Customer Reviews for

Shatter

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    LOVED

    This book is slam packed with drama. It will leave you on the edge of your seat! I love this series and am so excited for the next installment. I read all 3 of these books in just a matter of days, but this one I just couldn't put down. I have found my new favorite author and now I'm off to look for another of her books.
    Also, I need to add that I found this author by reading Ruin. That is the BEST book I've ever read. If you're looking for more books by this author and haven't read Ruin, you're in for an awesome read!! :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Shatter is the third book in Rachel Van Dyken's Seaside Novel's

    Shatter is the third book in Rachel Van Dyken's Seaside Novel's series. The story is told from Alec and Demetri's perspectives. We join Alec, Nat, Demetri, Alyssa, Jaymeson and Angelica as they are filming their reality show in Seaside, Oregon. (And let me just say, Hello and welcome to Jaymeson! It was great meeting you! Can't wait to get to know you better in the next book in this series, Fall!) Shatter revolves around the repercussions from a decision that Alec has made in the past and how he chooses to handle it now. His decisions will effect everyone he loves.




    As always, Rachel Van Dyken’s style of writing is flawless. She captivates you from the very start of the book and has you wishing the story will never end. Even though the storyline of this book is often heavy and emotional Rachel is amazing about interspersing humor throughout the book. There are some fabulous one-liners in this book that just had me cracking up!




    I highly recommend Shatter. Hang tight and Rachel Van Dyken will take you on a fantastic, gritty, intense, emotional journey. Her characters are flawed but they love deeply. I love to see where their motives come from and why they have chosen to do certain things. It seems to always redeem them in the end.




    I received an ARC of Shatter from the author, in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Loved it!

    WOW!! I laughed, I cried, I got angry with this book. I wanted strangle Alec & felt bad for him at the same time. This book had a LOT of ups & downs. More secrets & BIG explosions. You got so wrapped up in it that you had to turn the page to see what happened next. In this book everybody's life takes a big like changing hit. Besides the last chapter my favorite part was the concert. I never laughed & cried yso much. Defiantly need a tissue or two. In a good way. I loved this book and can't wait to see what in store for Jaymenson in FALL. Excellent job Rachel!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!! I was so happy when this came out! I lov

    COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!! I was so happy when this came out! I love all the characters!! great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Shatter is the third book in The Seaside series by Rachel Van Dy

    Shatter is the third book in The Seaside series by Rachel Van Dyken and I have had the great pleasure of reading all three of them. To say I enjoyed this book is putting it very mildly, I LOVED this book. Shatter is full of drama that kept me on the edge of my seat, turning pages, and wondering what in the world could possibly happen next! There is one major drama or surprise after another. I could not put this book down, I kept trying to do other things that needed to be done but I kept quickly returning to reading.




    I have to say Rachel Van Dyken is a very talented author that has created characters that are not only very dynamic and thrilling, but humorous and emotional as well. I love Rachel's style of writing, she has a way of writing a story that pulls me in from the beginning and hangs on all the way until the end, then leaves me anxious for the next book.




    Alec finds himself in some very hot water that he is unsure how to get out of. There are so many things going on that I wanted to scream at Alec to just tell the truth and let his girl and his family help him get through the mess. I don't want to give too much away so I'll let you read it for yourself and find out what all the drama is about. If you have read Tear and Pull then you will definitely want to read Shatter, there are some major surprises that are revealed.




    I was very excited to see a preview to another Seaside Series book at the end of Shatter. I can not wait to read it! I am sure Ms. Van Dyken has created yet another great story that will keep me entertained. I know I have a few more of her books in my to be read pile and I can not wait to get to them! 




    If you are hesitant to try a book in the New Adult genre, try it, I think you will enjoy it. I know I sure did. 




    I was very luck to receive a copy of this book to read in exchange for sharing my thoughts with you. I also received Shatter as a gift. If you are looking for a good book to give as a gift may I suggest this one?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    O.M.G. I was one of the lucky few to receive an advanced reader

    O.M.G.

    I was one of the lucky few to receive an advanced reader copy of Shatter to read and review. These books are what I imagine crack is like. I am so addicted to this series. Seriously, it's not healthy.

    I devoured the first half in a few hours before I had to go to work. The whole time at work I obsessed over what the big secret was. When I finally was able to finish reading it the next day, I couldn't put it down. With each chapter, my theories would change and my husband would find me yelling at my Nook.

    Now, I LOVED Alec in Tear, but I came so close to hating him at the start of this book. He is one of those stupid, stubborn guys that just wants to deal with everything on their own without asking for help. Seriously, if he were a real person I would have smacked him hard upside his head.

    I enjoyed seeing part of the story through Demetri's point of view, too. And I was glad to see he was still keeping is crap together.

    This book also gives two minor characters from before bigger parts. Jaymeson and Angelica bring humor to the story. Their interaction with each other is hilarious. But the story also alludes to things from their past as well. I know Jaymeson is getting his own book, but I would LOVE to see Angelica have her own story as well (even if I did love to hate her).

    This book was a roller coaster of emotions. I laughed, I cried, I wanted to smack almost everyone in the story. I really loved the end. And not just like "Yeah, the end was great." No. The end was PERFECT.

    NOTE: There is some language and mild sexual content, so read with caution if that sort of thing bugs you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have one question - what are you trying to do to is readers? S

    I have one question - what are you trying to do to is readers? Seriously, this was a great third installment in the Seaside series. Alec and Nat have been together for over a year and a half but now it seems like everything is falling apart. They seem so perfect together but Alec's past is starting to catch up with him. While filming a reality tv show - Alec, Demetri, Jameson, Nat, Alyssa and Angelica - are all loving together in a house in Seaside, Oregon. Being followed around by cameras is taking its toll on everyone. Alec is hiding things from everyone and trying to stay in control of everything.

    Rachel, you really made me think about whether or not Alec was my favorite Daniels brother. There were times that I thought tousled there is no way that I could have ever liked this guy. There were soapy secrets revealed that I just couldn't put the book down until I was done. Honestly, I was so shocked that I think I might have said something I shouldn't have. Of course, my 5 year old daughter told me that was a bad word but I just couldn't help it. You have really out done yourself with this book and I am so curious as to where you're going with Jameson's story. I can't wait to find out what happens with him and definitely can't wait to reads more about Alec, Demetri, Nat and Alyssa. I think I might even like to read more about Angelica, even though she was kind of a *****. She was still a pretty cool character to meet. Again, a great book and I can't wait for more of this series and your other books. ;)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Nate

    Hey srty i havent answered

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Alexia

    Im on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Loved it !

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    To Shatter

    Please kill Stormkit at 'water rune' result one. He is weak and easy to kill. He can hardly eat by himself. Kill him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    SHATTEREDLIGHT TO MIDNIGHTKIT URGENT

    I found us a camp! At 'aerupo' all results! It's a bit small, but quite nice! My name will be Stripedflower.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Awesome

    Well put together. Love this series. Could not put down, amust read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    LOVE!LOVE!LOVE THIS BOOK!!

    REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK...I loved how the story included all the characters from the previous Seaside series...Loved the couples and the drama that unfolded..finished it in record time and can't wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    I am totally addicted to this author!!!! LOVE it

    I am totally addicted to this author!!!! LOVE it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    Get comfy, because you won't be getting up until you finish this

    Get comfy, because you won't be getting up until you finish this one!

    Rachel Van Dyken has done it again! Shatter is book three in the Seaside series and this book was DRAMA! I felt like things couldn't get worse and then something else would happen! I loved how this book switched POV from Alec to Demetri and there was absolutely no confusion about it. Seeing what each brother thought was a nice bonus! This book is a nail-biting, screaming, kicking, gasping for air, "did that really happen?" roller coaster ride! Shatter packs a punch in more ways than one! Prepare yourself by starting this book in the morning, not at night, because you won't be able to put it down! I am anxiously (as per the norm with a Rachel Van Dyken book) waiting for book four! I am excited to learn more about Jaymeson!




    P.S. Rachel, are you also song writer? Somehow, we need to get someone to compose the music for your lyrics :)
    I received a copy of this book for free.  This is my honest review.
    Rating: Cussing/drugs/alcohol/sexual references. Not for 17 and under

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    Being a late thirty-something mom of two I have avoided the enti

    Being a late thirty-something mom of two I have avoided the entire New Adult genre since it just seemed a bit off reading about romance between, okay I’ll just say it, characters that could be my children.  Ms. Van Dyken however is an extremely talented writer.  Her ability to bring the story and characters to life has definitely converted me over to this side.  I am now a huge fan!  Not only of Ms. Van Dyken but the New Adult genre as well.  

    With that said, I adored Shatter.  It took me on an emotional whirlwind.  I laughed, cried and had it not been on my tablet, I would have tossed it across the room at a few points.  Alec!!  I am going to be on pins and needles for the next few months impatiently waiting for Jaymeson’s story.  I’ll have to console myself with reading all of Ms. Van Dyken’s backlist. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2