Customer Reviews for

Shatter (Children of Man Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

I have to admit that when I downloaded this ebook I was just trying to get a few books added to my library on my nook and was not expecting anything great. After reading the first page I had to force myself to keep putting it down to get my work done or even sleep. I wa...
I have to admit that when I downloaded this ebook I was just trying to get a few books added to my library on my nook and was not expecting anything great. After reading the first page I had to force myself to keep putting it down to get my work done or even sleep. I was expecting it to be the run of the mill "sci-fi" or mundane "mythical" jargan that is hard to follow. I was so plesantly surprised that none of that was true. The characters are rivoting and draw the reader into their sorrow, pain, confusion, joy and happiness. It is very much worth downloading and reading. I am so ready for the next book to come out and will buy it, if it is not also offered as a free ebook.

posted by niksnookki on October 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Decent idea but poor execution

I'm writing this from my nook, so please excuse any typos. This book has a decent idea and a couple characters worth caring about, but was clearly very poorly edited if it was edited at all. It felt like this was a first draft...and if it was a first draft I would have...
I'm writing this from my nook, so please excuse any typos. This book has a decent idea and a couple characters worth caring about, but was clearly very poorly edited if it was edited at all. It felt like this was a first draft...and if it was a first draft I would have had far fewer issues with this book. I don't understand how it was publishd as it is. The writing was amaturish at best...grammar mistakes, run on sentences, unnecessay commas all over the place...VERY distracting and difficult to get past. I kept reading because I thought there was probably going to be a good story hidden in there somewhere if I got far enough along, and there was. However at more than 1000 pages, it took far too long to get there, then cut off before anyhing was really resolved. This book should have been about half the length, and that says a lot comimg from me because I tend to love long books. Most of the book was confusing and unnecessary. I think she thought she was keeping the reader in suspense by not explaining the rules of this world and what the people were really doing until about 500 pages in, but really it just makes it less likey that most readers will hang in there to get to the story. She clearly loves unecessary words and details...e.g., her foot sank into the lush, green, soft carpet. Really? No one cares how soft the carpet is, when it doesn't have any relevance to the story. Those kinds of details were great and much appreciated when they helped progress the story, but otherwise just made me roll my eyes. The characters' dialogue often seemed far too contemporary and didn't feel authentic given the circumstances and how they were supposedly feeling (lots of silly sarcastic joking around, even for characters who supposedly rarely smile)...not to mention a lot of side conversations that didn't make sense given the context. For example, why would she need to make the main character (who at that time was suppoesedly consumed with worry and who had just learned some major revelations) be talking about the "merits of braised beef" with another character? Also, given the length of the book, there is really very little action, and when things do take place they feel a bit contrived...such as when a 'good guy' goes spying, he just happens to overhear the villian disclosing his entire plot? We're told all through the book that the main character's gray eyes are a big deal...so significant that its caused her to leave her child behind to go on a quest, and other characters indicate that theyve never seen someone with gray eyes and don't even think its possible....but then, by the end of the book nearly HALF of the characters have gray eyes! Doesn't make much sense...is it really that unusual in this world for simeone to make a big mistake and repent? So I know that was a lot of negative feedback, but the idea for the story was worth reading. I liked the idea of a world where magic is common, and where white magic has been shattered into different colors...interesting idea. I also like the characters of Faela and Kade. I just wished everything was better written and the characters were better fleshed out and their dialogue made more sense. I am curious to see what happens in the next book...but I truly hope that she hires a good editor to help her out before the next one comes out.

posted by jesshine on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    Shatter

    When I begin reading a book, I can usually tell within the first few chapters whether or not I will like the book, and it comes down to this: Do I care enough about the characters to keep reading?

    The characters in "Shatter", and especially their interactions with each other, are very realistic and drew me in. Once I got to know the characters, I was anxious to find out more about them, see more of their interactions, and even see some of them meet painful ends.

    In addition to such deep and memorable characters, the world of "Shatter" is a character in of itself. "Shatter" contains a system of magic that quickly makes sense and is fun to see in action. The geography of the world is also well fleshed out, and it makes traveling with the characters feel like a trip through real landscapes instead of the generic fantasy terrain prevalent in many of the books where I didn't make it to chapter three.

    I would recommend "Shatter" to any of my friends that are fans of fantasy fiction.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    A must have.

    This was an amazing book that I could not put down. The characters were intriguing and surprisingly real. I can't wait for the second to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great new world!

    The first book out from this new author shows freshness and originality in a world very similar to ours (makes it easy to follow the characters) and yet very different (colors of magic that have been shattered from their one true clarity!). The characters were very distinct and held their personal individuality throughout the book, along with providing their own separate abilities and importantance to the plot. The only negative I could see was that it was clear as I neared the end of the book that I would have to wait for any real answeres to ANY questions. I hope Ms. Mock will close a few loose ends in the next book so it doesn't feel as though no answers at all will be arriving to each of the characters' individual problems until the final book. All-in-all a riveting book that leaves you waiting to learn more about what's really happening in this new world; both with the characters, the growth of their abilities, and in what they'll be able to accomplish (or not) for their world. I found myself wishing I had more chapters to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Shatter launches an interesting new series.

    The plot grabs the reader and the characters have depth. Humor, sadness and a quest knits the story together. There are a number of characters to keep track of which is sometimes a challenge, but the storyline keeps you turning the page. The only real criticism is the way magic is depicted because it seems a bit forced. Enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Very interesting premise and magic ideas

    Overall i really enjoyed this book. I liked the premise and the idea behind the different color magics. The author does a great job of introducing world specific concepts and explaining them at the appropriate time. I am interested enough to purchase and read the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Very good and unique

    I am a self admitted fan of the entire fantasy genre and I must say this I found this plot line to be unique which can be hard to come by lately. The story jumps right in so it was a little hard to follow at first but once I worked that out I couldn't put it down. And I immediately bought the second book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    glad I stuck with it

    The beginning was really hard to follow and I almost stopped reading it but I am SO glad I stuck with it!
    The author did an excellent job of tying everything together and then left you with the BEST cliffhanger!
    Can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    shockingly good!

    The last book I downloaded from this publisher was the same way... I was quite suprised at how good it was.

    I can't wait for Mock to publish the second one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    A good beginning

    Benefits from the author's obvious intelligence and affability, as well as some potentially interesting characters. The creative devices that make this world unique also seem promising. The narrative voice suffers a bit, however, from one too many descriptive modifiers, as well as a sameness in the cadence and structure of each narrative sentence. Also, we're in the dark for far too many pages in, regarding what's going on and who these folks are. Perhaps with a few more revisions, this book could be a truly engaging read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Good Fantasy

    A good fantasy novel with a unique take on magic. You do follow multiple characters during the book, but it all ties together about 2/3 of the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Loved it!

    At first I was intimidated by the 1150 pages, but i couldnt stop reading. I usually dont have the patience for alot of long fantasies esp when it involves a really long treatese on its history, politics, battles, formulaic plots or unpronouncable words/names/phrases. I liked this book for its characters,the twists, and the small bits of history. I love how each character has their own story, i had a few ??? where did this person go? I wasnt prepared for a cliffhanger (its rare when the heroes lose big at the end). Ineed to read book 2 and i hope its as good as part 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great Read

    If you like epic fantasy, then you will probably like this book. After a while the personalities tended to blur together a bit and some parts lacked clarity. I just finished the book and I couldn't tell you the names of the different colour magics. It took me over 500 pages to realize the name Daniyelan was a reference to only orange and not the order as a whole. Other than that, though, it was a really good read. Over 1000 pages. I've already gotten book two and can't wait to start it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Worth the time to read if a Fantasy Fan ...

    The story is very good. I would very much like to read the rest of the series to see what happens to the characters Ms. Mock has introduced. However, if the charges for any installment is that of a paperback book, I will not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Enjoyed immensely

    Fully enjoyed this read, interesting kept me reading good character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Start to a series

    Lots of threads to follow in book. Well written leaves you wanting more because of so many unanswered questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Read it!

    It takes real focus at times to follow this story, but it is definitely worth it! This alternate world she has created comes alive with vivid and moving characters. I found myself losing time because i would get so wrapped up in the story and couldn't put it down. I actually just finished the 2nd book and I'm devastated that I now have to wait for the next one to be released!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Riveting

    The characters were realistic and the world they live in was vivid. I enjoyed this book immensely and have just started the second in the series. A terrific read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Interesting!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Looking forward to reading book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Good so far

    I really liked this one. Had interesting charaters and plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Really good read! Really good Excillent G Really good sr Really good story

    What a great read. Enjoyed very much. The characters are all wonderfull and get along like a loving yet dysfunctional family. They make you laugh, cry, cheer them on, and question their choices. A great action adventure that has you feeling as if your sitting around the camp fire with them. Looking foward to reading the 2nd book to continue the adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5