Customer Reviews for

Shatter Me (Shatter Me Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 772 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(504)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

87 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

Review: Shatter Me

Well this was a surprise. I actually didn't set my standards too high for this one because I just didn't feel like I had enough to go on. It sounded intriguing and the cover is awesome. I actually ended up tearing through it and the storyline kept me guessing.


...
Well this was a surprise. I actually didn't set my standards too high for this one because I just didn't feel like I had enough to go on. It sounded intriguing and the cover is awesome. I actually ended up tearing through it and the storyline kept me guessing.


I was instantly drawn to Juliette. She's completely isolated from society. She doesn't speak or touch other humans. Her only communication with the outside world is the alarms that signal different part of the day (but those aren't even an regular intervals). She's been shunned her entire life, and feels like even her own parents wanted nothing to do with her. She may not like being all alone, but she feels being away from society is the best thing for her. And even she doesn't know what she's fully capable of.

Entire in Adam. He suddenly appears as her cellmate. She's terrified of being around another human. She doesn't trust why he's there, and for very good reason. It's a test she passes with flying colors. The Reestablishment wants to use her as a weapon to bring those who defy them under their control. She's taken from her cell into a house rich in luxuries she never had in the outside world. But, she's has no desire to use her touch to bring people pain, no matter how grandly she is treated.

Warner is the leader of The Reestablishment's son. He seems to get a particularly gruesome kick out of the pain the Juliette can cause people. He's the one who wants to use her for his own gain. His character really intrigued me. He's extremely twisted and is convinced that Juliette enjoys it as much as he does. He will stop at nothing to keep her under his control. The tests he sets up for Juliette to perform were horrible!

The story takes an interesting twist when we learn that Adam is not all that he seems. It turns out he has a special connection to Juliette which he plays to his advantage. For awhile, I wasn't sure which side he was truly on, which is I'm sure how that author intended you to feel. When the truth comes out, I ended up completely in love with his character.

As Adam and Juliette learn who they can trust concerning what is really happening in the outside world, the story starts racing forward at breathtaking speed. There for some many things that happened that I really wasn't expecting. This wasn't your typical dystopian and I think that's why I was so surprised by it. I ended up really enjoying it. Can't wait for the next one!

posted by pagese on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Lazy writing, convoluted plot

The writing style felt like a self gratifying attempt by the writer to prove how smart and creative she is....it failed miserably. The plot is lazy and convoluted, the relationships are forced, there is very little development or build up re. the romantic relationship ...
The writing style felt like a self gratifying attempt by the writer to prove how smart and creative she is....it failed miserably. The plot is lazy and convoluted, the relationships are forced, there is very little development or build up re. the romantic relationship or the supposedly dystopian world. Not YA for adults or sophisticated teenagers, although I could see pre-teens getting into it.

posted by KH45 on November 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Shatter Me

    Well this was a surprise. I actually didn't set my standards too high for this one because I just didn't feel like I had enough to go on. It sounded intriguing and the cover is awesome. I actually ended up tearing through it and the storyline kept me guessing.


    I was instantly drawn to Juliette. She's completely isolated from society. She doesn't speak or touch other humans. Her only communication with the outside world is the alarms that signal different part of the day (but those aren't even an regular intervals). She's been shunned her entire life, and feels like even her own parents wanted nothing to do with her. She may not like being all alone, but she feels being away from society is the best thing for her. And even she doesn't know what she's fully capable of.

    Entire in Adam. He suddenly appears as her cellmate. She's terrified of being around another human. She doesn't trust why he's there, and for very good reason. It's a test she passes with flying colors. The Reestablishment wants to use her as a weapon to bring those who defy them under their control. She's taken from her cell into a house rich in luxuries she never had in the outside world. But, she's has no desire to use her touch to bring people pain, no matter how grandly she is treated.

    Warner is the leader of The Reestablishment's son. He seems to get a particularly gruesome kick out of the pain the Juliette can cause people. He's the one who wants to use her for his own gain. His character really intrigued me. He's extremely twisted and is convinced that Juliette enjoys it as much as he does. He will stop at nothing to keep her under his control. The tests he sets up for Juliette to perform were horrible!

    The story takes an interesting twist when we learn that Adam is not all that he seems. It turns out he has a special connection to Juliette which he plays to his advantage. For awhile, I wasn't sure which side he was truly on, which is I'm sure how that author intended you to feel. When the truth comes out, I ended up completely in love with his character.

    As Adam and Juliette learn who they can trust concerning what is really happening in the outside world, the story starts racing forward at breathtaking speed. There for some many things that happened that I really wasn't expecting. This wasn't your typical dystopian and I think that's why I was so surprised by it. I ended up really enjoying it. Can't wait for the next one!

    87 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    This was a wonderful read I enjoyed reading. Couldn't put it down.

    40 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting premise and writing that is haunting and intense.

    Shatter Me introduces us to Juliette as she sits in solitary confinement in what seems to be a mental asylum, counting the days (264) since she¿s seen, heard, or been touched by another human. The world outside those four walls (with 14 cracks) has gone insane, people starving to death, whole species of animals no longer exist, and the people in power call themselves the Reestablishment. The Reestablishment¿these are the people who drug her away to this place for a murder she didn¿t mean to commit, to a fate she¿s sure she deserves, to be trapped by her guilt as much as by the prison walls. The power she holds within her very skin is one she doesn¿t want and she will do anything to disprove the notion that she is a monster, even though she herself believes it. She maintains her tenuous hold on sanity by writing in her notebook and refusing to allow herself to acknowledge the thoughts that sometimes overwhelm her. When she awakes one day to find herself with a cellmate, her entire world begins to change. The writing style of Shatter Me was like none I¿ve read before, both haunting and at times a bit overwhelming. Written in an almost lyrical or poetic prose, Juliette¿s inner thoughts and feelings were often uncomfortably intense, which would be understandable considering the situation she was in. Many of her words/thoughts were written and then struck out, as if she were refusing to allow herself to acknowledge those thoughts. I thought this was a powerful way to show how she was struggling to hold onto her sanity. As she began to have more human interaction, the strikethroughs became less common. It was such a fascinating progression. While, for the most part, I thought the writing was beautiful, there were also times when it felt like overkill and it became a bit tedious. Overall though, I enjoyed the unique imagery and the flow of the words. The story itself was intense and reminded me very much of Xmen. Juliette¿s power is reminiscent of Rogue and many of her characteristics also reminded me of Rogue from Xmen. The plot was action packed and thrilling. The villain, Warner, was out of his mind and made an even more effective bad guy because of the hint of a hidden past that may explain why he is the wicked boy he¿s become. Happily, this did not become a love triangle since Warner is simply too psychotic to engender much sympathy from Juliette. The interplay between Juliette and Adam was extremely well done. This is a romance that I can believe. Things between them tend to get pretty steamy a couple times, but Mafi reins it in and manages to keep it PG. The ending also reminded me a lot of Xmen and has me incredibly excited about the sequel. Overall, I think that Shatter Me has lived up to all the hype. Most readers will enjoy the intense and original writing style as well as the exciting premise, a steamy romance, and a villain you love to hate. In the sequel, I hope to see more details about the dystopian world and how it became that way and more about the two factions, the Reestablishment and the people who are not ready to succumb to that tyrannical rule and of course more Adam and Juliette! I would recommend Shatter Me to readers who enjoy dystopian or post-apocalyptic fiction, fans of Xmen, and anyone who enjoys a thrilling YA adventure.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    So far...interesting.

    A different way of writing.
    Gail

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Destroy Me

    I've noticed that there are a lot of mixed reviews about the author's writing style: very in depth, love the crossed out words, hated all the metaphors, poor attempt, amazing. Personally, I think that if you cannot understand the story or find this author's style stupid then you do not have an open mind about writing. They are simply rigid in their thoughts.

    For one, the crossed out words are not idiotic or unneccessary- they show Juliet's most primitive thoughts and emotions. If the people who have read this haven't noticed the drastic difference between the crossed out words and the non-crossed out words then they do not pay any attention. Human minds have filters; everyone puts themselves in some type of self denial. And what the book shows you are the words that she basically denies to the back of her head and avoids- the words she filters out. It shows us the human thought process in the most basic form before the information can be tampered with the conscious mind.

    The metaphors are another thing. It turns the story into a heartwrenching poem and entangles you in its branches until you can no long breathe.
    People need to appreciate the metaphors- not every story will be straight to the point. Metaphors give a new outlook on the story and create the depth and emotional turmoil of Juliet. Honestly, if this book hadn't had all of the crossed out words and metaphors then it wouldn't have been even half as good as it was. The book would no longer have any character intensity, the emotions would no longer be potent and the story would seem so ordinary.

    The last significant thing I wanted to talk about was Warren. This was by far the most conflicting thing to people in this book. They either loved him or hated him- there was absolutely no indifference for this character. I have no doubt in my mind that this antagonist was what really brought this book to life and caused me to fall in love with it.

    Honestly, he's a character that no one can piece together. But with "Destroy Me" (which is "Shatter Me" in Warren's point of view) coming out October 2nd, I know this issue is going to either make or break everyone's opinion on him. By the end of the book everyone will have either converted to Warrenlism or Anti-Warren. People who have been swooning over Adam or just hate Warren should especially read this because it may actually give you a reason to feel the way you do. No one really knows his character other than the fact that he's a strategic sadist but getting a glimpse into his mind will finally give people a reason to love or hate his character. I don't think he's as twisted as everyone thinks he is because if he was then he'd have no character depth- everyone would already know exactly what he was like by his attitude, no one would need to look into his thoughts and the author would have no need to make "Destroy Me" if that were the case.

    All in all, this is a gripping tale tale that is not for people who simply want something that can be understood at face value. Everything is to be read inbetween the lines and through the thoughts of a mentally tramatized teenage girl. Scour the pages, wonder about them- and it will pour life into them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Review

    Julliete was born with what she believes is a curse. The curse to torture any living thing that touches her. This curse leads to her being outcasted by society and even her family who allow her to be placed in a mental insitution.

    The world is in a period of famine and starvation. A new government has risen up promising a brighter future; a future free of hunger and fear. However this new government lied; instead of erasing fear they engulfed the world in it. In this totalilarian regime resistance is not tolerated. Revolt quickly met with bullets.

    This new government plans to use Julliete as a weapon to quench the hope of the resistance. Julliete must find out who is friend and who is foe while battling the clutches who think her curse is the ultimate power.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST READ DYSTOPIAN NOVEL

    SHATTER ME was told in a poetic manner that had me flying through the pages of the book. I was sold from the first few lines and didn't put down the book until the end. This story was brillantly woven, with elements of dytopian, paranormal, and romance. The characters Adam and Juliette were fascinatalingly-driven protagonists. The plot was filled with tension. It's only setback was it's similarities to X-Men, and a few of the prose which felt quite a bit overdone. SHATTER ME is definete MUST READ of November 2011 debut Novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    I've heard from the beginning that this book was one that everyo

    I've heard from the beginning that this book was one that everyone needed to read. But for whatever reason it took me three years to get on the bandwagon.

    This genre really is a dime a dozen, nowadays and it's difficult to find reads that actually stand out among the numerous attempts at originality.

    Even if this story, itself, didn't stand out and exude "other", then Ms. Mafi's writing would still be enough to make it's permanent mark on the reader's mind.
    It's like every peek into Juliette's brain is a poem. A song. Something that is both depressing yet beautiful.
    Only when she speaks does she seem to be human. But, it's almost jarring when you realize that she doesn't SPEAK in prose.

    Sometimes fragmented, but always poignant, Juliette's narrative is delightful.

    The rest of the story is also enough to draw any reader in. Also, I can't help but wonder if Ms. Mafi may be going against the grain with this one.

    We shall see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2014

    My Initial Reaction...  I was blown away by the incredible writi

    My Initial Reaction... 
    I was blown away by the incredible writing in Shatter Me from the moment I started it. I think that, more than any other element, captivated me and held me to the very end. 

    The Narration... 
    The narration by Kate Simses was impeccable. She's a perfect fit for this style of writing and she really made it work for me. Shatter Me is incredibly poetic and not just the words, but the rhythms and sounds of the words wove together beautifully -- something I don't know if I could have fully appreciated if it weren't for the narration. This is a book to listen to. You'll notice this scratching sound and it took me a couple chapters to figure out what it meant exactly - it's meant to be the scratching of the pen, canceling out words. Once I understood that, I loved it, since it was a beautiful addition to the stream of consciousness sytle writing. Once the book gets more emerged in the dialogue and action, Kate Simses continued to do a great job - now bringing to life characters rather than just the poetic style. She's on my list of favorite narrators now. 

    The Characters... 
    It really takes a while to start getting to know these characters. You don't even know Juliette's name for several chapters - but, for me at least, this really worked because it added to the quality of Juliette's disconnect from the world and all life. Juliette was born with a curse/talent (depending on how you view it). Just by touching another person she tortures and sucks their life out. She has no control over it and it has made her deadly. As a result she spent a good part of her life scorned, hated and feared. When we enter the story, she's locked up in a mental institution/prison. Juliette is a character that I couldn't help but love. Life has been cruel to her and she has every ability to be cruel right back. But she doesn't want to be. She's caring and sensitive. All she wants is a connection. She craves interaction and if only she could be touched. I can't even imagine what life would be like without ever feeling another person's touch. But Juliette has survived it all as an incredible person that I had to root for. 

    I have to say that although I didn't necessarily dislike him, I never really connected to Adam. And maybe that's because I didn't ever really believe in his connection with Juliette. He seems like a nice guy but there's something about him that just seems a bit too uncertain and weak for me to even believe in a lot of what he says or does. I think that may just be me, but he wasn't doing it for me. Warren, on the other hand, I loved. In the OMG He's absolutely HORRIBLE kind of way. He's everything I want in my evil characters - scarred, evil, a bit insane, and ruthless. What can I say? Sometimes the bad guys steal the show - and in the Adam vs. Warren scenario, he totally did for me. 

    The Story... 
    I really enjoyed the story for Shatter Me, but I have a couple qualms. First of all, I feel like we spent a little too much time caged up to get a real feel for the world. It's a dystopian and for me that means that the world is so incredibly important. I've had a lot TOLD to me about the world from Juliette's memories and what she's been told - but from the time she spent out in it, the whole humans destroying the world and making it environmentally dangerous and deficient didn't come through. I get that's how it is, but I didn't see it. What I really saw was humans oppressing other humans - and maybe that's the point. Time will tell. It certainly didn't hurt my enjoyment of the overall story, but it did raise lots of world questions for me. 

    My other qualm is where the series is headed. The last 15% of the book was action packed and full of exciting discoveries. I enjoyed every minute and yet felt this tinge for the familiar. I don't want to ruin anything for anyone so I won't say what specifically felt too familiar, but I will say that I hope I'm wrong and it's not going down that path. Because it would ruin the spectacularly inventive quality I was enjoying oh so much. 

    Concluding Sentiments... 
    Shatter Me has a haunting, poetic writing style that I just adored and for that reason alone I would pick up book 2. But I also loved the main character and the action that took off was great so I look forward to seeing where things end up. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    I loved reading this book! The style of writing that the author

    I loved reading this book! The style of writing that the author used could easily become irritating but for this particular book, I felt like it was just suited for the way the narrator thought. I really enjoyed the plot and the villain and honestly, I have read it over again several times and still loved it just as much and got just as invested in the story as the first time I read it. After reading it, I immediately set to work getting the next one and waiting for the last one to come out was torture!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    With one touch, she can kill a person, so Juliette has been lock

    With one touch, she can kill a person, so Juliette has been locked away from the world. She is a touch crazy in the beginning because of it. The author's unique writing style perfectly captures this insanity. You can watch her progressively improve and relapse through the book. Two steps forward, one step back. Her improvement is subtle, but it's there. None of the characters are a pretty picture of mental health. I think this is a product of the horrible world they now live in. This also kept things interesting. I'm so curious and excited to see where this series goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I really enjoyed the story line. It took about 5-6 chapters to

    I really enjoyed the story line. It took about 5-6 chapters to really get into it, and then it grabbed me and I couldn't put it down. Sometimes she was too flighty with her words and the descriptive words were just too out there and I kind of skimmed over it, but the plot and bulk of the story is good. The realness of the main character and her consistant attitude kept me entertained and rooting for her. Really liked it and hoping the next two don't dissapoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    You have to read this

    Oh my god this book was amazing. I'm not a fast reader and I don't put time aside to read in a day, but I managed to read all three books in less then 3 weeks. I just couldn't put it down and when I thought I was going to be able to walk away something better happened and pulled me back into reading. There is no way that someone could read this series and not fall in love. I fell in love with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Refreshing !

    I think this book has its own category because its very different from the other dystopian books I've read in the past ! I recommend to people who are into paranormal romance kind of genre .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Truely worth reading

    I have absolutely adored the shatter me series. Tahereh Mafi is an amazing writer who really knew how to toy with your emotions as you read her wonderful books. They are capivating and I'm so so glad I read them. Shatter me was a great way to start off an amazing series. I really could put it down. Everyone should take the time to read these books because they are more than worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Juliette Ferrars is a 17 year old girl with a power that can als

    Juliette Ferrars is a 17 year old girl with a power that can also be described as a curse. Her touch is lethal to any living thing with blood running through its veins. She has spent her entire life running away from the truth of her gift. She believes that she is a monster and deserves to be locked up for life. But what Juliette doesn’t know is that there are more people with gifts just like her, and with the help of Adam Kent, the love of her life, she finds the other gifted people and joins the resistance. This is a challenge because of the enemy, Warner, that has an obsession with Juliette. He is the son of the head of The Reestablishment, and wants Juliette for a weapon and a lover. But how can these two people love her so much if they can’t even touch her? They have special gifts as well, but they don’t even know it. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi has all of the aspects of an entertaining, top-notch romance novel. It has a long lost love story, a person in need of rehabilitation, and an enemy you love to hate. It’s a book that keeps the reader’s eyes glued to the page. 

    Most of the young adult fiction novels that I have read include a romantic relationship between the two main characters. Some of these novels consist of The Twilight Saga, and The Hunger Games Trilogy. The difference in the romantic relationships between these novels and Shatter Me is that the romance in Shatter Me is long lost. The characters were separated at the age of fourteen, and in three years they found each other again only to realize the love that they had for each other was ongoing and mutual. But like the other novels, there is something standing in the way of their relationship. In the case of Shatter Me, it is a person that can’t help but draw you in no matter how evil. This enemy causes all of the action that keeps the reader on their toes. On top of all the romance and action, there is the one person in need of help. In Shatter Me, the main character, Juliette, has had a troubled past due to her fatal touch. Her parents never loved her nor has she ever had a friend. But Juliette finds the help she needs through love. All of these novels follow the common themes of romance, an enemy, and a rehabilitated character. Tahereh Mafi has incorporated these themes into her book and created the action packed, compelling, and addictive world of Shatter Me.

    I would immediately recommend this book to my peers of both genders. Many people assume that love stories are just for girls, but in Shatter Me there is more to the story than just the romance. There are people with superpowers, an army, and a lot of action that occurs while the two characters fall in love. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi is a book worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    If you can get past the quirky stream of conscious writing then you will really love this book. Fast paced and it leaves you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Four stars

    I really enjoyed this book but therewere also a few things that I didn't like about it. I wasn't a fan of the fact that the main characters fell in love so quickly. Very unrealistic. Mafi's style of writing was a bit different too. The plot overall was great but the character development was done very poorly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    Amazing.

    Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Great book!

    Loved the writing and story line. Getting ready to read the sequel Destroy Me. I want to know what a next for Juliette and Adams relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9