Customer Reviews for

Shattered

Average Rating 4
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

103 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

Lend me

This was a good book and i am willing to lend t ti anyone who wants it

posted by chamar on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

WOW

I read this book in two days. I as a parent enjoyed it, but stongly caution other readers. Some alchohol content, drug content, some sexual comments, nudity parts, a little violence,
and cussing. It isn't as bad as it sounds, but is somewhat degrading to women self-este...
I read this book in two days. I as a parent enjoyed it, but stongly caution other readers. Some alchohol content, drug content, some sexual comments, nudity parts, a little violence,
and cussing. It isn't as bad as it sounds, but is somewhat degrading to women self-esteem.

posted by 16901454 on January 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Shattered

    Amazing story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book as a gift from t

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book as a gift from the author. Thanks to Elizabeth Lee.)
    9 months ago, 17-year-old Alyssa lost one of her best friends – Garrett in a car accident, and lost her other best friend Jesse because of it.
    Now, Jesse is back, and he wants to tell Alyssa how he really feels about her, but with so much guilt and grief between them, even being in the same room is difficult.

    Alyssa is not coping well with her grief, which makes dealing with Jesse, who she feels abandoned her, even more difficult.
    Can Alyssa and Jesse finally talk things out though? How far will Alyssa’s rebellious behaviour go? And is there a way for them to be together against the odds?


    I really enjoyed this book, it was a beautiful contemporary romance, as well as dealing with a difficult subject such as grief.

    Alyssa was a very normal teen, trying to deal with the death of her best friend. She tried medication at her mother’s insistence, she tried hiding away, and she even tried rebelling. I really felt for Alyssa as it was obvious how much she loved Garrett, and how difficult his death was for her.
    Jesse was also suffering through his grief over Garrett, and it was unfair how the two of them had been kept apart when they needed each other most.

    Alyssa’s scheming mother was a real piece of work. She thought that she knew better than anybody else, especially where Alyssa was concerned, and I hated the way that she manipulated people. I also hated the way she held things against Jesse that were out of his control, and pushed Alyssa to go out with a boy that she thought was suitable, who she didn’t really know at all.
    I hoped that Alyssa’s father would step in a little more to smooth things between her and her mother, but that didn’t happen often either unfortunately.

    Once again in this book, we had an issue of miscommunication. If Jesse and Alyssa had actually talked to each other properly, instead of allowing other people and other people’s ideas to come between them, things might have worked out differently between them.

    The romance between Jesse and Alyssa was a slow, budding sort of romance, and mainly took place in flashbacks of how things were before the accident. I felt really sorry for the pair once I learned the circumstances surrounding Garrett’s accident, and I could totally understand how it came between them. I was desperately hoping all the way through that Jesse and Alyssa would talk to each other, and work things out.
    We were treated to some steamier scenes towards the end of this book, and I loved how right Jesse and Alyssa were together. I would probably say that this book is more suitable for an older teen audience because of this, but it wasn’t erotic!

    I thought that Alyssa’s grief was well portrayed in this story, and it was interesting to see not only how Alyssa coped with her grief, but how other people around her responded to it – how many wanted to medicate her, how many people wanted her to just get over it, and how few people were happy to just give her time to grieve. I understood both Alyssa’s wanting to take the medication at times, and not wanting to take it at other times. The decision as to whether or not what you’re feeling is healthy, or something that needs to be treated must be a difficult one, especially when nobody else seems to be feeling the way you do.

    Overall; a beautiful YA/NA contemporary romance, highly recommended.
    8 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Great read

    I had a hard time putting this book down and read the whole thing in one day :) A bit predictable, but very enjoyable nonetheless. I would read it again and would reccommend it to others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Plzz

    Can someone lend me this book? Plzz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Good read

    Best book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Great book - bad langue

    If you are ten years old u shouldn't be reading this book. Otherwise it is an amazing book. Who wouldn't read it?????????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Great book! :)

    I loved this book, i could have read it all stright without stopping! Though i dont think this book is the best ever. Things happen, but if you were to summerize it, not much happens. Also, it isn't (to me) worth around $3 for a 200 page book. :/ But i still really liked it! (:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    All-Nighter

    Kept me wanting, as well as being depraved of sleep. Nontheless, reading this is a must. Very fitting for YA (Young Adult).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Keep the tissues close

    I was really moved by this story, I felt so connected to the characters I cried, laughed & smiled with them through out the entire book. I will definitely read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    The only major problem with this book is the editing. There are

    The only major problem with this book is the editing. There are so many missing words and words used in the wrong place. It got a little distracting.
    If you can over look this the story line is good. It's be a great read for young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    One of the best books I have ever read!!  

    One of the best books I have ever read!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Nice

    Good book. Unlogical at times.
    G. Harmonika
    Dont tease me. My name is Greesay Harmonika.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Good read

    Good, short read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    chamar: Lend Me - I would love to borrow it

    chamar: Lend Me - I would love to borrow it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Really good

    This book was very good and love the ending the book was slow at times but picked up. I like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4