted by jesshine on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Decent idea but poor execution

    I'm writing this from my nook, so please excuse any typos. This book has a decent idea and a couple characters worth caring about, but was clearly very poorly edited if it was edited at all. It felt like this was a first draft...and if it was a first draft I would have had far fewer issues with this book. I don't understand how it was publishd as it is. The writing was amaturish at best...grammar mistakes, run on sentences, unnecessay commas all over the place...VERY distracting and difficult to get past. I kept reading because I thought there was probably going to be a good story hidden in there somewhere if I got far enough along, and there was. However at more than 1000 pages, it took far too long to get there, then cut off before anyhing was really resolved. This book should have been about half the length, and that says a lot comimg from me because I tend to love long books. Most of the book was confusing and unnecessary. I think she thought she was keeping the reader in suspense by not explaining the rules of this world and what the people were really doing until about 500 pages in, but really it just makes it less likey that most readers will hang in there to get to the story. She clearly loves unecessary words and details...e.g., her foot sank into the lush, green, soft carpet. Really? No one cares how soft the carpet is, when it doesn't have any relevance to the story. Those kinds of details were great and much appreciated when they helped progress the story, but otherwise just made me roll my eyes. The characters' dialogue often seemed far too contemporary and didn't feel authentic given the circumstances and how they were supposedly feeling (lots of silly sarcastic joking around, even for characters who supposedly rarely smile)...not to mention a lot of side conversations that didn't make sense given the context. For example, why would she need to make the main character (who at that time was suppoesedly consumed with worry and who had just learned some major revelations) be talking about the "merits of braised beef" with another character? Also, given the length of the book, there is really very little action, and when things do take place they feel a bit contrived...such as when a 'good guy' goes spying, he just happens to overhear the villian disclosing his entire plot? We're told all through the book that the main character's gray eyes are a big deal...so significant that its caused her to leave her child behind to go on a quest, and other characters indicate that theyve never seen someone with gray eyes and don't even think its possible....but then, by the end of the book nearly HALF of the characters have gray eyes! Doesn't make much sense...is it really that unusual in this world for simeone to make a big mistake and repent? So I know that was a lot of negative feedback, but the idea for the story was worth reading. I liked the idea of a world where magic is common, and where white magic has been shattered into different colors...interesting idea. I also like the characters of Faela and Kade. I just wished everything was better written and the characters were better fleshed out and their dialogue made more sense. I am curious to see what happens in the next book...but I truly hope that she hires a good editor to help her out before the next one comes out.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Awesome

    Such a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Good book

    This is a great book full of adventure, and love. I couldn't put it down 'til the very eend. Good read, I hope you like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Needs some work at the beginning but worth the read.

    It took me some time to get into the book. My problem was that there are too many characters to try to follow. Perhaps it's just me, but I prefer to follow one or two characters; after that I stop feeling a connection with the characters, which makes me lose interest in the book. If an author chooses to jump between characters, then I prefer a more obvious way of showing that jump, which didn't happen here. With that being said, once the characters came together and there was only minor separations between groups, I enjoyed the story line and the flow. I'm glad I stuck with it and continued to read. I know it's going to be some time but I'm looking forward to the third (last?) installment in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A nice start - will read #2

    I liked this story - interesting world and ideas. Overall a good read. Characters are solid. I think this was the author's first novel and some of the writing could be more polished. That said, I'm looking forward to the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Just okay

    Entertaining and a quick read, but just another rehash of the same old fantasy story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Goodish book

    I was reading the reviews and was like "Oh shit. This is going to be another bad book." I read part of it, still reading, and the characters are good but there are many spots where I am lost. One such spot is the time period. What time periois this book? In one spot it talks about horses and swords where another trains and guns... The author likes ttalk about Faela a.k.a. Ella being "grey." There is no explanation of what this... Read at your own risk.

    (/)larson5511(/)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Wha.....?

    Why is every review posted twice? This is a test.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Fun story, but

    Unfortunately, this author's writing ranges from OK to positively indecipherable. Basic grammar and sentence structure sometime fall apart, leaving the reader digging for context clues. I always read freebies with an eye toward finding an author whose books I want to purchase. I think this one has potential, but she's not there yet. This book is worth reading as a freebie. Before I paid for the sequel, I would want to know she had attended some writing classes- maybe start with "how many buts belong in a single run-on sentence?" and "how to make sure the person is wearing the red dress rather than the room she walks in to."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2