Customer Reviews for

Shatter (Joseph O'Loughlin Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

You'll find it hard to put down.

I had never heard of Michael Robotham before I happened to come across a list of good summer reads from none other than Stephen King. Being a fan of Mr. King's work I thought I would peruse his list to see if there was anything on the list that would grab my interest. S...
I had never heard of Michael Robotham before I happened to come across a list of good summer reads from none other than Stephen King. Being a fan of Mr. King's work I thought I would peruse his list to see if there was anything on the list that would grab my interest. Shatter not only grabbed my interest, it held on to it and would not let it go until I finished the book. It is a psychological thriller that is compelling, gripping and at times terrifying. If you are a fan of this type of read then I would highly recommend you make this your next book. I finished the book in three days and will be looking for his other works right away.

posted by imdel on July 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

"Shatter" might keep you awake.

Joe O'Loughlin is a psychologist who finishes giving a lecture to his class when the police ask his help with a woman who is naked and contemplating suicide. When he gets to the bridge where the woman is standing, she says, "you don't understand" and jumps.
Joe is a mo...
Joe O'Loughlin is a psychologist who finishes giving a lecture to his class when the police ask his help with a woman who is naked and contemplating suicide. When he gets to the bridge where the woman is standing, she says, "you don't understand" and jumps.
Joe is a moral man and has trouble dealing with the fact that he couldn't save the woman. Then her sixteen year old daughter, Darcy Wheeler, comes to his home. She tells Joe that her mother, Christine, was afraid of heights and wouldn't have committed suicide in that manner. Because he was feeling bad about her death, he decides to look into it.
He speaks to Christine's business partner, Sylvia Furness but doesn't get anywhere. Then he calls his friend, Vincent Ruiz. Vincent is a retired police investigator. Together they retrace Christine's last steps and find a note asking for help. They show the note to the police and now the case turns into murder.
Soon after, Sylvia Furness's body is found. She's also naked and handcuffed to a tree. She died from exposure. The reader is able to learn her suffering before death. The killer had called Sylvia and said he had her daughter and would rape her unless Sylvia would switch places with her and do what he demands.

With her death, the police ask Joe's official help.

In other chapters the reader learns about the killer and his background. He was in Afghanistan and worked in intelligence. He was a ruthless investigator. We also learn that he is a control freak and his wife and daughter are missing. He is looking for them and taking his hatred out on his wife's friends.

This is a good story. The protagonist shows his humanness. He has flaws both physically (He's aflicted with Parkinson's) and in action (where he can't save the first woman from suicide). Even so, he performs heroically. Darcy Wheeler is also an interesting character. Since this is a series, I hope to read more about her in the future.

The novel has been nominated for a Barry award and the 2009 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger and CWA Dagger Award.

posted by MikeDraper on September 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    You'll find it hard to put down.

    I had never heard of Michael Robotham before I happened to come across a list of good summer reads from none other than Stephen King. Being a fan of Mr. King's work I thought I would peruse his list to see if there was anything on the list that would grab my interest. Shatter not only grabbed my interest, it held on to it and would not let it go until I finished the book. It is a psychological thriller that is compelling, gripping and at times terrifying. If you are a fan of this type of read then I would highly recommend you make this your next book. I finished the book in three days and will be looking for his other works right away.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Spine-tingling!

    Spine-tingling, edge of your seat thriller, keep turning the pages! How can someone have such an evil mind?! Who could do such a thing?! Every situation makes you want to help Joe solve these heinous crimes and bring justice to the families. Even at the possible cost of his own marriage, Joe cannot turn away and let others try to apprehend a mastermind who seems to be able to control women’s minds.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Thought Robotham's books couldn't get better? They did, Shatter is the best yet!

    This is a thriller that was difficult to put down. Definitely a great read. When shopping for a book to read, I compare other books to this one hoping they will be just as good, but I haven't found one like it yet. I have read all his other books and cannot wait for his next one. Great job Mr. Robotham!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Awesome!!

    Could NOT put this down!! If you're looking for a thriller that will grab you from beginning to end,read Shatter.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    loved it

    Good read, great characters. Interesting plot, suspenseful. After reading this, I got Bleed for Me by the same author--I think it was even better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Excellent Suspense

    Written well. I devoured it in 2 days. Hoping to find another just as thrilling!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This was a really good book. Even though you begin to put the pieces together before the book ends, you have to keep reading to see exactly how they fall together. I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced & tough to put down

    Let me just begin by saying this was a FANTASTIC read! This book started off intriguing and did not disappoint. It took off from about the 2nd chapter & did not let up until the very end.
    It tells the story of Dr. O'Loughlin who is a psychiatrist. After completing a lecture at Bath University he gets "volunteered" by his department chair to take him place with a police matter. He is taken to a suspension bridge in the middle of a rainstorm (it is England after all) to try to prevent what appears to be a suicide. The woman is on the edge of the bridge naked, with slut written across her stomach in red lipstick, & a cell phone pressed to her ear. She looks at the doc, says, "You wouldn't understand," & jumps to her death.
    It is written off as a typical suicide...& then strange things begin to happen. I don't want to say much more, but I will leave it off by saying that in the end the good doctor is left wishing he would've walked away from the hulking police officer that rainy afternoon.
    I look forward to the next book in the series & a long relationship with the books of Michael Robotham. What a writer!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Excellent story!

    Griping thriller with interesting characters and storyline. I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Fantastic book!

    Couldnt put it down! great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Thrilling and chilling read

    I don't usually read mystery type novels, but this one was great. Full of suspense and nail biting this story pulls you in and has you double checking your locks at night. I read the next two, bleed for me and say you're sorry. Great read, you won't be disapointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Excellent. Highly recommend.

    This was an excellent story. Very thought provoking. The characters just came to life. I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Excellent Read

    Enjoyed this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    totally suspenseful

    I couldn't put this book down. I hated it to come to an end. The story twists and turns in so many directions. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Awesome book

    Couldnt put it down! Great thriller

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    looks like a good book

    U should read it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    good read

    This book was a good read all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Amazing! Just a great thriller that keeps you guessing and wonde

    Amazing! Just a great thriller that keeps you guessing and wondering what will happen next. This book is unbelievably scary to think about happening realistically and the man behind this is a very strategic person. I couldn't put this down and tried to read it every free chance I had

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    Interesting and Intriguing Book

    This book kept me glued to its pages until the very last page! Although at times a little disturbing with the graphic detail, this fast-paced thriller had my attention with a great plot and great characters. A must read for any mystery-lovers!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2