Customer Reviews for

Shattered

Average Rating 4
( 285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

103 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

Lend me

This was a good book and i am willing to lend t ti anyone who wants it

posted by chamar on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

WOW

I read this book in two days. I as a parent enjoyed it, but stongly caution other readers. Some alchohol content, drug content, some sexual comments, nudity parts, a little violence,
and cussing. It isn't as bad as it sounds, but is somewhat degrading to women self-este...
I read this book in two days. I as a parent enjoyed it, but stongly caution other readers. Some alchohol content, drug content, some sexual comments, nudity parts, a little violence,
and cussing. It isn't as bad as it sounds, but is somewhat degrading to women self-esteem.

posted by 16901454 on January 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Shattered

    I have only read 1 chapter of this book and i love it so much. I thought it was very well put together, and it didn't give anything away, which is good because, it makes you want to read more. I love this and now im going to read the rest of it. It is a spectaculer book.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    A must read

    I only read the first two chaprers an got totally adicted. I have made my life time goal to get this book and hopefuly any other related books!!!!;)¿ :



    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    The first thing that comes to mind is that Shattered was a reall

    The first thing that comes to mind is that Shattered was a really sweet story. 




    I liked Alyssa. My heart hurt for her. She lost both of her best friends and was left to mourn for one of them on her own. I did enjoy seeing her character's growth. I think she felt really lost without Jesse, but I think it forced her to make some changes in her life for the better. 




    I really loved Jesse. Honestly, he made the book for me. He's just a special guy. He frustrated me a bit by not sharing his feelings with Alyssa, but I understood his reluctance to let someone in. Once they came together though, I loved it and them. 




    I enjoyed seeing the flashbacks and honestly, would have enjoyed more of it. Overall, I really enjoyed Shattered. I'd definitely recommend it to a reader who enjoys stories about second chances, forgiveness, and true love. 




    Quotes:
    ~"You want to be my girl?"
    I batted my lashes at him. "I've wanted that since the first time I saw you."




    ~"What are these?" I held up all the notes. 
    "All the times I've fallen in love with you."

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Good book

    Sweet somtimes sad but worth the time

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    I will help you with your nook problems

    When you get the sample and you want to purchase it you can either go to your library click on the book and at the topthere will be a box that says buy now

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Shattered My Heart

    This book broke my heart, then fixed it throughout the story. I loved the story and the pain felt by the characters and love for one another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Loved the story

    Loved the story, would have been a wonderful book if the editor had paid attention. Lots of words in the wrong place. Easy to figure out what was meant, but i shouldnt have to pause bc a word is out of place or spelled wrong. Good job author, shame on you editor. Very nice read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    I always look forward to reading books by Elizabeth Lee. She has

    I always look forward to reading books by Elizabeth Lee. She has really shown her versatility as an author- she can write emotionally heart-wrenching books such as this one, as well as ones that incorporate humor AND still have a beautiful romance. I really enjoyed reading Shattered. I liked Jesse and Alyssa's story and watching them overcome a very painful, emotional event that completely changed their lives forever.


    Pacing: Elizabeth is awesome at pacing. I always devour her books in one sitting, as they just flow so quickly and fluidly. Jesse and Alyssa have a complicated relationship- going from best friends to realizing they felt something more, only to have a tragic event put anything that was blooming between them on hold. Their relationship develops slowly as there is a lot of hurt, anger, and loss between them that they will need to tackle before becoming more.


    Storyline: After losing her best friend Garrett to a tragic accident, Alyssa Boyd's life is completely turned upside down. Not only did she lose her best friend, but she also lost her other best friend and her something more, Jesse Vaughn. The one person who was supposed to stand by her and support her? Gone. Alyssa is barely holding it together, especially with a cold, unfeeling mother and a rather distant father. Nine months ago she watched her best friend lowered into the ground and her other best friend walk away. Now, Alyssa just wants to get through graduation. Being in the gym where Garrett's memorial was once held brings all her feelings rushing back to the surface, to which she begins taking her medication once more. To Alyssa it's better not to feel... than to feel too much. The last person she expected to walk back in her life does and she's not unaffected by his presence. Jesse is the last person Alyssa wants to talk to, even as he begs her to let him explain. Both Jesse and Alyssa are stubborn individuals, but Jesse is determined to get Alyssa back and make her his.


    Characters: My heart ached for Alyssa. Garrett and Jesse were her best friends and the three were inseparable. Alyssa was the lost, lonely girl that Garrett and Jesse took in as their own, especially after her best friend January became more interested in boys than girl time. Alyssa is young and doesn't handle her grief well. She makes some pretty reckless decisions, which causes Jesse to wonder if that same sweet, loving girl he fell for is even still there. As I said, Alyssa is pretty stubborn. She really makes Jesse work to earn her forgiveness and she's lucky he's one determined guy. He is the one source of comfort she needs to heal and move on. She doesn't have all the facts about why he left that day and I just wanted to yell at her to stop being stubborn and listen to him! I did think she was a little over the top concerning his behavior towards the whole ordeal with Collin. I thought she overreacted and it wasn't fair of her to do that to Jesse after everything they've been through.


    I loved Jesse. Obviously. He is a good guy who wants to make things right with the girl he loves. Their nine months apart has been difficult on both of them with the pain of losing their best friend and one another all because of a miscommunication. Jesse has never been great with expressing his feelings and letting people in. Why let people in when all they do is leave? First his parents, then Garrett... Still, he tries his best with Alyssa and the way he looks at her, speaks to her... it's so precious! I just wanted to squeeze him! He is also just as stubborn as Alyssa and he makes some hothead decisions himself, but I still didn't think it was drastic enough for Alyssa to act the way she did. Thankfully Alyssa has some great friends in her corner who offer sound advice.


    January, Alyssa's friend, and Hapley, Jan's boyfriend, are two great examples of said friends. Both of them are protective of Alyssa and I liked that. I also liked they weren't afraid to tell Alyssa when she was being unreasonable and ridiculous. Good friends like that are hard to find. Jesse's sister, Kelly, may not play a huge role in the book, but she is also in Alyssa's corner, telling her that Jesse does love her- more than anything, but she has to be patient with him.


    Final Thoughts: I could tell this was Elizabeth's first book, as the writing style wasn't as developed as some of her more recent novels, but that doesn't change the emotional depth this book has to offer. I loved the dual POV between Jesse and Alyssa, and I really enjoyed seeing the flashbacks of their past together, and watching Alyssa through Jesse's eyes and vice versa. Shattered is a beautiful story about love, loss, and second chances and is definitely worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    This book is the perfect example as to why I appreciate an autho

    This book is the perfect example as to why I appreciate an author giving a book an updated look.  Had it not been for the re-reveal this book would have fallen off my radar.  So glad it didn’t!  This was a heart felt story about finding your way back from heartbreak.  How do you survive when you feel like part of you is gone and you blame yourself?
    Garrett, Alyssa and Jesse…pretty much inseparable since the 7th grade.  That’s just about how long Jesse has admired Alyssa from afar.  Garrett’s prodding for Jesse to make his move over the years has just become the norm.  Till the day that he finally decides to make his move.  That day changed everything and shattered life as they had known it.
    How do you comeback from the “3 muskateers” to flying solo?  Gone in an instant is one friend, gone in the next is the one you need to make it through.  Alyssa carries so much guilt about the day that changed her life almost a year later.  Medication, liquor and avoidance are the only escape.  Until Jesse returns.
    Jesse has spent the time away thinking of Alyssa daily…his return to the town that broke him is not an easy one but his is back for one thing and one thing only….Alyssa.  Will all of the unspoken feelings be what makes them whole again? Can Jesse and Alyssa find what they lost and make a life together?  
    I freaking loved Jesse!!! He could ride into town and be my knight in shining armor any day.  I could understand his need to do things on his own.  He was forced to take care of himself since he was a child. Learning not to depend on others since his parents floated in and out of his childhood, their needs and wants taking priority over Jesse and his sister’s. 
    I understood Alyssa’s pain.  Having lost more friends than I care to count throughout high school I can relate to the pain, sense of loss and journey to find out who you are without this person in your life.  Her frustration and anger toward Jesse too was understandable but I was pulling for the love conquers all card.    Secrets that are revealed throughout the story soften my opinion of Alyssa’s parents but not by much.
    If you are looking for a quick, enjoyable read about surviving heartbreak, go grab Shattered and take the ride. If this is your first read from Elizabeth Lee, it will not be your last. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Life can change in the blink of an eye. What should have been an

    Life can change in the blink of an eye. What should have been another great night for Alyssa Boyd and her two best friends turns instead into one that will change them all forever.

    Alyssa has been best friends with Garrett and Jesse since the day that the boys took her under their wings and showed her what it was like to be part of something really special. The trio was inseparable, doing everything together. One night, when Alyssa and Jesse finally act on the feelings that have been growing between them, Garrett is lost to them, leaving their small circle broken, and both Alyssa and Jesse devastated. Not knowing how to deal with the loss, and fueled by angry words from Alyssa's mother, Jesse leaves Alyssa behind to face life without both him and Garrett. When he finally returns, ready to admit to his love for Alyssa, she has changed. No longer the lively girl that he knew, Alyssa is numb, just trying to make it through each day.

    At it's core, 'Shattered' is not only a story about romantic love, but also the importance of love between friends and the relationships that define us and make us who we are. Alyssa was able to find the support and care that were lacking in her home life in her relationship with Garrett and Jesse. When Garrett died, and Jesse left, her world was turned upside down, and she was left with little to give her the reinforcement that she had lost.

    The one thing that I had trouble with was Alyssa's thought processes regarding Jesse, and the way that she dealt with his actions after his return. She excused her decisions by saying that he was acting out of selfishness, when he was really trying to do what he felt was in her best interest or to protect her. Overall, though, I thought that 'Shattered' was a good story, and I enjoyed seeing the reemergence of the 'happy' Alyssa once Jesse returned, and the way that Elizabeth Lee wrapped up everything by the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Must read!

    This is a really good book! Seriously couldn't stop reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Liked it

    While I wouldn't go as far as to say this book is degrading to women, I will agree that it might be more suitable for mature teens. The story is very intense & it hit very close to home. Jesse is an amazing character that grows beautifully in the story. The way she portrayed the mother almost made me hate myself for feeling bad for her at times. It's a good book. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Read this book

    This book was so good. The typos were kinda.....a lot, but over all thi was a really fantastic book.
    Oh, and to the person who said it was in the "kids" section...its not. Its in the teen section. And believe it or not, the thing that happen in this book happen to teens even before ages 17/18. This book isnt innapropreate...its real (though the whole "im in love with you thing" is really over dramatic).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    4.5 stars

    Really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed this book! :) Defiantly worth taking the time to read! It wont disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Loved it!

    This was a good book about best friends, heartbreak, and love. I liked how the author wrote in both the main characters points of view. Most love stories tell the story from the girls view, I like to know what the guy is thinking as well, it makes me relate better to both of the characters. Read it, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Read it

    Good book
    I read it in just one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Enjoyed the story

    This was a great story. I enjoyed the romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Great quick read!

    Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Good Read

    This was a good story. Heartbreakingly honest about losing someone close to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4